We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay with comfortable bed and delightful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with comfortable bed and delightful staff”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Had a great stay at the Mercure Chartres in October 2012. The room was stylish and quiet (we faced the back, may be a different story if you get a cathedral view). The bed was incredibly comfortable, the shower had great water pressure and drainage, and housekeeping was immaculate. The reception staff was delightful and helped us with finding tourist sites and making restaurant reservations. Location is fantastic - took us 10 minutes to walk to the cathedral and historic quarter. Don't miss the street signs down there. We'll definitely stay here again when we return for Chartres at Night!

Have a great time!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the back and cost less, you can pay more to get a partial view of the cathedral, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    221
    45
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
220
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Greeted by a very nice helpful receptionist, we were meeting relations from Canada and she managed to put us in a room right next to them. Room was very nicely furnished , very clean , nice bathroom(shower only) and a separate loo it had everything that you could need and a very comfy bed. A little tip if you arrive by car , if you carry on just past the hotel and turn right at the first permitted turn and right again it will bring you to a little road behind the hotel where you can park until you unpack your luggage and check into the hotel . The receptionist will give you details of where you can park. We only had breakfast at the hotel it was very nice loads of fresh breads croissants etc ham eggs cheese fruit . There is a hotel just up from the mercure with a very nice bar lounge be warned the drinks and food are quite expensive , there are much better deals to be had in the centre towards the cathedral loads doing plat de jours. The cathedral is definately worth a visit it is a world heritage site and really is the reason people visit Chartres. the people on the labyrinth were very interesting to watch.if I was visiting Chartres again I would use this hotel again..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janicedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were heading back to the Chunnel from the Perigourd region. Didn't want to do the 7-8 hour trip in one go so we Stopped here. It's pretty tough to decide where to stop to break that journey as there are so many great places to go. We decided on Chartres on the recommendation of a good friend. We chose this hotel as it is very near the town centre.

It's amazing, sort of, approaching Chartres from the south as you feel you are crossing Kansas rather than France. You'll see what I mean. Stop and take pictures for comedy social media purposes. 'Guess where I am' sort of thing.

The hotel is good, clean, well run and everything was as you would expect. I'm not going to pick any specific feature as the hotel was fine. We weren't after any fripperies and everything was as it should be. We had a premium room and the bed was actually very comfortable. An excellent night's sleep which is all you can ask for really. There is no parking in the hotel but what must be the largest Car park in the world is under the adjacent square. When you enter it again, you'll see what I mean. Just park as near as you can to the exit for the Rue du General Koenig for driving out purposes. The foot exit lift emerges about 75 metres or so from the hotel entrance.

So, the hotel is fine. This is a good place to stay as the most important thing is that it is a short walk to the town centre, shopping, squares and Cathedral. The centre of Chartres is pedestrianized. Cobbled. An awful lot of very nice shops and more importantly for me, loads of splendid wicker chair sitting people watching opportunities. My favourite thing to do in the evening in France, like most people, is sit somewhere nice with a beer or a glass of wine in a wicker chair and watch the world go by. Chartres has this in spades. The Cathedral is vast. Must be one of the biggest in France. I haven't looked it up but you might like to if you are interested in that sort of thing. We had dinner at the splendidly named Restaurant L'Amphitryon-Hotel Le Boeuf Couronne. I would heartily recommend it without hesitation. Book a table on the terrace.

Chartres to the Chunnel avoiding toll roads is about 3 3/4 hours. It's a nice way to do it off the Peage.

In summary, Chartres is a great place to break up a Journey across France to Calais. The hotel was fine, no complaints at all, quite the opposite, we weren't after boutiquey luxury, just a clean safe, comfortable bed for the night and this was as just that.

Happy travels

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Having used Mercure Hotels in Rheims and Lyon, this one was disappointing. There was no car park and the nearest public one was some distance away - not a good prospect if you have several bags - there is no parking in the narrow, one-way street outside the front entrance.

Bar food was not as per menu. Staff friendly but breakfast was limited. The idea of a gin & tonic seemed a new one.

"Non Monsieur! We have only gin".

"Avez-vous l'eau tonique?"

"Ah! Oui! l'eau tonique!"

"Then Vous avez gin tonic! Voila! Mais un peu plus de gin, s'il vous plaît. Merci beau-coup"

Maybe something was lost in translation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hotel staff really friendly and rooms was clean and comfortable. Downside- paper cups in rooms for tea and coffee with wooden sticks for spoons. Makes the place look cheap. Only provides milk concentrate which is disgusting.
There is no restaurant although there are a few close by. If you have been travelling several hours it is not ideal especially if you are elderly and not agile. No parking but can park in underground carpark opposite but we were charged almost 18 Euros for the privalege

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and I spent six nights at the Mercure. Being senior citizens we looked for a convenient location combined with a room which was a pleasure to occupy at any time of the day.We could not have chosen better. We booked a superior room which was spacious, immaculate and giving wonderful views of the cathedral. The double glazing completely hid all traffic noise.The only criticism was that it had a coffee-making machine but no kettle for boiling water for tea. Staff were absolutely superb. The breakfast room was modern and spacious. The food on offer was the best we have experienced in any French hotel. There was even a section for organic food.
We ate at three restaurants, The Boeuf Couronne, Le Cloitre Gourmand, and Le Tripot. All were very good but for us Le Tripot was outstanding. It was also the nearest to our hotel. Sadly for us it was closed on three of our six evenings. We had hoped for a Malcolm Miller tour of the cathedral, but on the one day he appeared there were only six of us when there have to be at least ten for the authorites to allow him permission to proceed.

Room Tip: Ask for Superior Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for one night with our daughter. The hotel is in a superb location, right in the centre of town within sight of the cathedral. We lay in bed and and watched the light show projected onto the outside (the superior rooms cost extra, worth it in our view but it's your choice). The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast is great and free for our 11-year old daughter. We've stayed at one other Mercure and the breakfast was excellent there too, it's a reason to choose this chain. We also liked the decor of this hotel, which has flair and imagination.

The only reason for not awarding the full five styars is the parking: there is nowhere even to stop outside (we parked illegally on the pavement and later saw other guests doing the same) and the parking is in the town's main underground car park, which is expensive, awkward to navigate and was very busy when we arrived on a Saturday afternoon. OK so Chartres is a big city and there may not be a suitable place available for a car park, but at least the hotel could have negotiated a deal for discounted parking and found space for a pull-in to drop off guests and luggage.

Room Tip: The superior rooms also have coffee machines and great showers. The view of the cathedral is the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
210 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing