We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Grand Monarque
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“welcoming”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived in Chartres in the evening with no booking on a bank holiday we did not know about. We found this hotel but were told the only room available was a suite but they would include breakfast. The receptionist walked quite a distance down a side street to check we were parked legally and helped with luggage. We were booked in quickly and asked if we would like to eat in the Michelin starred restaurant or the brasserie. We chose the brasserie as we thought we could not do justice to a heavier meal. The food was good and well served and although it was later a table relaid. Our suite was large and comfortable very clean with everything we needed. There was a comfortable bar and the building grand enough to reflect its name. Breakfast was good and once again reception pleasant, friendly and efficient when checking out. The hotel was in the centre of a beautiful city and well worth recommending.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thank you so much for you so positive advice about Le Grand Monarque : we are glad that you felt the warm welcome all the staff try to give to each of our guest. We hope to see you back in the hotel soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    383
    66
    31
    7
See reviews for
156
580
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose this room to relax after a 24-hour flight. The welcome was good when we eventually got in. If you are travelling by car with luggage, expect a nightmare to find a place to unload. Right in front there is a busy road with a bus lane. The small road at the side was full of cars. We did the blcok 5 times and then took a chance and parked in a towaway zone. We were told we had been upgraded but it turned out to be exactly the same room we had booked so no nice surprise there!
The hotel is very well placed to explore Chartres on foot. The concierge, Frédéric, was very helpful. All in all the hotel was good but over-priced compared to similar hotels we have stayed at in France. To be asked to pay 15 euros each to use the pool on top of 180 euros for the room is a bit cheeky to say the least, in our opinion.

Room Tip: The room was above the 'roof' of the brasserie restaurant and it was very noisy in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your good opinion about the hotel and we apologize that the valet parking didnt seem to help you as much as he should with your car and luggages. Don't hesitate to ask at the reservation time all the services you will need later. You had a special price for spa : 15€ for our guests instead of 45€. Your room price was also a special offer : for your category, with breakfast included, you could have paid 200 to 236€. We are glad that you had the best price for value for our 4 stars hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had no expectation about this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. I had a small and cozy room under the roof, extremely quiet and with a super clean bathroom.
Convenient location: you can literally walk to the "illuminations" of the cathedral and main buildings (every night from April to October) and it's also walking distance to the main shopping streets.
The breakfast is excellent and with both good quality and variety. Better if you go early, i.e. 7 a.m rather than 9 a.m.
Service is okay but nothing great.

Room Tip: I loved room 116! Small, cozy, all pink with traditional curtains. Super quiet: slept like a baby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelier68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thank you so much for your great quotation of your stay in the Grand Monarque and that you enjoy your location which is obviously ideal for "Chartres en Lumière". We hope you alredy had time for our Carita spa & hairdresser. Hoping to see you back in our hotel, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Chartres is a very sweet town surrounding Cathedrale Notre Dame. The Best Western is a very nice hotel. The accommodations are well appointed and comfortable. There was a huge wine convention going on and the place was buzzing...to say the least. Our room was up and away in the back so we were never bothered by the noise in the lobby. Very thoughtful of the staff to know to put us away from the action as we were not part of it. The hotel bar is terrific. I really loved relaxing there in big comfortable chairs while waiting for our room to be ready. The staff were super busy, but always helpful and ready and willing. Chartres was a lovely stopping point on our way through the Loire Valley. The Cathedrale is large and impressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denpqk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We thank you so much for taking time to share your good opinion about our hotel.We are glad that you notice the attention the staff pay to you and that you enjoy discorvering all the Loire Vally vignerons (that was it !). Dont' hesitate for your next stay to ask for a special visit of the Cathadral or the city : we will be very happy to welcome you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had only two nights stay and would have loved to stay longer. Fantastic restaurant serving a brilliant extensive breakfast in a beautiful setting. Very helpful staff, delightful rooms and amenity. Brilliant location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your good opinion about our hotel. For your next stay you should try our 850m² spa : you will not leave Hpoing to see you again, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hubby and I visited this hotel on our return on the way home from a holiday through France and Spain. We were here last year at about the same time. On that occasion we were hoping to see the Son Et Lumieres but unfortunately the heavens opened so we didn't see it. This time we booked the hotel over the telephone whilst in the car which wasn't a problem. We had a very nice greeting from the reception and were offered assistance with our luggage. There is a tiny lift barely big enough for two people with luggage and we then had a bit of a trot to get to our room which was then along corridors and down two further flights of steps - luckily my husband is strong and fit but this should be borne in mind if you have heavy luggage or problems with stairs. The hotel itself is beautifully presented but as always we failed to get into the brasserie due to it being fully booked. Our hotel was on a side road which we were warned about due to it being a little bit noisy during the day but at night it was absolutely fine. Tea and coffee is on offer in the rooms. The room we stayed in was of a much higher quality and standard generally than a hotel we stayed in whilst in Sarlat on the same journey whilst being the same price with breakfast included. The breakfast was very good with extremely good choices of cereals fruits, cheese, ham and the usual breakfast juices together with eggs, bacon and small sausages. The restaurant area is lovely and very well maintained whilst the walls of the corridors are covered in a very nice fabric.

Room Tip: The spa and pool are extra cost which some people find annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We thank you for sharing your good opinion about our hotel and we apologize you had not been able to have diner at la Cour Brasserie. Dont' hesitate to ask for a table in the same time you call for booking a room. We hope to see you again during one of your trip through Europe. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is perfect, the staff are eager to please. The room was just the right size with charming decor. In many older fine hotels, the rooms are still small, but this one is modern-sized and exactly as described when we booked the hotel. The bed was comfortable and lovely. My husband ordered room service and the food was easily the best we'd had in France this trip. The desk staff told us all about what was going on in town. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Away from the elevator is always a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amietravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are glad that you appreciate your stay in Chartres and at Le Grand Monarque hotel & spa. Our stafff will always be happy to give you the keys of the town and help you to discover Le Perche, Paris or Loir Valley that are so close to Chartres. hoping to see you back soon, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.4 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Monarque

Property: Best Western Grand Monarque
Address: 22 Place des Epars, 28000, Chartres, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque)
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Grand Monarque 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Monarque Hotel situated in an ancient private historical building just where the pedestrian-only streets commence, is the ideal base for visiting the famous cathedral and the historical town centre of Chartres. Once in the entrance hall we discover a comfortable and elegant ambiance : you are in a gastronomical establishment of great renown. 55 rooms and apartments are at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Grand Monarque Hotel Chartres
Best Western Hotel Chartres
Best Western Chartres
Chartres Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing