We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, excellent cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Looks can be deceiving, so don't be fooled into thinking this hotel is mediocre when viewing from the outside after circling for parking for a while. Once you go in, you are welcomed warmly and can feel the history of this building's hundreds of years as a guest house. Our room was up a narrow set of stairs, spacious and facing the river. The linens, furniture and slightly musty odor made me feel like we were staying at my great aunt's house. After opening the window that looks the the river and the skylight window in the comfortable bathroom, suddenly we realized we had found a gem. I like staying in someone's home, and you will feel that you are a values guest here. The ratings are there for a reason!

We walked around town and found that Blois was bigger than what we had anticipated and after days in Paris we were looking for smaller town experiences. We had pre-arranged dinner at the auberge and found the presentation to be outstanding, and the food was absolutely delicious. Skillfully prepared, lovely sauces and a wide range of choices for a small establishment. We had not decided on whether we would have breakfast there the next day - after our first course at dinner, we told our waiter to please put us on the list for breakfast!

This auberge gave us that small town experience we were searching for while in a city. Recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank msmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Adequate rooms for the price. We got in too late to want to walk the 1/2 mile to the center of town for dinner, so "settled" for the hotel's kitchen - and had a terrific meal in a quiet courtyard filled with hydrangeas - just a lovely moment with our teen boys as evening fell over the town. Fortified, we then walked into the centre ville for some late night sight seeing. Lovely river view from our room in the morning. Breakfast boils down to a rather overpriced, spartan affair (better off grabbing a coffee and croissant or other goodies at any of several good boulangeries in town); but we found this 13 euro petit dejeuner to be depressingly typical on our trip through the Loire valley and Bourgogne. We may have been spoiled by the stellar breakfast at the Auberge Bonaparte in Montreal this past January: a beautiful room in a cosmopolitan city for much less than Blois - but, alas! - no chateaux.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avraham54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrive in Blois and easily found Cote Loire. We were welcomed, and given the key to our beautiful room. There is some parking directly in front of the hotel and more down the street a small walk. Our room was lovely, large with a fire place (we did not use). We did enjoy dinner here one of our evenings as well and it was delicious. Beautiful hydrangeas in the courtyard. I would recommend very much a stay at Cote Loire. Easy access to many of the Loire Chateaus, and wineries... it was reasonable and delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bombay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Auberge Ligerienne was a terrific find. We stayed overnight wanting to go and see the son et lumiere show at the chateau and then proceed on to the Loire chateaux the next day. The hotel is well located at the foot of the old town beside the river. It is an intimate small hotel. The room was quiet and faced the river. Parking, as in any in the old town is a bit of a challenge, though there is a parking lot across the street. We had a marvellous dinner in the warmly decorated dining room that was good value for the money, along with a nice local wine. The breakfast buffet gave us a good range of choices from charcuterie to freshly cooked eggs along with many delicious bread choices. The staff were very helpful and helped me with some tools to make some repairs. I would happily stay there again the next time I'm in Blois!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Parking outside, views of the Loire, outstanding breakfast, town centre location, what else do you want ??

How about great bike storage, great room (7), local restaurants and shops, not enough, how about quietish position.

Room Tip: We had room 7, good view of Loire, airy and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saxcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was conveniently sited but lack of parking was a bit irksome. Room ok but breakfast was not very good. We were also not happy about being placed next to the buffet - so we moved to another table. As there were three croissants and three pieces of bread in the basket on the table one of each was removed. We thought therefore that the breakfast was a bit miserly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanMDavidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice old house reminiscent of an old inn with upstairs rooms; our room was big enough to sleep two adults and two children - they agreed to let us stay even the the bedroom was only meant to be for a maximum of three people. Friendly service, also very good breakfast buffet (we did not try the dinner). Very happy with our stay. An easy walk into town to the Palace and the Museum of Magic, and also various other activities like a boat trip on the Loire and cycling etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raoul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne

Address: 2 Place de la Greve, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blois
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled back from the road that follows the bank of the Loire—a five minute walk to the Blois châteaux—the Côté Loire is hidden behind foliage of the tree that shades the square. Do not judge this hotel by its two star rating. It is an intimate, 7-room hotel that was just purchased by Thierry and Laurent. With their care and attention to detail, it will soon become one of Blois’ most charming small hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Hotel Blois
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing