We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Chartres Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Boeuf Couronne
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect Chartres Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

First of all, I could not find this hotel listed on TripAdvisor because its name is spelled incorrectly here: it should be Hotel le Boeuf Couronne...not du Boeuf Couronne.

I found this little gem though Rick Steves' France book. I expected it to be a vintagey French-style hotel, but our charming room was very contemporary with an entirely slick, new modern bathroom. It was all very tiny, of course, but nice and new and clean. "Petit dejeuner" was an additional reasonable charge each morning. Without exception, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and I was impressed that we were not required to make a deposit for our reservation although it was made months in advance from the US. The room rate was very reasonable, as well. We'd stay here again if we return to Chartres.

The only hitch was figuring out where to park when we arrived as the street is marked as one way in both directions. After registration we were directed to an underground parking garage nearby. The hotel entrance area is undergoing renovations but it was not inconvenient.

The hotel's location is perfect. We were in Chartres for the cathedral and voila! We could see it across the street from the hotel, just a short walk away. Nearby were several good restaurants and the TI. We attended Sunday morning's Gregorian Mass and climbed the cathedral tower for a dizzy view of the city, and also enjoyed the evening light show on the cathedral, the stained glass museum, and the walking tour of old Chartres.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    55
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
13
64
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel, and we have found it an extremely convenient stop. It is in easy walking distance from the cathédrale car park, where we parked overnight. We walked up to the cathedral where we were able to enjoy "live" music in the outside bars.

We ate back at our hotel, and enjoyed a first class Menu du Jour - at a very reasonable price.

Since our last visit, it has been redecorated and upgraded. We shall return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Boeuf Couronne is centrally located in Chartres and is quite close (200m?) to Chartres Cathedral. The rooms, especially the ensuite bathrooms, have been significantly upgraded since my first stay at this hotel in 2008. The rooms themselves are simply furnished but clean and spacious in comparison with most hotels in Paris. I stayed as part of a group, and we enjoyed a good continental breakfast buffet, and a good dinner in the dining room. One of our group had to see a doctor and arrived for dinner just as the rest of us were being served dessert. The kitchen staff quickly produced a complete dinner for her.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street were not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We were staying in Paris and planned our trip to Chartres as a day trip. Once we arrived we were so entranced by Chartres that we decided to stay overnight sans luggage. Du Boeuf Coronne was adequate and the woman at the front desk very pleasant and accommodating A trip to the local everything store for toothbrushes and we were all set. I would recommend asking for a room at the rear of the hotel. Dickens bar is next door and it seemed that a rather boisterous crowd was outside smoking, talking and drinking rather late. As there is no AC and no fans you'll want to be able to open a window in warmer months.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luludibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We were recommended/booked into this hotel by the tourism center near the cathedral. The location was very easy to find, and convenient to the cathedral and shopping. The hallways, stairs, carpets were quite shabby and run down appearing, but the room itself was nice enough, with two good windows, TV, adequate lighting. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with new fixtures, and nice soaps/bath products. Breakfast was very nice -- the coffee was very good, and there was a large buffet with baguette, croissant, jams, butter, youghurts, fresh fruit, and two kinds of juice. All in all, we thought it was a good value, and would stay there again. Staff was pleasant, enough, but did not speak much English.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartres
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Arrived in Chartres to break journey to Calais and found there was a Fete de Luminieres on so hotels fully booked. The Office de Tourisme found us a twin room in this hotel as we stated we really did not want to go to an outlying hotel. Our double room was at the back and was Euro 72 for the night. The stairs and corridors were very shabby but clean and at odds with what seemed our newly decorated room with newish ensuite. Also all doors have new locks so I wonder if in the process of being done up. The service was friendly and efficient and for a short stay I would have no problem returning. No tea/coffee facilities but coffee available at small bar behind reception/by restaurant. menus looked good but we did not eat there as only wanted a light meal. No hotel parking but plenty in Place de Cathedrale underground car park. Costs Euro3.30 from 19.00 - 07.00 next day. This was not sufficient so we parked from 19.00 to 12.00 next day which cost Euro 14.90 and seemed very safe as car park locked at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auvergne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed for one night in a twin-bedded room overlooking the square. The room was adequate, tiny shower room. Noisy from traffic outside at night as well as the striking of the cathedral clock every half hour! We thought the price was high, considering that it was not very comfortable and not very clean. Staff were so-so.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornadoone63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chartres hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.3 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Boeuf Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Boeuf Couronne

Property: Hotel du Boeuf Couronne
Address: 13 Place Chatelet, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Boeuf Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Boeuf Couronné" is a traditonal downtown hotel located since 1954 in the heart of the city of Chartres. The hotel is affiliated to the Logis de France's chain and features 17 rooms all decorated differently. "L'Amphitryon", the restaurant is proposing a traditional french Cuisine served also on the summer terrace with a view on the flamboyant Cathedral of Chartres. Family dinners, business meetings and groups are welcomed with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Boeuf Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Boeuf Couronne Hotel Chartres
Du Boeuf Couronne Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing