We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & pretty decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming & pretty decor”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is charming and has a nice atmosphere. It is quaintly decorated throughout in French provincial style. The room was clean, of a decent size with a large bed and a newly renovated, modern bathroom with a lovely rain shower and hair drier. The hotel does not have a lift (stairs only) but this did not bother us. Also has good access to free wi-fi.

Breakfast is reasonably priced and includes yoghurt, fruit, breads, cold meats, croissants, coffee/tea and juice.

The locations is good and very close to the railway station and an easy 10 minute walk to the cathedral, pedestrian area with lovely bars, cafés and restaurants.

There is a small amount of outside off-street car parking which the hotel charges a nominal fee to use. It also has security access so that only guests can enter after 10pm.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I was ever to return to beautiful Chartres.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    80
    45
    12
    1
See reviews for
27
93
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We paid €88 (plus €5 for the parking spot for one night) for our one-night stay in mid-May. That price was for a basic double room, and I emailed very early to request a quiet room, as the hotel is close to the train station and a very busy traffic circle. When I went back down to the man at the desk and explained our key opened a room fronting that circle but had requested a room at the back of the hotel, he asked to see my email and then fiddled with his laptop for awhile and moved us into a larger room, with no complaints whatsoever. This new room had a sitting area (couch, desk, bookshelf, & armoire), rustic beams separating that area from the sleeping area, lovely French provincial furniture, a very modern and large bathroom with excellent shower, gel/shampoo, hair dryer, but pretty thin bath towels It was very quiet, too!

Two caveats: there is no elevator. The stairs are steep and long. Also, be prepared to drive around the block several times while your passenger gets the parking garage key (E5) - this was aggravating, but trying to find parking would have strained us even more. Perhaps it was arriving at 5pm, but the traffic was horrendous, truly gridlock around that traffic circle.

Positives: staff, of course out upgraded room, free wifi, cleanliness. We'd have liked an electric kettle and tea/coffee makings. Location is excellent. Be SURE to see the cathedral and 28 other buildings lit up with light and sound. Watch the cathedral at 10pm first. AMAZING SPECTACLE!!

Breakfast was €9, but we did not eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our room was pleasant, the service friendly and good and the location perfect, being a short walk from the station. We arrived in the afternoon from Paris, had tea then waited to see the cathedral light up. It was fabulous. It is a lovely walk down to the river. Walking up will stave off any guilt about what you had for dinner. We caught the train back direct to our holiday apartment in Montparnasse in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looksat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This small hotel was very close to the train station which suited us perfectly. It was also unexpectedly quiet. The quality and style of the room was very good. We just had a little trouble finding it because the facade is small and narrow. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingridgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in a basic double room on our way to the south of France. The car park behind the hotel was handy, and because we arrived before 6pm reception was staffed so no issues checking in as English was spoken. Our room was spotless with lovely shabby chic furniture and a modern clean bathroom with a good shower. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no noise problems from the road or station. The bed was really comfortable with good linen. No hairdryer in the room, nor any tea/coffee making facilities which would have been welcome after driving all day. Breakfast was good - cereal, pastries, yoghurt and fruit all self service. If we were staying more than 1 night we'd probably have wanted a larger room, but the standard double is fine for a stop-over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and has been very nicely done - the next door property is next apparently. Out top floor family suite consisted of a double room, a twin room and large shower room and was airy and light and well equipped. It was very comfortable and quiet considering the location. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and timed it well in terms of parking at the station, paying e4 for the rest of the afternoon with no charges on a Sunday. The breakfast room is small but with lovely touches like decent sized mugs, good coffee and some really good jams. The wifi was a bit dodgy at first but there had apparently been a problem which was then resolved. If I return to Chartres I wouldn't look for anything else and would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Family suite on the top floor is really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athectorshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is directly across from the station, so if you arrive by train it's very convenient. Our room was bigger than average (enough space for morning yoga!) and recently remodeled with modern bathrooms and all expected amenities. The free wi-fi worked great. The staff were friendly and could speak English when needed. Our street facing room (2nd floor, no lift) was a little noisy because of the station and large intersection directly below us. We thought it was a good value.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque
0.3 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.0 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Poemes de Chartres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Poemes de Chartres

Property: Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Address: 5 Place Pierre Semard, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Poemes de Chartres 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Poèmes de Chartres is open all year round and offers a warm welcome. Opposite the station and just a short walk from the cathedral of Chartres, the hotel is located in the centre of town, close to restaurants and shops. The hotel was completely redecorated in 2012 and the rooms are painted in soft, calming colours. Parking (charge) is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Poemes de Chartres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing