We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Chartres”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location in Chartres”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The Mercure is a perfect hotel location-wise! It is close to all of the main attractions in Chartres. My room was comfortable and clean! The only downside for me was that there was no Restaurant or Bistro for an evening meal or drink before dinner - other Mercure Hotels that I have stayed in have this facility.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, Nous sommes trés heureux que notre établissement vous ait convenu. Etant donné sa situation en plein centre ville ne pas avoir de restaurant est un choix que nous avons fait, il y en a plein aux alentours, et de trés sympa!!
Nous n'avons pas de bar mais un coin "lounge" ou il est agréable de prendre un verre.
Espérant pouvoir vous saluer lors d'un prochain passage sur Chartres,
Bien cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    239
    48
    10
    2
See reviews for
106
237
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Davinator and I, roaming France, were on a mission to visit the Cathedral in Chartres. Searched Trip Advisor and booked the best rated convenient hotel in Chartres. I checked the website, as I always do, and we got a nice room for an apparently reasonable price for a one night stay. I didn't do enough due diligence on parking, so my bad. But the website provided zero information about the parking challenges (both specific to the hotel and generally in Chartres). I think this was a purposeful omission and so shame on the Mercure chain.

We arrived - there was no 'pull in' portico or drop off facility, no bell boys, no help of any description with the luggage - this was at the front the hotel. We circled the block several times, trapped in the one way system. Finally, we spotted the secret entrance to parking at the rear of the hotel. There was an intercom system - rang the bell three times - no answer. The Davinator circled the block again, let me out of the car in front of the hotel. I persuaded the front desk to actually respond to the intercom system and let the Davinator drive the car in, if only to drop off the luggage.

We tried in vain to persuade the hotel staff to allow us to park our car - full of wine from Bordeaux - in one of the handful of parking spaces. To no avail. To be fair, they did offer to store the ten cases of wine (if we shifted it ourselves). The car parking spaces were - they said - reserved for handicapped guests. Not true, two were marked as handicapped spaces, at least 2 others appeared to be available. If there were any handicapped guests, they hadn't driven to the hotel as the spaces were empty at 7:30 in the evening. We unloaded the bags, the Davinator camouflaged the wine and took the car off into the labyrinth of the one way system and the giant underground cavern that serves as a car park for all of central Chartres. Cost 20 Euro a day, by the way.

I checked in, got the bags upstairs, and ordered some drinks from room service. Had to - nothing in mini-bar but a couple of bottles of water. Some language difficulties ( I speak good French for food & drink) but I managed to get a Ricard and a beer delivered quite briskly. The Davinator appeared and we sallied forth in search of dinner. There is a very limited room service menu and unless desperate, I wouldn't suggest eating from it.

Next morning, I visited the Cathedral and the Davinator did some work, had a shower and proceeded to retrieve the car (wine was undisturbed) and gain entrance to the car park again to load up our bags. Strangely, the car park was now full but none of the cars had handicapped stickers or parking permits. (see photos attached) Our theory - the parking spaces were occupied by the hotel staff and general manager. It may or may not be correct, I offer the photos to the Mercure team to confirm or refute.

Some hotels are run for the guests, some tolerate guests, some see the guests as an irritating imposition in the daily routine. Sadly, I would put the Mercure Chartres in the final category. They accepted our money, gave us a room, fed us breakfast but had no interest in service or repeat business. They have processes, they execute them. The views of guests are of no consequence.

Why even an average rating? The room was a nice size, quiet, overlooking the square, breakfast was okay and the bathroom was fine. The decor was eye watering ultra modern (pea green, lavender and brown at least in our room) but bed and arm chairs were comfortable. The internet was free and, to quote the Davinator 'as fast as greased lightning'.

If we find ourselves in Chartres again - we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Dolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un si long commentaire sur notre établissement. Vous nous reprochez des choses qui me semblent tout à fait inexactes ou du moins mal interprétées, je vais donc m'efforcer de revenir sur chaque reproche afin d'etre claire pour les internautes qui liraient votre commentaire.
En tout premier lieu, il est vrai que le MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE n'a pas de parking, mais ce n'est pas un secret, cela est parfaitement indiqué sur le site de MERCURE, nous n'avons donc aucune honte à avoir sur ce sujet! Il n'y a malheureusement pas de "dépose minute" devant notre établissement, refusé, au moment de la construction de l'hotel, par la municipalité, mais il y en a un 50m plus loin. Nous avons une petite cour privée, avec une entrée qui n'est absolument pas secrète, rue des tuileries, un grand portail rose trés visible!!!!!!! Dans cette cour se trouvent les places réservées aux personnes à mobilité réduite, et en effet le personnel se gare dans cette cour, dont moi même, propriètaire de l'hotel. Nous proposons toutefois à nos clients de rentrer par là le temps de déposer leurs bagages, ce que vous avez pu faire, que nous reprochez vous donc??? est ce notre faute si vous avez beaucoup de bagages dont des bouteilles de vin lourdes?? des chariots sont à votre disposition pour transporter tout cela. Nous aurions même pu vous aider à les transporter si vous nous l'aviez demandé, nous sommes là pour cela aussi.
Le parking "coeur de ville" est un magnifique parking sous la ville juste en face de notre hotel il est trés pratique, trés sécurisé, et nous avons un tarif préférentiel pour les clients du MERCURE, que voulez vous de plus??
Le fait que personne ne vous ai répondu à l'interphone, par contre est un problème que j'assume, nous nous en sommes aperçu et notre technicien a réparé le mauvais contact qui faisait que la sonnerie en réception ne fonctionnait pas.
Dans les MERCURE, nous n'avons pas d'obligation de remplir les minis bars, par contre une bouteille d'eau est offerte, vous en avez meme eu deux!!!!! c'est plutot bien non??
Notre MERCURE n'a pas de restaurant en effet, il est situé en plein centre ville et vous avez un grand choix de différents restaurant juste aux alentours.
Nous avons une petite carte de "snacking", qui est mise en place surtout pour dépanner les clients, pas pour faire un bon repas.
Croyez bien, chère Madame, que toute mon équipe est trés attachée au bien etre de nos clients, il suffit de lire tous les commentaires postés sur ce site.
Je suis désolée que vous n'ayez pas été pleinement satisfaite de votre séjour chez nous.
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

lovely rooms at this quality hotel. Clean, modern, and very centrally located.
No restaurant, but with plenty nearby, that wasn't a disadvantage. Breakfast is elaborate and fresh.
Very friendly staff at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire sur ce site et sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre sejour dans notre établissement.
Mon équipe et moi même sommes trés sensibles à vos appréciations.
Au plaisir de vous revoir prochainement.
Laurence BEUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel has a typical new “Mercure style” and is in a great location.
Rather featureless but clean and functional.
Not sure that it is worth paying extra for upgrading.
Does a good job for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Google Translation
Notre hotel est en effet moderne, il n'a que 4 ans, mais de là à dire qu'il est sans caractère.......
Tous les clients trouvent que l'on s'y sent bien et qu'il est "zen".
Comme quoi les gouts et les couleurs............
Bien à vous
Laurence BEUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Chartres is a lovely town with stunning buildings. Make sure you visit the town when light show at night is on, just Magic... And be sure to stay in the Mercure Hotel... It is where everything happens, light show on your doorstep, lovely restaurants to choose from, we had a good supper at a restaurant tucked away in the left corner when facing the Cathedral, most enjoyable.. The Mercure's staff are very help full, and friendly, rooms are large and very clean, modern design. I can also recommend the breakfast, lots to choose from, buffet help yourself.. All in all a lovely experience..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Nous sommes tous trés heureux que votre séjour à l'hotel MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE vous ai enchanté. Notre hotel étant situé sur la place centrale, c'est juste parfait pour visiter Chartres et son centre ville. Le spectacle de Chartres en lumières est un spectacle magnifique, gratuit et qui permet de voir les monuments sous un autre jour! C'est vraiment à voir!!!
Merci à vous d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire sur notre établissement.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and fairly good sized for a European hotel room. The hotel was very conveniently located for viewing the cathedral and exploring the town. It is also within easy walking distance to the train station. We were particularly impressed with the professionalism and friendly manner of the front desk staff. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petitesweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanima28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Google Translation
Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour vous ait enchanté.
Toute l'équipe de MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE est attentive au bien etre de ses clients.
En espérant vous revoir bientot parmi nous.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Mercure after a tiny room in Paris. it was excellent with a coffee/tea maker and a safe and adequate space. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and a short walk from the Cathedral.

The main reason to go to Chartres is to see the famous Cathedral. We took the French tour at 10:30 which was a bit long winded and lasted two hours but was worth doing. There is an English tour at noon. it is worth staying the night to go to some of the nice little restaurants and to see the impressive light show on the Cathedral at night (very artistic set of images) and the somewhat less impressive light shows on a number of other buildings. We almost wished we had stayed 2 nights instead of one to arrange the tour up to the towers and walk around a bit more, see the agricultural museum etc. The excellent room and facilities of the Mercure were a major aspect of our pleasant stay. The excellent breakfast was worth the 15 Euros charged if you plan to eat a lot. Otherwise there are outside options. The staff let us stay 2 hours past the noon checkout time with no extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanima28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Google Translation
Nous sommes trés heureux que votre séjour sur Chartres vous ait plu.
Il est vrai que le spectacle de Chartres en lumières est magnifique, il a lieu tous les soirs du 12.04.au 12.10.2014. Lorsque notre activité le permet, nous sommes pouvons en effet accepter un chek out un peu plus tardif, pour etre agréable à nos clients.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 27 in Chartres
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing