We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characteristic '700 style hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France et de Guise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Characteristic '700 style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Very cute. It looks like a '700 place, especially the breakfast room. The rooms are small but clean and with free internet connection. We had a lovely room in the top floor with a magic view of the town roofs. The personnel is very friendly. They asked us the preferred language and they spoke a very good english. The location is very central, close to the castle, the shops and restaurants. The receptionists gave us a reduction for the castle tickets. The only negative thing is the car park: there are only few spaces available in the hotel road. We had to park quite far away in a pay-and-display car park.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    153
    87
    27
    6
See reviews for
98
155
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Yes, this is a basic, budget priced hotel. But it is scrupulously clean, and the location can't be bettered for those interested in the chateau and historic parts of Blois. The furnishings are quaint but cared for. Never enough pillows but I say that about all hotels. I had no difficulties with the wifi. What made this place shine for me, besides the unexpectedly fabulous view from our top corner room, was the top notch customer service. Multi-lingual, interested, caring, efficient. We were assisted and advised by several of the front desk staff, and found them more helpful than the staff at our last 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is in the perfect spot and car parking is about 50 yards away or 100 yards for underground parking. It has a rather grand entrance for a small hotel and the breakfast room is even grander. The bedrooms are small but clean along a warren of tight corridors (reminds me of a Paris hotel). The staff were excellent and even recommended somewhere to eat where I could take my dog and even booked it for me. Really very good for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent language skills.

Good location close to the castle (but rather noisy due to the traffic). Garage for our motorbike close and not expensive.

The wifi did not function in our room. We had to go to the floor lobby to get connection.

The breakfast is actually not a buffet but a "normal" French one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently spent one night here on our way south. Finding accommodation for a family of 5 is not easy, but the room was more than adequate in size. However, it was very hot in Blois and the room lacked air-conditioning which became a real problem at night as we couldn't have the windows open due to street noise and the risk of one of the children escaping over the balcony !
The staff were very friendly and helpful and Blois was beautiful.
All in all, the hotel did the job for us, but don;t expect a luxury stay as it is quite dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loucozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely charming. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and kind. The room itself was decorated in a rather eccentric way (it reminded me of staying at my Nanna's) but this was all part of the fun. The room itself was a good size and had the most beautiful view of the Chateauand nearby church and gardens. I was not at all bothered by the street noise (although we did have the windows shut) but it is not the place for a late lie-in due to the noise of other guests getting up (it is an old building) and lack of black-out curtains. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was a little difficult to negotiate (but excellent when you finally got in to it!) however, none of the 'negative' aspects spoiled the stay for me, I thought it was a fantastic hotel and would definitely stay there again. Finally, the location could not have been more perfect, only 10 minutes from the station and within easy reach of all the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnutcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This charming little hotel is located right across the street from the Chateau of Blois, and the Church of St. Vincent. You will not be impressed with the rather worn-out decor, but you will wind up loving the staff. They were welcoming, gracious and happy to help out in any way. They offer underground parking across the street; they stamp your ticket for $5 a day, which was a great help as we had rented a car. The breakfast room was gorgeous, and Louis XVI would have felt comfortable having his morning croissants there. The breakfast is generous, not just a Continental breakfast,and the wait staff is lovely. The room was perfectly adequate, and for 59 euro/night, we were more than happy, and sad to leave these sweet people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blois Chateau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#10 of 28 in Blois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing