We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational - deserves time”

Chateau Royal de Blois
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,201.13*
and up
Loire Valley Castles Private Day Trip from Paris
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Royal Chateau of Blois is your gateway into the Val de Loire. The Royal Chateau of Blois is the first important place to discover as you come from Paris. It is a true synthesis of the art and history of the Loire Valley chateaux, and makes it an ideal introduction for your visit.The rich architecture of the four different wings echoes the diversity of styles of the many chateaux built in the Loire Valley from the Middle Ages to the 17th Century.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sensational - deserves time”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This ancient chateau is absolutely magnificent and has been beautifully preserved. The quality of the work in each of the rooms is stunning and the explanatory signage excellent. Only wish that we had had more time to spend there. There is dedicatedly another trip required to Blois!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    1,018
    226
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
178 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting place--like others better”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was my last Chateau to visit on a recent trip to the Loire Valley. Out of the five chateau I visited, it was my least favorite. It is in the middle of the town of Blois and provides a good view of the city. It has multiple types of architecture from different periods. Much of the original furniture and art are lost and have been "re-imagined" by the person who remodeled it. If you are staying in Blois it is worth a visit, but compared to other chateau in the area, like Chambord or Cheverny, I would not go out of my way to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbray54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The one thing to see when in Blois”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The royal residence is truly the primary reason to visit Blois. There is a reduction on the income fee for children and students. Even so, it is one the expensive side, certainly when you are with a large group. Full price is nearly €10, which is quite expensive. There are audio guides for the ones who are interested as well, but again you need to pay a fee of about €4 per person. At the end it is up to you to decide whether it is worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheWearyTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Son et Lumière worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to the Son et Lumiere (sound and light ) show which starts at 10.30 and it was well worth it. Excellent depiction of the murder and mayhem at the palace during the time of the Royals. Beware: it is standing only.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michaelk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An interesting and beautiful chateau”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was close to being "chateaux'd out" when I took the train from Tours to Blois. A short walk from the station, it's impressive outside and in, more of a castle than a chateau.

Inside, the knowlegeable and friendly staff were great to talk to in Franglais and really made me feel welcome. National Trust take note! I left knowing a bit more than when I went in but, even more, having really enjoyed myself. I like Blois!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Royal de Blois also viewed

 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to Chateau Royal de Blois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing