We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably hot and no air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unbelievably hot and no air conditioning”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

As other reviewers have said, this is a nice hotel in a great location. However, that night in August, we could not sleep due to the heat. Leaving the windows open meant having to listen to the traffic, as noted before. I asked the staff for fans, and they said that they had none, but I thought they might have had a few but already given them out - so if you stay here on a hot night, ask for one on arrival. Providing fans for guest rooms should be easy to do - air conditioning may be too much to ask.

Blois is a great location - we went to the Son et Lumiere show and despite being all in french, the kids loved it. We were able to visit Chambord and Chenonceau castles easily from here. The town is charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    158
    88
    29
    6
See reviews for
104
157
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Spent 3 nights here. My room was charming and comfy; simple but not lacking anything. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Hotel is very well located, virtually next door to Blois Chateau. Lovely park across the street. Hotel staff organised hire car for me; I was very grateful for their assistance. Continental breakfast served in gorgeous breakfast room. The staff could not do enough to help me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

If you want to explore the Loire Valley and to visit Chateau de Blois and the old town, De France et Guise is a perfect spot for that! We stayed there for one night only, on the way to Spain, but are definitely going to return to Blois and stay for longer. De France et de Guise is a cosy little hotel in the centre of Blois. Rooms are tidy and comfortable, although small; chateau de Blois is within 3 minutes walk. Even though the hotel doesn’t have its own parking, there is an underground parking garage, Parking du Chateau, 5 min walk from the hotel. Breakfast is not included in the room charge, but for €7 you can get continental breakfast. However, the hotel is surrounded by the shops, cafes and restaurants, and it’s easy to find a place to eat for your taste. The gem of this hotel is its owners - very friendly and helpful. They helped us to get a reservation in L’Orangeree du Chateau, famous local restaurant, booked discount tickets to the chateau, and made our stay absolutely perfect! They also could organise a day trip to the wine and mushroom caves or suggest a good wine-tasting tour. We hope to return there soon and to explore Loire Valley a bit more!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

on the way back from Dordogne to the Netherlands we decided to spend one day at the loire valley.
We did not book in advance and arrived on a late sunday afternoon in Blois.
Through booking.com we booked the hotel.
Arriving at the hotel we were very positively surprised.
The hotel is a very characterisctic (esp the breakfastroom which is beautiful!!) hotel, is very charming and intimate.
The owners are extremely nice and helpful.
Very good value for money.
roland and mayke

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

A great hotel overlooking the blois castle. Very friendly staff, parking was ok, and the discounts available from the hotel desk. Room was ok, clean, great view. Bad thing is the toilet which was integrated later on and does not have ventilation working or doesn't have a sealing above so you can imagine in the mornings...
A bit noisy, it doesn't have new windows so the whole fuss of the surroundings is heard.
Free wifi.
Great value for money

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0_BGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This a very convenient hotel for exploring the Loire Valley. Like everything else in Blois, this Hotel has a bit of history around it, I think the building is over 100 years old. Jacky and Ann are great hosts and made us feel very welcome and went beyond the call of duty to help us find a change location to convert some traveller checks. There is only one place in Blois and they do not change $100 bills, but will change traveller checks. Go figure. They offered very good suggestions.

Rooms are not air conditioned and are comfortable, but not plush. Breakfast is ok. Rooms in front of hotel can be a little noisy. Free wifi is available.

Location and staff make up for any short comings. It is an easy, downhill walk from the train station, about 10 minutes. It is across the street from the Chateau Blois and down the block from the center of the historic area with restaurants and shops. They even have a bike rental shop next door, wish I had known this. We rented from another bike store and had to ask Jacky to store the bikes in his garage. I think if you rent the bikes next door, he will keep them for you.

We biked from the Hotel to Chambord--a great ride and to Cheverny, a little hilly, but also a fun ride. Also took another day to ride up and down the Loire River.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel as our base for biking in the Loire.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I chose Blois as our base for exploring the chateaux of the Loire Valley because it looked more interesting to me than Tours, my other option, and it was more centrally located to the chateaux I wanted to see: Chambord, Chenonceau, and Chaumont. This little hotel was ranked number 1 on Trip Advisor, and for good reason. The owners, Jacky and Ann, could not have been nicer or more helpful. First, Ann sent me a welcome e-mail upon my reservation through Expedia; I can't say that has ever happened before. Jacky helped us with our bags upon check in, and served as our concierge throughout our 2 day stay. They loaned us books on the various chateaux, and educated us on their history: I had no idea there were 80 chateaux in the area! We only saw 5...must see more next time. We spoke only minimal French, but they were patient with us and helped us with our pronunciation, a welcome relief after a few days in France. He also helped us with local restaurant recommendations, all good. We booked a triple, but we were given a slightly bigger room upon check in when Jacky saw that our third person was my 6 foot tall, 23 year old son, not an 8 year old...so we had more room to move about. Our room overlooked the Blois Castle: fabulous view from the balcony. We toured that castle on our last day in town; wish we had known there was a light-show at night...that would have been fantastic, and we could have done it on either previous evening. Free in-room internet was provided! Very welcome at the midpoint of our trip, for dining reservations later on. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.
FYI: We booked a rental car at Orly, which is south of Paris, so we could tour the Loire Valley (also south of Paris) at our leisure. Better than taking a tour bus, where you are rushed and spend most of your time in transit. This hotel has free street parking if you move your car by 9:30 am, and all night parking (where you don't have to move your car) in the Castle parking lot for 5 euros per night. If you rent a car, you will find a GPS indispensable for directing you through all the local streets and roundabouts: don't leave home without it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing