We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hospitality”
Review of Oustal en Berry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oustal en Berry
Ranked #1 of 16 Bourges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We very much enjoyed a one-day visit to Bourges and Oustal en Berry. Sophie, Gilles and their cute scottie dog have a gift in making you feel welcome in their beautiful home and garden. The room was immaculate and the breakfast topped with a wonderful collection of homemade jams and preserves in the beautiful dining room.

The location is an easy walk to the historic centre of town with many historic attractions, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina796989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Oustal en Berry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

When the iron gates on a rather non-descript street open before you, you are greeted by a glimpse of paradise, the energetic, knowledgable and ever helpful Sophie and her friendly white Scotty dog Elliot. The house was built in 1850 and has been lovingly restored and renovated. Sophie explains it all in as much detail as you wish, how they discovered the original paint colour of the elaborate plasterwork on the sitting room ceiling, the history and symbolism of the stained glass windows, the decorating decisions and the landscaping plan. The house sits on a one acre lot featuring both formal and informal gardens, a sequoia planted when the house was built, a vegetable garden and fruit trees. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are modern.

Breakfasts start with fruit juice, fresh fruit with home made yogurt, followed by warm croissants and baguette and a variety of jams all made from the fruit of the garden: apple, cherry, apricot, strawberry, prune, peaches on the vine (plum sized and red) and gooseberries. As we were telling Sophie how much we enjoyed them, she brought out two more- a grape jelly and a compote de peches en vigne. We tried them all! All that with a very good cafe au lait and Sophie's pouding aux canneberges.

Sophie will give you history lessons on the house and Bourges in general, will point out places to visit and current attractions (like the free concerts in the park) and will make recommendations for restaurant.

At 82€ for the two of us, I don't think you can find better value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishMacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My self and my family stayed at Oustal en Berry earlier this week on our return from Herault to Dublin. This is a fantastic place to stay and we were delighted to arrive after a gruelling eight hour drive in traffic. This house is a special place with some fantastic original features including a tiled entrance hall and winding wooden staircase. The tea and coffee making facilities in the drawing room were a welcome sight. The beautiful surrounding private, secure gardens were lovely. This house has been very tastefully renovated with love and dedication. Sophie was a very dedicated host and could not do enough for us. The rooms were immaculate and spacious and with views over the garden in the morning made it worth getting up early. Breakfast was very satisfactory with enough to feed a small army. We will look forward to returning next year and wish Sophie and Gilles all the best in the future. Keep up the great work. Brendan & Evan and Family Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Beautiful little maison d’hôte offering a very warm welcome and a flavour of the real France. Spacious and comfortable, very reasonably priced and serving a fabulous breakfast with home-made jams. In our case we got very special treatment when our car broke down (we were half way between London and south-west France) and Sophie got us out of our fix by helping us with the local garage. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Spent two nights here en route for the Dordogne. What a wonderful house with lots of original features. The rooms were immaculate, large and had great shower rooms. The breakfasts were really good with home-made jams, bread, cake, fruit, cereal etc. Most of all the welcome and hospitality from Sophie and Gilles was exceptional. Thank you Sophie for being my "professeur"!!! The walk to the centre of Bourges was about 15 minutes, with lifts now installed over the railway. We never heard a train the two nights we were here. A really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My friend and I stayed here on the second night of our cycle tour from Dijon to Paris. We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Sophie and her house is absolutely stunning. She does a great job of keeping everyone topped up with tourist information and speaks solid English.

The room was huge and decorated / furnished to a high standard.

That evening we strolled into Bourges to take in the music festival. There was a real buzz about the city and the cathedral is very striking.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic and included Sophie's home made cake. Great fuel for 100miles on the bike!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael12G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed in this B&B in our way back to the UK; the house is a very charming and spacious maison Bourgoise set back from the street, with private and secure parking we were given a lovely room with a large modern bathroom. There are 4 rooms inspired by creative French women, ours was Camille Claudel ( with books on Camille Claudell and themed art work) in excellent decorative order, very spacious and charming with a balcony facing the garden . Sophie the owner was charming and very helpful. Breakfast was a delight in a sun filled lovely dining room, the accent was the home made food: home baked cake, several home made jams and warm bread. The sitting room is available for the guests provides tea and coffee making facilities which are available throughout the day; the old town is a15-20 minutes walk, once one crossses the station ( new lifts will be operating soon ) the walk can be done alongside a very nice park. the city has wonderful architecture and a magnificent Gothic Cathedral. Cycles are available from the oweners to explore the city and le Marais

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albanyukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourges hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Christina
Le Christina
#2 of 19 in Bourges
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Angleterre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Bourbon - Mercure de Bourges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#5 of 19 in Bourges
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bourges
Ibis Bourges
#4 of 19 in Bourges
566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel les Tilleuls
Hotel les Tilleuls
#6 of 19 in Bourges
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oustal en Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oustal en Berry

Address: 7 rue Felix Chedin, 18000 Bourges, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bourges
Price Range: £85 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie and Gilles OUSTALET are delighted to welcome you to their 19th century guest-house and to share with you moments of enjoyment with a historical flavour. The four spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated bedrooms, named after Camille Claudel, Coco Chanel, Liane de Pougy and Colette, will set you dreaming and let you share for a while the life of these famous women.You will be George Sand, Charles VII or Jacques Coeur in turn as you wander through the little cobbled streets around the rue Bourbonnoux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oustal en Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing