We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a lovely town”
Review of Oustal en Berry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oustal en Berry
Ranked #1 of 17 Bourges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arrived at L'Oustal on a very wet September evening and was warmly welcomed by Sophie into her beautiful home. Sophie explained with a map how to walk into the centre of Bourges or where to park if going by car, which was great so not to waste any time as we were only there overnight. Our room was perfect, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful and we enjoyed our stay and hope to come back and spend more time in Bourges as we only got to see it in the rain. Sophie is a lovely host and I look forward to going back hopefully next year. Plus we loved her little dog.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

L'Oustal is a delightful period house in a secure walled garden about 15 minutes walk from the historic city centre. Sophie welcomed us warmly and gave helpful advice on how to maximise our short stay in the interesting city of Bourges. The rooms are all themed, based on famous women from the late 19th century (the period of the house). We had the Coco Chanel room which was comfortable, beautifully decorated and quiet. The bathroom was small but well equipped.

Breakfast was delicious with home made jams and pastries. The comfortable guest lounge had a ready supply of hot and cold drinks.

Bourges is a particularly interesting city to visit with an imposing Gothic cathedral and many other historic buildings. In summer many of old buildings are included in a sound and light show which provides impressive free after dinner entertainment.

L'Oustal is an excellent B&B, one of the best we have stayed in. It's location, about 15-20 minutes from the centre is not ideal, but the serene location in a charming walled garden make it an irresistible choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

L'Oustal is a beautiful period house in a residential area of Bourges, within comfortable walking distance from the historic centre. Sophie warmly welcomed us, offering practical advice for maximising the short time that we had to spend in the town.

The house sits within a pretty walled garden that offers secure parking - in our case for our car and two bikes. It is really peaceful with no noise or light pollution. Our room (Coco Chanel) was delightful; beautifully decorated with lots of lovely touches. The bathroom was small but spotlessly clean, with bathrobes and a hairdryer. Downstairs is a comfortable guest lounge, with facilities for hot and cold drinks. The house retains many period features and is also furnished with some lovely pieces.

Breakfast was typical continetal, a little limited, but what was on offer was good, and was taken round a large shared table.

Our stay at l'Oustal was a great stopover, Bourges was charming, and we left rested and refreshed to face the rest of our journey south.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a beautiful place , with very nice hosts .What a pleasure to stay in this house, large attractive rooms with original fireplaces and ceilings . A short walk to the centre of Bourges set in a large garden with off street parking behind secure gates .Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice eaten outside on the terrace .We would stay here again if we are ever in the area .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesuzukithree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here last night on our way through Bourges and it was fantastic, this beautiful period house is set behind private gates on a quiet unassuming street about 10 minutes walk from the old town. Nothing was too much trouble and Sophie was very helpful in directing us to a good restaurant in the town. Our room was called 'Colette' and it was so perfect it even had a jacuzzi! The breakfast was delicious with homemade yoghurt, bread and jams as well as cereal and fruit salad. I would heartily recommend l'Oustal to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneypennyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We used this as a stopover on the way from the South of France to Calais. It is very conveniently placed at about the midpoint of the journey.

We were welcomed by Sophie and offered tea and biscuits in the Salon. The room was a large double full of interesting bits and pieces.

The town is a delight, especially the Cathedral, and there were loads of restaurants but we opted for bread, cheese and wine on the terrace back at the house.

Breakfast was excellent and there was the chance to meet the other guests around the large oval table.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I'll keep this short. A truly exceptional place to stay; genuinely French, very relaxing, and a stunning property. A delightful and healthy breakfast, a comfortable salon, and excellent wifi. Sophie and Gilles have it just right; I was so impressed after 3 days, I'm going back for a week in August.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourges hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Angleterre
1.0 mi away
Le Christina
Le Christina
#1 of 19 in Bourges
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Bourbon - Mercure de Bourges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel les Tilleuls
Hotel les Tilleuls
#7 of 19 in Bourges
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#6 of 19 in Bourges
146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Bourges
Hotel Novotel Bourges
#10 of 19 in Bourges
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oustal en Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oustal en Berry

Address: 7 rue Felix Chedin, 18000 Bourges, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bourges
Price Range: £78 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie and Gilles OUSTALET are delighted to welcome you to their 19th century guest-house and to share with you moments of enjoyment with a historical flavour. The four spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated bedrooms, named after Camille Claudel, Coco Chanel, Liane de Pougy and Colette, will set you dreaming and let you share for a while the life of these famous women.You will be George Sand, Charles VII or Jacques Coeur in turn as you wander through the little cobbled streets around the rue Bourbonnoux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oustal en Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing