We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creaky Floors Crooked Doors and Wow the Cathedral”
Review of Le Parvis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Parvis
Ranked #3 of 25 Chartres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
445 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Creaky Floors Crooked Doors and Wow the Cathedral”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was not in Chartres at Le Parvis for a hotel experience - I was there to spend one and one half days in the Cathedral which makes Le Parvis the perfect choice because it is right next to the Cathedral - I mean really next to it, 20 meters away maybe? Eat the good food from the hotel restaurant on the terrace and you are directly under the north tower. Look out the windows of the hotel and you are staring at the Cathedral. Why would one stay anywhere else?!

But let's discuss the hotel anyway.

Are we sure this hotel isn't haunted - it should be because it has all the necessary ingredients: charm, age, history, strange corners, odd stairways and multiple 'caves'. Be prepared for a quirky place - I though of my grandmother's house. Be prepared for out-of-the-ordinary rooms: my room has french doors from the tiny hallway, they had a key but I suspect you could have blown the door open with a light sneeze. The door to the toilet had to be forced across the bulge in the floor; the shower wouldn't drain because of the bulge in that floor. The blackout curtains were 'sort of' effective. The room had two electric outlets that I could locate - I travel with four devices that need to be charged. The room itself, though generous in space was oddly designed and there may have been a closet but the door was blocked by the bed so I don't know.

The bed was ok, I have had better and worse. There was a couch, but with no closet and no other place for the suitcase, that's where the suitcase went so you couldn't sit on it. Then why would you, nothing to look at as the tv was awkwardly placed. Lighting was bad, though you could stretch and call it mood lighting. The lamp over the bed was non-functional because you had to unplug it to use the outlet for charging your Apple products. The bathroom was somewhat functional, but please, I am 5'10" and my toes barely touched the floor when using the toilet, get a better wc for heaven's sake.

There is wifi, but the signal is weak and don't count much on successful video streaming.

You get a breakfast, French continental style; if you get the nice guy in the morning you get yogurt and a smile with that breakfast as well; you get the other guy, well, ok, you get some bread cheese meat slices and apricot jam and little else. The coffee is terrible but this is France - they don't know how to make good coffee.

I ate lunch at the hotel, very pleasant, decent wine with lunch. I had dinner out but did have une glacé one evening which was also tasty with a nice wine.

If I return to Chartres I might check my hotel options next time; but I would still lean towards Le Parvis simply because it has the location nailed. And you can slip into bed within minutes of watching the really fun Cathedral light show right next door, I mean really right next door.

Room Tip: I had Bleue, you saw my comments. Next door to Bleue was a better room with a nicer sitting area loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    57
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
120
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
866 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Le Parvis is right across from the Cathedral. It is an historic building with both beauty and some quirks. Rooms all vary and are very historical. My suite was the depth of the property (windows both facing the cathedral and the side street). Floors are a little creaky and the wifi and nice breakfast are included. There is also a restaurant below (not noisy- closed by 9:30) which I did not eat at. A little pricey but I felt like I was a noble from an ancient age visiting the cathedral. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the Cathedral view rooms. The "Louis Room" has a lovely sitting area looking out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This inn is located in an ancient building that is literally next door to the cathedral. The pros are the location and the ease with which you can visit the city center. We had Les Anges (the Angels), the room at the top. It was spacious and a bit quirky. There were views to the cathedral, and we were able to watch the light show from there. The breakfast was good (typically French--croissants, jam, cheese, and fruit.) Cons: It's a little hard to find (thank goodness we had a navigator in our rental car). There is no parking right nearby. You need to park in the city garage a few blocks away. Getting to the garage was a bit of a hassle.

Room Tip: There are several rooms, and each one is different. Look at the hotel website or the pics on bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed just one night at this charming hotel in Chartres. Exactly the right combination to the city.
There are just a few rooms and they are not too big, as they were adapted into a very old building. Wi Fi is free as is breakfast.
I recommend eating sometime at the hotel's restaurant. The food is good and the prices reasonable.
I would definitively return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

There is not much to compare this unique place to. It simply drips story and atmosphere. Set above a restaurant, the rooms are old and awkwardly set out, but with all the comforts one would need. The room was clean, though a little small, but the furnishings were, I am sure, fascinating, genuine antique. Best of all, though, the door opened out directly onto the Cathedral forecourt. You could not have been closer to the action. The breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent with great coffee and plenty of what comes with every good French breakfast. On one of the nights we were there, a jazz band played in the cellar, three floors below us. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is not easy to find get directions or use your GPS. All of the streets are one way so you have to take exactly the correct street in the right direction or you will have to start over. It offers free parking and a good breakfast. It is right next to the Cathedral. The place is a little quirky. The rooms are clean and quiet. The decoration of the hotel and rooms is interesting, not to my taste but creative. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quirky and interesting. I would look at the website and decide on a room based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseball111997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were met by the friendly staff, who directed us to the parking (about 3 minutes walk away, but free). We were then shown the room. We had the "Louis" room. This suite takes up the full width of the building, having a small sitting room with views of the Cathedral, a corridor, off which is a shower-room, and then the bedroom, which overlooks Cardinal Pie st and its medieval buildings. The bed and sitting rooms are beautifully panelled, and they have the usual amenities, but also, hidden behind some panelling, a small kitchen.

You could not get a better location in Chartres, as the cathedral is opposite, and the city just the other side of the cathedral garden from the hotel.

There is a small bar, and you can eat there, or in the cave-like cellars. On the friday night we stayed there was a jazz group, and whilst not generally a jazz fan, it made a good accompaniment to dinner. Dinner was good - not the finest food in France, but really very pleasant, and not overpriced. Breakfast, which is included, was a good mix of bread, croissants, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, with coffee and orange juice.

To sum up, this is a lovely small hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parvis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parvis

Property: Le Parvis
Address: 13 Cloitre Notre Dame | 13 Place de la Cathédrale, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parvis offers you an accomodation in Bed and Breakfast straight in front of the Chartres Cathedral, in the very historical heart of the city. Our bedrooms are equipped with every element essential to your comfort. Their charm and the top-quality service provided have been ackowledged by all our guests. Come and discover our unique Bed and Breakfast !Bed and Breakfast, charming rooms. Top-quality accomodation. You can almost touch the cathedral from the window of your room. Air-conditionning. Breakfast included. Parking offered. Wifi in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Parvis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing