We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel Bourges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel Bourges
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bourges
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our way down to Limoux. It is a lovely hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable, although they could do with tea making facilities but breakfast was available from 6.00am so we didn't have to wait long for our first cuppa. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Very handy for the motorway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    182
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
106
132
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel for a stopover on the way south through France. Very close to the toll exit on the motorway - easy to find. Hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. Room was well appointed - large and a good shower room. Bed had a good firm mattress. Very quiet. Towels could have been larger. Members of staff are friendly and speak good English. Good Wifi connection available. Breakfast was an excellent buffet with a great choice. A couple of restaurants within walking distance - national chains that served good meals even though they very busy. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crieffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the middle of France and perfectly situated at the highway. So it is a great place to plan an overnight stay while traveling from the north to the south of Europe. The hotel looked clean the room we stayed in no 401 was also clean. We stayed 1 night with 2 adults and 1 child which we pre booked and everything went as planned. There were no mistakes made what so ever. The people were helpfull too. So four stars from me!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I really did not like this place.

While it is true that the beds were quite OK, and the room had enough space, everything was of rather poor quality (very thin towels, for example, and the bathroom fittings were rudimentary, no hairdryer).

The room (booked a couple of days ahead) seemed reasonable at 75 euros, but when the breakfasts were added, the price became 90 euros, which, compared to the nice small B&B we had stayed in the the night before in the Champagne region, seemed expensive in view of the quallity of the room and the service. (A notice outside the hotel indicated that rooms were being offered for 51 euros, incidentally.)

The wifi was almost inexistant on the 4th floor - my husband spent some time going up and down to the reception to get internet access fixed up, but gave up in the end.

If you're thinking of taking a room here, you should realise that the hotel is in fact 5 km outside Bourges, and the hotel does not offer meals other than breakfast. But on the same site, a short walk away, you have a couple of chain restaurants, Courte Paille, and Leon; however we would have had to queue in the doorway for a table for about 20 or so minutes.

We preferred to use those 20 minutes to drive to Bourges centre for supper, but then had a lot of difficulty finding the hotel again on the way back, since the link road from Bourges centre to the nearby motorway is not lit after dark, and there is another similar area with hotels in a different part of the site. Make sure you have your GPS system with you!

The young women at the reception were pleasant enough, but ...

... I shall not be visiting "Ace" again.

Room Tip: If you want to use the wifi, ask for a room on a lower floor. On the 4th it is likely to be very di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in a room for 4. There was plenty of room for us not to be getting in each others way getting organised to head out to drive 6km to the city centre.
The way in from the Motorway or back from the city is badly signed, with many exits from a roundabout and no sign of the hotel from there. There is also no signage to the hotel when you take the correct exit, so you might end up in a boreen passing along the side of the hotel.
We passed a british car which had just done this immediately before us.
In the hotel carpark there was a lot of bad parking with people parking over the line between spaces to have half their car in each space, or the person who took up 5 spaces with a jeep and trailer....

The hotel was quiet though, clean, and the shower was fine and big, with no need to bang elbows off the sides or anything.
There was also free wifi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carawaystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, we are a family of 7 so we got a triple and a quadruple (no 8). However our quadruple was previously an office or still can be so it has a strange feel to it. It has fluorescent lights in it and a whiteboard. The double bed folds away and there are chairs placed near a long table. However it must be said that I can't complain about the great sleep we all had and the bathroom was lovely.
We did pay €160 for the rooms and then nearly another €7 per person for breakfast so it was €210 for I night! I didn't think the breakfast was very good. Just bread rolls and no other bread or croissants etc and no fruit. We twice had to ask a very disinterested waitress for milk. I think skip the breakfast and head across the road to get a decent bit of food before you head off on a long journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked several budget hotels for our journey to and from a holiday in the South of France. We had never heard of the Ace chain and were more than pleasantly surprised by the quality of it. They are a new chain with other locations still to be completed. The bedroom was large with a large double and a single bed in it. Plenty of room for our laptop with two stools beneath a worktop. The bathroom was very nice with a large enclosed shower, basin and toilet. As is often the way with these type of hotels it was based on a trading estate with several food outlets within walking distant. We ate at the Courtepaille, which we always enjoy. We did not have breakfast there o cannot comment on this. It was about €54 for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourges hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourges
Ibis Styles Bourges
#3 of 20 in Bourges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Bourges
Premiere Classe Bourges
#17 of 20 in Bourges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Christina
Le Christina
#1 of 20 in Bourges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Bourges 1
B&B Hotel Bourges 1
#19 of 20 in Bourges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Bourges
Ibis Bourges
#4 of 20 in Bourges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Bourges
Hotel Novotel Bourges
#9 of 20 in Bourges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Bourges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Bourges

Property: Ace Hotel Bourges
Address: 2 rue Joseph Aristide Auxenfans | ZAC de l échangeur, A 71 sortie n°7, 18000 Bourges, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bourges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel Bourges 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Louvre hotels, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Hotel Bourges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing