We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish not fresh”
Review of Hotel Le Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Monarque
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Well set table .

Back to the kitchen of the twists cod with aromas of ammonia, prepared with fresh fish but cooked a day before as mentionned by the waitress.
Dishes replaced by duck overcooked ...
No apologize from the restaurant before leaving.
Large table of diners noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Faou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, chef de cuisine at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Veuillez accepter nos excuses une nouvelle fois. Pour ce qui est du poisson, nous travaillons des produits frais donc sensible. Nous vous avons fait changer de plat et vous avez choisi le rôti de canard, et pour le menu double saveur le rôti de canard et le crumble de poisson.
Effectivement il y avait une table de 15 personnes dans la salle, et donc bruyante.

Cordialement

Mickaël Malherbe
Chef de cuuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Monarque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights recently and were very appreciative of the help from Kim at the reception who assisted with calls to help sort out car return problems and was always friendly and helpful with our enquiries. The hotel is in a great location and although some rooms are a little small they offer all you need and the restaurant is well set up and offers very nice food.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a bath if you prefer
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Directeur général at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher Client,
Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments sur notre professionnalisme et sur l’accueil que nous réservons à chacun de nos clients, et ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe.
Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable ; elle nous encourage à maintenir nos efforts afin que la prestation que nous vous apportons réponde aux mieux à vos attentes.

Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors d’un prochain séjour à Blois et dans cette attente, nous vous prions de recevoir, Cher Client, l’expression de nos salutations les meilleures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel Le Monarque is a great example of a very good tourist class hotel. The rooms are small but well equipped, comfortable and scrupulously clean. The Herge theme was cute (I presume riffing on nearby Cheverny chateaux being linked to Marlinspike Hall in the Tintin comics?) and breakfast was good. It's just a short downhill walk to the main area of Blois, which was really appealing and I was sorry we weren't staying longer. We weren't in Blois to spend a lot of time in a hotel, so Hotel Le Monarque provided everything we needed at a reasonable price. For cyclists, there's a chunky hill climb up to get to the hotel but good secure facilities for bikes on-site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellingtonKiwiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Directeur général at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions sincèrement pour votre fidélité et d’avoir laissé des commentaires sur TripAdvisor !
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment parmi nous et vous remercions de votre confiance. C’est avec vos retours que nous pouvons d’avantage améliorer nos services et la satisfaction de notre clientèle.
Dans l’attente de vous revoir très rapidement dans la vallée de la loire.

Très sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Other reviewers are spot-on with this place. Perfectly located 5 mins from heart of city, as soon as we found it we were confident in eating here and only wished we had also stayed at the hotel, we were down the road at the much more expensive Holiday inn. Food was great with a good fish and meat range. Service excellent with English also spoken and wines extensive including reasonable local wines e.g. 0.5L house wines for just over £5. The restaurant was full.

There was a great atmosphere and everything looked modern, clean and well cared for. We enquired about breakfast and booked a table the following morning. We were expected when we arrived and treated to an extensive continental spread with a wide range of fresh pastries, cakes, fruit, cereals, cheeses and ham, eggs - it goes on, juices, fresh coffee, tea, h choc etc all for 8 euro each. The Hol Inn wanted 16 euro each for a less extensive choice.

Great value all round. Will definitely return for a weekend stay. Blois is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandLiz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Directeur général at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher Client,
Nous tenions à vous remercier très sincèrement pour votre commentaire posté sur Tripadvisor, à l’issue de votre visite dans notre restaurant. En effet, il est essentiel pour nous de connaitre les opinions de nos clients afin de toujours améliorer la qualité de nos prestations.
C’est un vrai plaisir de lire que vous gardez un excellent souvenir de notre restaurant tant au niveau du service personnalisé qu’au niveau de l’ambiance et de la décoration de notre salle. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager votre satisfaction avec toute l’équipe.
Nous espérons avoir l’opportunité de vous accueillir de nouveau à l'hote et au restaurant lors d’un prochain séjour à Blois.
Très cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in Blois for 3 nights recently and were very happy with this hotel. This hotel is proof you don't have to spend a lot to get great accommodation. I was doing a 3 day bike trip with my two adult kids so we had 2 rooms. Although small, they were well appointed, cheerful, quiet and super clean. Loved the TinTin theme. In house restaurant and staff were all very nice. Breakfast good too. Great central location. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not a lot of rooms to choose from. Ours was good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Directeur général at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher Client,
Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments sur notre professionnalisme et sur l’accueil que nous réservons à chacun de nos clients, et ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe.
Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable ; elle nous encourage à maintenir nos efforts afin que la prestation que nous vous apportons réponde aux mieux à vos attentes.
Il est par ailleurs très vrai que la localisation de notre établissement est idéal pour visiter Blois mais aussi ses environs.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors d’un prochain séjour à Blois et dans cette attente, nous vous prions de recevoir, Cher Client, l’expression de nos salutations les meilleures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good budget accommodation. Good position, close to all tourist attractions. if walking slightly difficult to get there - require clear instructions. Very helpful friendly staff, room clean but on the small side. Nice bath. Restaurant average. Nice town to visit with good shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Directeur général at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,
Nous vous remercions sincèrement pour votre fidélité et d’avoir laissé un commentaire sur TripAdvisor !
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment parmi nous et vous remercions de votre confiance. C’est avec vos retours que nous pouvons d’avantage améliorer nos services et la satisfaction de notre clientèle.Nous sommes vraiment désolés du ressentis que vous avez éprouvé sur le restaurant.
Dans l’attente de vous revoir très rapidement dans la vallée de la Loire.

Très sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Room ok, a bit on small side (separate toilet very close to the bed!) Reviewed restaurant menu before booking but food was not really that appetising despite a nice menu (and many nice local options!). Hotel owner very keen on axterix decorations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

We thank you for your review and are sorry to read that you didn't enjo your stay in our hotel.
We use fresh product and are 2 cocotte from Logis. We will continue to work for ameliorate the rooms and the food and hope there won't be any problem in the future.
HAPPY NEW YEAR !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.4 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France et de Guise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Monarque

Address: 61 rue Porte Chartraine, 41000, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the city center of Blois, we welcome individuels and small groups.Our rooms are equipped with frach standard beds (140 cm), bath or shower, sank, hairdryer, mirors, safe, TV, free wifi, air conditionning.Our restaurant has a french and traditional cuisine with local wines and cheeses. The card changes in automn and spring.We have a private garden for cars (3 spaces - to book in advance) and bikes or motos.We accept pets but don't leave him alone in the room.Come to visit the Loire Valley ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing