We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my all time favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oustal en Berry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oustal en Berry
Ranked #1 of 16 Bourges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of my all time favourites”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We used this as a stopover on the way from the South of France to Calais. It is very conveniently placed at about the midpoint of the journey.

We were welcomed by Sophie and offered tea and biscuits in the Salon. The room was a large double full of interesting bits and pieces.

The town is a delight, especially the Cathedral, and there were loads of restaurants but we opted for bread, cheese and wine on the terrace back at the house.

Breakfast was excellent and there was the chance to meet the other guests around the large oval table.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
70
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I'll keep this short. A truly exceptional place to stay; genuinely French, very relaxing, and a stunning property. A delightful and healthy breakfast, a comfortable salon, and excellent wifi. Sophie and Gilles have it just right; I was so impressed after 3 days, I'm going back for a week in August.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

a nice house furnished with care. rooms are clean and large. bathroom are big and cared in any details. there is free wi-fi in every room (ask to madame the password). As soon as we arrived the landlord (and his nice little and polite dog) received us with a delicious buffet with home made cookies, sirop (typical of bourges) to mix with perrier water. the house is 10 minutes by walk from the city center. the breakfast was really good and rich: home made cakes, jams, bread and all you can need (not salted buffet, because is not typical for french petite dejeuner).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We too 'stumbled' across L'Oustal on a booking web site when looking for an overnight stay in the middle of France. What a find. Everything was spot on - we had the Coco Chanel room and it had everything we needed. The great thing too was there were facilities to make a nice cup of tea when we wanted! Lovely setting, close to a beautiful park with secure parking. The breakfast was stupendous with home made condiments etc and all this for less than we paid a so-called budget hotels. Definitely to be reccommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Located within walking distance from the centre. Bikes are available for use. Sophie is a very warm and friendly lady, nothing is too much trouble for her. Room Camille Claudel is very beautiful, with plenty of space, on the first floor, with a little balcony, at the front-side of the house. Parking place on the property. Breakfast can be taken inside, or when the wheather is nice, outside on the terrace. The perfect stay ...

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Two friends and I stopped over here on our way South having identified somewhere roughly mid way through France. I used Tripadvisor to select where to stay. I write simply to confirm the other reviews. Sophie was very welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. The rooms were excellent and the property overall beautiful. We had to leave very early in the morning (pre breakfast hours) yet Sophie showed us where everything was in the kitchen and asked us to help ourselves. To eat in the evening we walked into the town centre itself, which took about 10 minutes. It's well worth the walk as it has a fabulous Medieval centre with lots of restaurants and bars. I would strongly recommend and would definitely return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank muzzer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

There were eleven of us, and we took all four rooms available on 1 June 2012. They were fabulous rooms of high quality, comfort, cleanliness, and boutique-like. Sophie, the owner, was an excellent host, making all of us feel at home. Breakfast in the morning was awesome, with fresh, homemade jams, preserves, yoghurt, and her incredible orange loaf cake which she specially baked for us.

We strongly recommend this lovely home to all around the area.

Sincerely,
Chris & Gracia from Singapore

Room Tip: We loved our Coco Chanel room, but the other rooms were just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraciaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourges hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Christina
Le Christina
#1 of 20 in Bourges
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Angleterre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Bourbon - Mercure de Bourges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel les Tilleuls
Hotel les Tilleuls
#6 of 20 in Bourges
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#7 of 20 in Bourges
126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ace Hotel Bourges
Ace Hotel Bourges
#8 of 20 in Bourges
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oustal en Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oustal en Berry

Property: Oustal en Berry
Address: 7 rue Felix Chedin, 18000 Bourges, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bourges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie and Gilles OUSTALET are delighted to welcome you to their 19th century guest-house and to share with you moments of enjoyment with a historical flavour. The four spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated bedrooms, named after Camille Claudel, Coco Chanel, Liane de Pougy and Colette, will set you dreaming and let you share for a while the life of these famous women.You will be George Sand, Charles VII or Jacques Coeur in turn as you wander through the little cobbled streets around the rue Bourbonnoux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oustal en Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing