We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars but for the elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Grand Monarque
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“5 stars but for the elevator”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its tripadvisor rating, as we had 2 days in Chartres as part of a longer trip.

This is a very good "old guard" hotel. The service and personnel were top notch. Parking is not obvious and they helped us with how and where to park, and with bringing bags for the entire family from down the block to the hotel. Further, there was a problem with our booking (almost certainly the travel agent) and they bent over backwards to help us. It could have been stressful and it was resolutely not.

The hotel is perfectly situated. We parked our car in the underground lot (useful but expensive) and walked to everything. We were very happy about this.

But...what about the elevator, you say?
Answer: it's ancient and the noise it creates was astounding. In the elevator, it was akin to being in the engine room of a diesel ferry (yes, I have done that). In our room, it was not so much loud as a minor earthquake. We could see ripples in our water glasses. We probably should have asked to change rooms, but we knew the hotel had a big corporate event on site so it might not be possible.

However, here's the tip: rooms by the elevator shaft (300, 200, and nearby rooms on the 3rd and 2nd floors) are earplug or noise cancellation headphone rooms. We did talk to the front desk and it was clear that they were painfully aware of the situation and said there were plans to replace the elevator. Until then - avoid those rooms!

Thus, with a new elevator, 5 stars, or rather circles.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank swb_muir_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank you so much for your great advice, wich such positive details. We are proud to receive "five stars" advice by such a great contributor !
We are glad that our team did its best to help you with your car, arrival, booking and stay. And actually, we are planning for winter the built of a new elevator which is "historical"...
Your writing and your sense of humor make us very impatient to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    389
    67
    31
    7
See reviews for
158
592
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

According to my Michelin, this was the best hotel in Chartres. About ten minutes' walk from the cathedral, it is situated on a busy thoroughfare but this didn't inconvenience us. It has an old-fashioned slightly dowdy but comfortable atmosphere. However, I would limit my restaurant visit to breakfast; at supper we were told off for our choice of wine and the food was below average for an establishment of this class. Thereafter we ate out in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a comment about your stay at the hotel however you consider the Michelin guide overated us...but you did not have any lunch or diner in the 1 star restaurant ! The restaurant where you had breakfast is not the one which has a star : it is our brasserie La Cour.
I invite you for your next stay to visit both of our restaurants : Le Georges, the 1 star Michelin one and La Cour, which serves, for lunch and diner, a modern brasserie food.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed here quite often and continue to be really happy with the service from reception and porterage staff especially. I am welcomed and looked after very well which is just what I need after a long drive. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. Compared with the Best Western hotel I stayed n in England the night before this was far superior and less expensive !

Both times I stayed recently I wanted black tea in my room and there was none the first time and only one tea bag the second. However, when I asked for more I was instantly given as much of anything as I wanted.

I have one small gripe which is that the dinner menu in the Brasserie does not seem to have changed in years and I find that disappointing. It is quite expensive and what I chose to eat was really not very nice. The next time I stayed there I cancelled my booking and ate out. This will not, however, stop me staying at the Grand Monarque as the rest of the experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrades are very worthwhile as you get real value for money. Some of the other rooms are less spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We thank you so much for your positive advide and your fidelity to Le Grand Monarque. We are very proud to have guests who come years after years.
Don't hesitate to ask for special attentions when you book your room.
However, the menu of La Cour changes every 2 weeks and we have a day course which changes evry day : starter, main course and dessert.
But you can also want to visit Chartres and the cathedral and we invite you to discover Le Bistrot de la Cathédrale, our restaurant with its great terrace just in front of the cathedral.
We hope to welcome you again soon,
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We booked at this hotel for one night. Our room was very nice, quiet and comfortable. In the morning we headed off to rent our car. Much to our dismay the company, indeed all car rental companies in Chartres, are closed on Sundays. Frederic and Laurence made telephone calls to try and resolve the problem as well as call our next destination. This was very time consuming and frustrating but they persevered and made us feel that it was no trouble at all. At times like this great service is a life saver!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are glad that you finally have solution for your car rental and we transmitt to the staff your great thanks. We thank you so much for your positive advice and hope to see you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very good hotel, very clean and lovely atmosphere, valet parking if you book a space and the staff are charming and cannot help you enough, the position is perfect for the sights and restaurants, would have given a five but our room did not have air con only a mobile little unit, it was really hot as it was 32 degrees outside!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoa1Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We apologize about the mobile air conditionning unit : the historical elements of the hotel did not allow us to put biggeHowever, thank you for your positive advice about services, location and quality of your stay. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When you enter Le Grand Monarque lobby it's like being taken 100 years back. Heavy wooden panels, staff in black/white uniforms, a bar with 1880 interior mixed with English leather sofas. Really seldom to find a hotel with such charm and charisma (if you can say this about a hotel!). Placed in absolute center of Chartes, just a 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral which is a must-see.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We thank you so much for your positive advice about you stay in Le Grand Monarque. We are glad that you appreciate the classical french charm of the place and the central location . We will be very pleased to welcome you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The rooms were spacious and well decorated, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Cours restaurant (in a central courtyard) served fine food at reasonable prices. There was a gym and the spa has a great pool with steam rooms and sauna. At night the bar is lively and not too expensive. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souridesvilles, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We thak you so much for your so positive advice and we are glad that you appreciate your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Le Grand Monarque, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
2.3 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Monarque

Property: Best Western Grand Monarque
Address: 22 Place des Epars, 28000, Chartres, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque)
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Grand Monarque 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Monarque Hotel situated in an ancient private historical building just where the pedestrian-only streets commence, is the ideal base for visiting the famous cathedral and the historical town centre of Chartres. Once in the entrance hall we discover a comfortable and elegant ambiance : you are in a gastronomical establishment of great renown. 55 rooms and apartments are at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Grand Monarque Hotel Chartres
Best Western Hotel Chartres
Best Western Chartres
Chartres Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing