We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This small hotel was very close to the train station which suited us perfectly. It was also unexpectedly quiet. The quality and style of the room was very good. We just had a little trouble finding it because the facade is small and narrow. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingridgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    92
    51
    14
    1
See reviews for
32
107
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in a basic double room on our way to the south of France. The car park behind the hotel was handy, and because we arrived before 6pm reception was staffed so no issues checking in as English was spoken. Our room was spotless with lovely shabby chic furniture and a modern clean bathroom with a good shower. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no noise problems from the road or station. The bed was really comfortable with good linen. No hairdryer in the room, nor any tea/coffee making facilities which would have been welcome after driving all day. Breakfast was good - cereal, pastries, yoghurt and fruit all self service. If we were staying more than 1 night we'd probably have wanted a larger room, but the standard double is fine for a stop-over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and has been very nicely done - the next door property is next apparently. Out top floor family suite consisted of a double room, a twin room and large shower room and was airy and light and well equipped. It was very comfortable and quiet considering the location. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and timed it well in terms of parking at the station, paying e4 for the rest of the afternoon with no charges on a Sunday. The breakfast room is small but with lovely touches like decent sized mugs, good coffee and some really good jams. The wifi was a bit dodgy at first but there had apparently been a problem which was then resolved. If I return to Chartres I wouldn't look for anything else and would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Family suite on the top floor is really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athectorshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is directly across from the station, so if you arrive by train it's very convenient. Our room was bigger than average (enough space for morning yoga!) and recently remodeled with modern bathrooms and all expected amenities. The free wi-fi worked great. The staff were friendly and could speak English when needed. Our street facing room (2nd floor, no lift) was a little noisy because of the station and large intersection directly below us. We thought it was a good value.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked a suite which was on the 3rd (top) floor and there was no lift - no issue for us, but worth knowing. The suite was decorated nicely and the beds were comfy. The room was clean and the staff polite, though often the reception wasn't manned but you could ring them if needed. There was free wifi too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzbyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This newly renovated hotel is opposite the train station but noise not a problem.
The small rooms are spotlessly clean. Walking distance to all of Chartres main attractions. Staff very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was good but room very small. No lift. Lovely hot shower. Don't arrive late as reception closes and you need a code to enter the hotel after that. Cant remember if it was 8 or 10 o'clock Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muldmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel worked for our purposes: in the center of town and 4-6 blocks to the cathedral. Finding it was a bit challenging and we had to go around the corner to find a person to check in with. There's a small parking area behind the hotel. The room was small, but adequate. Breakfast was shared with a boys' soccer team (8-10 year olds), so it was a bit loud, but otherwise fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 27 in Chartres
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
2.3 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Poemes de Chartres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Poemes de Chartres

Property: Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Address: 5 Place Pierre Semard, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Poemes de Chartres 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Poèmes de Chartres is open all year round and offers a warm welcome. Opposite the station and just a short walk from the cathedral of Chartres, the hotel is located in the centre of town, close to restaurants and shops. The hotel was completely redecorated in 2012 and the rooms are painted in soft, calming colours. Parking (charge) is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Poemes de Chartres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing