We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing to write home about...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My daughter and I spent three nights here in January 2012. The hotel was virtually empty and, though they were not obligated to do so, an upgrade would have been thoughtful. The front desk personnel did nothing to give us the least sense that they cared whether we were there or not. Location was perfect, making it an easy walk to all the sights and restaurants. Do be aware that if you arrive by train you may not be able to find a taxi. My daughter was sick when we arrived and, when the driver of the first taxi in line discovered that our hotel was only 4 blocks away, he refused to take us. The taxi queue is such that no other taxi could pull out of line. It is an uphill climb, pulling luggage. Not a happy start. Our actual room was clean and adequate. No one else was on our floor so it was quiet. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbee24503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good hotel in Chartres. Within a few minutes walk of cathedral. Not really worth it to pay extra for cathedral view. Room clean. Staff friendly and very helpful. Did not eat in hotel so cannot comment. Parking not available in hotel but can park in public underground car park 1 minute away.

Room Tip: No need to book cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great location, very comfortable room with a great view of the cathedral, you can unload your car via a back entrance but parking is only available in a nearby underground car park. Breakfast was pretty mediocre with a fairly limited selection of food. Coffee was served from a vacum flask and was obviously pretty stewed and unappetising. Just about acceptable, difficult to believe that this is rated number one in Chartres.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milktray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had just one night in Chartres, but the Mercure made it memorable and easy. We could walk to the spectacular cathedral in five minutes.

The hotel was very clean with modern, tasteful decor. We learned (thanks to the desk staff volunteering this information) that all Mercure hotels offer free breakfast to guests over 60 years old. Our room was very large (unusual in France) and comfortable. Wi-fi worked well. Nearby public parking was convenient, but expensive.

Room Tip: Room 328 is spacious and has a skylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

When you book a Mecure you think you know what you are getting as they are all the same. In fact usually if you stayed in three Mecures on successive nights you would probably have trouble remembering where you are by the last of them. However, this one is different and not in a good way. Our problems started on arrival when we were told our booking had been cancelled as the credit card payment had been refused. This was nonsense as the booking had been made through Agoda who had taken the payment and that payment had already appeared on a credit card statement. In any event why had they not tried to contact me before cancelling the booking? After several fraught minutes arguing they gave us a room and contacted Agoda directly. They sorted the problem out but no one ever told us they had. We were only certain that they accepted payment had been made when we received the bill at the end of our stay. I have booked dozens of hotels through Agoda and never had a problem before so I am sure the mistake was Mecure’s.
We then got to our room and found that the bathroom was effectively part of the bedroom. One corner of the wall separating the two had been removed. One side replaced by a translucent sliding partition and the other side left open. When one of us was using the shower or wash basin it was apparent to the other. Not a particular problem for us but I could imagine older people being quiet unhappy about that.
It also appeared that the part of the wall that had been removed during the remodelling of the room must have had the thermostat for the air conditioning as we never found one. The window was sealed shut so the room became very warm and stuffy.
When we got back from having dinner we found that there was no bar although the receptionists would serve you a drink from the limited range available from a cupboard. Sitting in reception having a drink is not a great experience.
The final disappointment came at breakfast. One advantage of Mecure over the cheaper hotels in the Accor family is that they have a hot option at breakfast. Here the scrambled egg was inedible. It appeared to have been made from powder that had not been properly mixed and therefore had no consistency at all. It was also cold.
On the plus side the hotel does have its own car park, at €10 per night, if you do not want to use the public car park just outside.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesDLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for one night only en route to the Dordogne from the UK. The hotel is well situated near the central square in Chartres and 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral. The hotel is modern and contemporary in style, it does not have its own parking, but there is an extremely large (and mainly empty) public car park which extends under the central square - parking overnight cost around 11 Euro.

The hotel like most Mercure hotels was extremely friendly. Staff were expecting us, check-in and out was quick and efficient and the receptionists had good english. The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate with little in the way of hot choices (however this is not the UK!) The food was of a good quality and well presented.

The room we stayed in was quite small, but cleverly designed to make the most of the space, It managed to be rather more interesting than many modern hotels which adopt the "L" shaped lay out. Colour was used sparingly but coherently with a theme running throughout the hotel. If we had stayed for more than one night we would have neded more space but for a stopover the hotel was all one would want and more, especially if one enjoys contemporary design

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#4 of 27 in Chartres
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing