We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not very family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place but not very family friendly”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel itself was a wonderful building, clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff could have been a little friendlier, also they didn't seem family friendly. We had a 3 year old with us who, when we are only stopping for a one night stop over, just shares our bed and this didn't seem to impress the people in charge. In fact they made a comment how they didn't charge us for the 3rd person in the room. Not sure how much extra you would charge for a 3 year old using existing bedding? I have never come across this in France before and we have had many stop overs in many hotels over the years. Also, they charged us full price for a breakfast for the 3 year old which seemed a little unreasonable as usually she only eats half a croissant and it just creates food wastage. Nice place, but wouldn't recommend it for families. Also the room was a bit hot and stuffy in the mid August heat and with the window open the noise from the road made it hard to sleep. Nice and quiet with the window shut though.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor at the front only have a slight view of the river as the river wall block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    155
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
223
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked a family room in this hotel months in advance as a 2 night stopover on the way to South-West France. Although we did not get the room we thought we had booked, a computer error perhaps, we did have a lovely room with wonderful river views of the Loire and enough space for the both of us and our 2 children aged 7 & 4. Ideal location for the Chateau and very pretty town and great to have the car park in front of the hotel. The evening meal at the hotel was delicious and a wonderful start to our holiday in France - I do agree with a previous reviewer that it's easy to increase the cost by ordering wine though! We had 2 bottles of red at 29 euro's each! - but hey, we were getting in the holiday mood and needed a drink after a long drive from Surrey!! Breakfast was great too and as we paid and left we decided to book another night for our stopover on our return back to uk. It's a great half way retreat and you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 7 is great for a family of 4 with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent one night in a Loire side room and liked it very much. Particularly nice was to have an Internet point available, as we did not carry the laptops with us. However, we got a smile from the staff only at the moment we checked out and paid. This is not to say that the service, that was extraordinary cool, was unfriendly or unpolite, but a smile would not cost a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppugva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel for one night as a stop over before travelling onto Burgundy. The manager was friendly and helpful, and although our room was very small, it was fine for one night - comfortable bed and hot shower (what more do you need!). We also had dinner in the hotel and enjoyed a very nice meal with help from the manger in deciphering the menu! Breakfast was also very nice with fresh bread and croissants, served in a pretty dining room. The town of Blois is lovely and the hotel was perfectly situated in that respect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel passing through to Spain. Really it would have been better to have stayed a second night. The Hotel is very charming, lots of quirky original features and an eclectic collection of furnishings. The staff we very welcoming and charming. They spoke good English without making you feel that you couldn't try your French. The food was wonderful but be aware that the cost of the good value meal goes up with the wine! There is a beautiful courtyard where we had dinner and the food was truly amazing, especially for the price. Breakfast in the dining room was also great. Parking space in front of the Hotel is limited but is free after 6pm. We arrived after this time and I guess that if you arrived in the mid afternoon there would be very limited parking space available. Blois is a beautiful historic town and an extra day to have a look around would be a good idea. We had a room overlooking the river. The furnishings were basic, charming and clean. The en-suite would not suit people of the larger size. My partner and I are slim and I guess that someone large could easily find it difficult to use the loo in the room we stayed in. I would definitely stay here again. I cannot believe they can produce food of this quality for the price. Well done!

Room Tip: Get a room on the front over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markieggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We loved the Cote Loire - great location, friendly welcome, good breakfast. (We particularly liked the egg boiler. It was just un oeuf.) We booked last minute and stayed in the petite chambres (the only rooms still available). They were as petite as it said on the label - but big enough for two (we were a bit concerned that the website gave the dimensions of the bed, 1.4m, but it turned out to be a standard double). Though small, the rooms had with plenty of charm, decent bathrooms, and the price was petite to match. We stayed on a Sunday and the restaurant was closed but the owner gave us a map and recommendations for a few restaurants nearby that were open. We would happily stay there again and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is very well situated, and really charming! We had a great stay in Blois, and the room was quite large (even by american standards) - we had a three-person room on the top floor. I will definitely stay there again, and recommend this place to any friend who asks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
6.7 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne

Property: Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne
Address: 2 Place de la Greve, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled back from the road that follows the bank of the Loire—a five minute walk to the Blois châteaux—the Côté Loire is hidden behind foliage of the tree that shades the square. Do not judge this hotel by its two star rating. It is an intimate, 7-room hotel that was just purchased by Thierry and Laurent. With their care and attention to detail, it will soon become one of Blois’ most charming small hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Hotel Blois
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing