We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, central with friendly service and good dinners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We were here during a massive storm and slept right through thanks to the excellent windows. The big room we took was just right for a night or two; very central, pleasant staff and an excellent restaurant for breakfast or dinner.

The main tourist spots are about 10min walk away so it's very well situated with the Loire just opposite, and with a helpful car park in front as well. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_EdVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel is quiet, clean, and well-located, less than a ten-minute walk to the Chateau, the main shopping area, and good restaurants. We had a room that was huge by French standards, and for a moderate price, with a nice view of the Loire. There is no elevator, and rooms are accessible only by a narrow stairway. The hotel staff was civil, but not as friendly or helpful as in other French hotels. They never volunteered to assist me with luggage, for example, but when I asked about parking in the vicinity I was given full information. A free but slow Internet connection is available on the top floor, but there are no safes in the rooms, which I have come to think of as standard equipment. I found the restaurant to be decent, but not as good as others in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We booked a room in this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not in the least dissappointed. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, but in its quieter part, so - no noise. The room (the cheapest one) was small, but cosy, clean and comfortable. The staff very welcoming and friendly. If you stay there, you should definitely try their restaurant: it's excellent (reserve in advance). In short, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soleilrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

The hotel is located on the banks of the Loire and within 5 minutes stroll to the city centre. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and were more than pleased to help us out with recommending some nearby restaurants. The rooms are cosy, but not too small and they have maximised the space available to them by paying attention to the details. I'd heartily recommend going to one of the evening lightshows in the chateaux nearby if you're there in summer, it was one of the highlights of our trip. The continental breakfast (€8 not included) was good if you're short of time, otherwise there are plenty of bakeries and places to go for a coffee which are better value

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Great little hotel that has been in the family for generations. Our hosts took good care of us and we had a lovely room facing the river.

The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. What more can you ask for?

Blois is a really sweet little town with enough to see and do in between drives to nearby castles such as Chambord and Cheverny.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DilbertAndTarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Originally built in the 12th century, this auberge is charming, convenient and clean. Our room (#7) was huge in comparison to some of the hotels we had been in. It is the perfect spot for exploring Blois - something we quite enjoyed. It is also convenient if you want to rent a car and visit some of the many castles in this area of the Loire. The breakfast is plain, but good. If you dine in the restaurant you will have a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank womenwholove2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

This is a terrific little hotel on the banks of the Loire. Personally we didn't spend any time in Blois -- its attractions pale in comparison to the surrounding castles -- but this is a great base.

We had a room overlooking the river (well... with a small carpark and a main road in-between... see attached picture). It was spotlessly clean, large, and very modern by the standards of small-town hotels in france. From what I could tell, it's worth paying the extra for a riverview room. The small rooms in the rear seemed like they'd be more cramped.

There's a nice courtyard area where I enjoyed a beer and worked on my laptop using the hotel's free wireless internet, which is strong and reliable. The hotel is run by two guys who try their best to keep it absolutely perfect, but as a result they're busy and can seem a bit aloof. Didn't bother me much, but if you need constant attention then you might find their service lackluster.

By the way, the breakfast is very comprehensive by european standards and is well worth the price.

My only criticism might be that although the location by the river is nice, it's a little removed from the old town center and from Blois castle. It's at least a ten-minute walk to the town's bars, clubs, restaurants and cultural attractions. If you're using Blois as a base, then this hotel is perfect, quiet and quaint. But if you want to be in the heart of old Blois as a destination itself, there are probably more centrally located (but consequently smaller or more expensive) options.


P.S. By the way, a dining tip: there's a nearby restaurant called Les Banquettes Rouges where we had one of the best dinners we've ever had anywhere in France. Try it out for authentic french cuisine.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zeffer_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
6.7 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
6.7 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne

Address: 2 Place de la Greve, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled back from the road that follows the bank of the Loire—a five minute walk to the Blois châteaux—the Côté Loire is hidden behind foliage of the tree that shades the square. Do not judge this hotel by its two star rating. It is an intimate, 7-room hotel that was just purchased by Thierry and Laurent. With their care and attention to detail, it will soon become one of Blois’ most charming small hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Hotel Blois
Cote Loire Auberge Ligerienne Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing