We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
austin texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A unique hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is located directly across from the Chateau in a great area in the center of the city. It is a short walk to good restaurants and interesting shops. Each room was unique, no standard chain hotel decorating here! We had 3 rooms and all were pleasant and comfortable My room faced the historic church and the art in the room had religious themes. My son and his wife had the best room in the hotel on the front corner with a small balcony facing the chateau. The hotel staff were very helpful. We would love to return here some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    161
    90
    30
    6
See reviews for
107
161
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The photos of the rooms are accurate -- they look straight out of the 1970s with their orange and brown decor (and our mattress might have been that old). Our very large room on the first floor (up an odd collection of stairs) looked over the park. We're used to city noise, but those who aren't might not like the busy street right below.

Still the location is stellar! It's right across from the Chateau and right in the heart of downtown. The staff at the front desk were super helpful and the service in the dining area was prompt and courteous.

Based on the cost and the location, this was a great value...just don't expect too much from the room (and remember, you get what you pay for).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights & had a fantastic time. Staff are so welcoming & helpful. The hotel has lots of character, our room had a fabulous view of the chateau! Would definately recommend this hotel for character & location!

Room Tip: Room 16 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We thank you for your enthousiastic review and are happy that you have really appreciate your stay with us. We hope to recieve you another time and all the staff will be happy again to help you to make your stay an enjoyable moment.
All the best,
Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A group of 14 of us stayed there for 4 nights over the bank holiday week end. We had a wonderful time. Very friendly owners: always ready to help. Excellent service at the reception or at the breakfast. All the staff spoke good English. Very good value for money. I had a single room and the only negative was that I found it noisy and you could not have entered the shower cubicle if you were larger than "average" due to the very narrow door. But all in all, am very happy to recommend this friendly and good value hotel, especially for groups.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joelle849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We thank you so much for your kind review which has been appreciated by everyone.

We hope to welcome you another time,

All the best,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have just returned from an 8 night holiday at the Hotel de France et de Guise and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel was just what we hoped for – in the centre of the town and a typical French hotel with character. Our room had a great view of the Chateau which was less than 5 minutes walk away, was very comfortable and the unexpected tea-making facilities an extra bonus. We found the staff at reception extremely helpful and coped well with our hesitant French! Eating out was a pleasure at the many local restaurants serving typical French food (we were only sorry we had not checked out Trip Advisor earlier in our stay)
As we did not have a car with us we found that public transport in the area enabled us to see many of the chateaux in the vicinity – the ‘Navette de Chateaux’- shuttle bus to Chambord, Cheveney and Beauregard- very useful and only 6 euro each. We were able to reach Amboise and Chaumont easily by train. A day’s cycle hire also proved very enjoyable along the banks of the Loire. Another train journey enabled us to discover the mediaeval towns of Beaugency and Navers. All in all a very successful holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Madame, Monsieur,

We thank you for your advise and are extremely happy that you have appreciated your long stay with us. It is good to give all these informations and as you write the position is central to discover the region. Take care, Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked the hotel because the price was very reasonable and we were very pleasantly surprised that we were next to the Chateau and within walking distance to all parts of the town with parking very nearby. The staff were very helpful and suggested the Son et Lumiere which we enjoyed. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoolhousehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We thank you so much for your nice advise and are please that you have appreciated your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon, and will be happy to suggest you other enjoyable things to see.
All the best,
Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We picked this hotel for a few reasons. Location: Walkable from the train station, within view of the Chateau and just around the corner from Detours de Loire, where we picked up our hired bicycles. Price: quite reasonable.
The staff were friendly and kindly helped out our attempts at speaking French. They were also very helpful in directing us around the town and assisting us in planning our two days of cycling in the area. Their two suggestions for restaurants were just what we were looking for.

The only real draw-back (but of course also its charm) was it'sw on a busy corner at the round-about. Traffic noises started early!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
We thank you for taking time to write your review about our hotel! Effectively, we have a good position for those who want to discover the Loire by bikes: not far from the railway station, differents reuter of bikes, and we have a free closed garage.
Everyone at the hotel is here to make your stay a good souvenir by giving to you all the informations you might need.
We hope to see you another time,
All the best.
Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing