We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near as good as it looks on the website!”
Review of Chateau de Lazenay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Lazenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel whilst driving through france, so it was just a stop off for one night. When we arrived, we had been in the car for over 7 hours, and that was the only reason we stayed really. That's not to say the hotel is bad as such, it's just a bit disappointing when you've seen the nice pictures on the website. The owners of the chateau have clearly sold the garden to build a development of flats, so it's not in a very picturesque setting, despite being on the lake. The rooms have been totally stripped of all character they once had- all have a kitchenette, which didn't quite fit with my idea of what the decor in a chateau might have been like! They have been furnished very cheaply, with 'school' carpet and feel a bit travel lodge-y. Basically, I'd say it's fine for a stop over, but really not somewhere you'd go for any comfort, or any length of time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

This a a great deal for a stop off hotel.The postion is excellent overlooking the lake.There is a grill within walking distance and a lovely vibrant city with great eaterys within 5 mins and 15 euros in a taxi.We walked one way and had a taxi back which the cafe called for us.
There is a little development going on which is nearly finished and there is clear evidence that the people who own it are finishing off the outer landscaping bit by bit but as French hotels go it is well up there.
We are British who now live in France so are not expecting American standards.We always travel with our own pillows and travel kettle as in France this is neccessary.There has been a lot of thought gone into this hotel,and the grounds have a bit to go,but look as if they will be getting there for season 2010,(we have renovated too) but it really is a safe and comfortable haven off the motorway in the centre of France.We had a family room overlooking the lake,and a great night out for a fondue in the town and Irish pub.
The breakfast was great and excellent value.
I feel for the people that drove a further two hours because they judged the book by its cover.We regard it as a find and we have stayed at the Waldorf in New York and the Savoy,in London.
This is someones big dream hotel at budget price in motion but with no real effect on a stop over.
I guess it is privately owned hence the bit by bit approach to the landscaping.
We look forward to going back and seeing the further changes.Great sking stopover to the ports.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This is a lovely, remodeled chateau on the outskirts of Bourges. It is situated next to a lake and jogging trail. Our room was very nice, with a king-sized mattress and a large bathroom. The hotel is spotless. The day staff is superb. The breakfast is a bargain. There is also a quaint, excellent restaurant run by a husband and wife team about 10 minutes away in a small village. The chateau is, however, difficult to find. The signs advertising its presence are hard to spot - especially at night. The night staff was not fluent in English, and was unable to help us find the chateau when we were lost. Further, the staff left at 10:00 o'clock p.m. Guests arriving after 10:00 o'clock p.m. may find themselves locked out of the chateau for the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2EmptyNesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

After prepaying Expedia and finally arriving, we looked around the interior and exterior and decided to leave. This meant we lost our money. I have never left a hotel after already paying, not to mention driving several hours just to get there. These are the reason why we left (not in any particular order):
1. The hotel grounds are unfinished. It is facing a VERY old building occupied only by many animals. The parking lot and driveway was unfinished and dirt only.
2. Upon entering the bedroom, we spotted a very large spider crawling through the unfinished woodwork. It was probably there because of the insects we discovered along the windows. I attempted to plug all the holes in the wood with toilette paper, but the spiders always seemed to find a way through.
3. The bathoom was not clean. The walls we scratched and never cleaned. We asked for 1 sheets and they were unable to accomodate.
4. There was no reception desk, only a kid (17 or 18 years old) greeted us at the door. He was a nice kid, but had no idea how to run a hotel. He was given no authority and had no onsite support/supervision.
5. The kid at the reception desk informed us there would be noone available after 10pm.
6. We were the only visable guests at this, so called, "hotel".

Incidentally, the kid offered to give us each a beer while he sprayed insecticide in our bedroom. We were supposed to sleep overnight with the smell of insecticide????

Go ANYWHERE ELSE! We ended up driving that night and booking a hotel 2 hours south and were pleased with the new selection. Unfortunately, even though this is an Expedia "Preferred" hotel, we did not get our money back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ed13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed in the Chateau de Lazenay on two separate nights, on the way down to Nice and on the way back. It's a beautiful hotel, the rooms are spotlessly clean and well-decorated, views from the windows fabulous and the breakfast is a real quality spread. The host, Eric, is really friendly and helpful too. We were really only looking for a place to rest our heads, but the Chateau was cheaper and much nicer than any of the local Ibis's' or Campanile's. Also free wi-fi! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollym2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This hotel almost seems incomplete, or newly completed, on the side of a large lake, the rooms are spacious and the staff, only one or two were seen, were very helpful, rooms clean and tidy, no restaurant so you have to drive into town to get a meal, but staff recommendation was good. We overpaid and had not realised it, but were contacted by telephone and we called in on the way back and were refunded our overpayment in cash.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed here for 1 night at the begining of a holiday. Room was pleasant but nothing to rave about. Fairly uncomfortable bed. room was a great size though with a tiny little kitchenette and a decent size (although not beautiful) bathroom

The hotel is on the edge of a lovely lake with some nice walks around. There's a nearby (ish) restaurant that very kindly made us some food late on a Sunday evening - be sure to get there before 9!

Not an awful place but I'm sure there are nicer hotels in the area we could have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourges hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Bourges
Ibis Bourges
#4 of 19 in Bourges
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Christina
Le Christina
#2 of 19 in Bourges
427 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Bourges
Hotel Novotel Bourges
#10 of 19 in Bourges
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel de Bourbon - Mercure de Bourges
1.8 mi away
Hotel les Tilleuls
Hotel les Tilleuls
#7 of 19 in Bourges
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourges
Ibis Styles Bourges
#3 of 19 in Bourges
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Lazenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Lazenay

Address: rue de la Vernusse, 18000 Bourges, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bourges
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau de Lazenay 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Lazenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Lazenay Bourges
Chateau De Lazenay Hotel Bourges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing