We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“place is fine, good value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France et de Guise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“place is fine, good value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

This place is good value, excellent location, and all good. It has decent shower, nice bed, and tv with bbc on it. I can't believe some people complain about this place! Sure breakfast is a ripoff (7 euros, didn't even see it but not paying that!) btu the rooms are cheap and ours was, luckily, looking over the cathedral/castle. The rooms and beds are fine. If you want Ritz-like rooms then pay RItz like prices elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    153
    87
    27
    6
See reviews for
98
155
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

We reserved the room two nights after reading great reviews from other guests. When we arrived, the room was a bit worn down, and the walls were paper thin---we could hear the man next door snoring and coughing. However, the staff was extremely helpful in helping us find things to do around the city and the location could not be beat. The view from our window looked right out on to the chateau and was within a short walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Great hotel if you want something centrally located and are able to over look small, dark and noisy hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granviajerodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blois hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

What a hotel.I had to keep pinching myself to make sure I wasn't in a flim set. Yes it was a little dark and is looking a little tired and run down. But the atmoshere was fabulous. The reception staff were wonderfully helpful, and charming. The location was central and our room with the balcony looking out at the Chateau and the park across the sreet was everything you imagine an older hotel in France should be. Our bathroom had what must be the smallest shower in the world, but who cares the decor in the dining room, the chandeliers, the staff all made up for this. Not for glitzy 5 star people but for people with romance and imagination in their blood.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewportAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Whilst the service was very good and the hotel in a great location, the rooms were very average.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The owners speak English fluently and couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Their staff were also very good. Loved the balcony in our room directly opposite not only the chateau but also a nice garden and an old church. Perfect location. Lovely breakfast in lavishly styled breakfast room. Great value for money. Thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theGoddards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

As other reviewers have said, this is a nice hotel in a great location. However, that night in August, we could not sleep due to the heat. Leaving the windows open meant having to listen to the traffic, as noted before. I asked the staff for fans, and they said that they had none, but I thought they might have had a few but already given them out - so if you stay here on a hot night, ask for one on arrival. Providing fans for guest rooms should be easy to do - air conditioning may be too much to ask.

Blois is a great location - we went to the Son et Lumiere show and despite being all in french, the kids loved it. We were able to visit Chambord and Chenonceau castles easily from here. The town is charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Spent 3 nights here. My room was charming and comfy; simple but not lacking anything. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Hotel is very well located, virtually next door to Blois Chateau. Lovely park across the street. Hotel staff organised hire car for me; I was very grateful for their assistance. Continental breakfast served in gorgeous breakfast room. The staff could not do enough to help me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#11 of 28 in Blois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blois Chateau
7.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing