We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Boeuf Couronne
Nearby Hotels
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale(Chartres)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
L'Hotel(Chartres)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kyriad Chartres(Chartres)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
34
65
39
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
65
39
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall liftcroissantscomfortable bedsold townfrench hotelstaff were helpfulfirst floorone night staytrain stationshort walkcity centrechartres cathedralnoiseplusesparkingstuffybath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel. Location excellent - right in the centre of town and close to the Cathedral & pedestrian only shopping streets.

Comfortable room at the back of the hotel - quiet and away from the road noise at the front.
Good beds, slightly small shower - but perfectly acceptable. Extra blankets, hypoallergenic pillows. Had to drop off bags at the side of the hotel and temporarily park in the parking area used by coach tours in the day time. Hotel parking at 7 euros seemed good to me - 100 yards from the hotel, a reserved and numbered space, covered and locked up at night.

Excellent meal - in th "Logis de France" tradition. We went for the 25 Euro 3 course menu. Good inexpensive wines. Good service.

Nice bar area - for pre dinner drinks and breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was simple continental - just bread or croissants + coffee or a variety of specialist teas, juices. yoghurts. No cereals or hot food. But OK for the price of 8 euros 60cents.

Chartres was really good as a stopover 3 hours from Normandy cross channel ferry ports and then by passing Paris on the way south.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

After a long drive of just under 900km's, we were very tired upon reaching the hotel, and were looking forward to a rest before dinner. This we had in our lovely room, on an extremely comfortable bed! Later after showering in the immaculate bathroom, we enjoyed a drink in the hotel's modern and inviting bar, before sitting down in the dining room to enjoy a really first class meal (which I will review in the restaurant reviews). The staff from arrival to departure the following morning, were exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient. I cannot stress enough what a pleasant stay this was, a top hotel in an interesting city. We definitely plan to come back and stay for longer in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The 2 best things about this hotel is its location and its ambience. It also has a cosy bar/lounge area and an auberge next door. We were only there for one night and I wish we'd been able to stay longer as I hadn't realised how charming Chartres was. I'd also like to have eaten at the auberge (often great places to eat regional food in France) and reviews here indicate it's good.

The hotel is very close to the Cathedral and in a great neighbourhood for wandering in the old part of the town - cobbled streets, no traffic and plenty of places to eat, drink and look at. We arrived very late and the staff were helpful with leaving keys out. Thankfully the bar was still open and we were able to quaff a glass of wine after a mind numbing drive from Paris!

Our room was very small, not really a problem if you're only there for a couple of nights. And this seems to be the standard for 2 & 3 star hotels in France. It was nicely decorated with quite a large window which made it light and airy.

The breakfast, included in the cost, had ample choices for a standard continental breakfast: yoghurts, fruit, pastries, juice coffee and tea. I appreciated its inclusion in the overall price of the room as not many hotels include breakfast anymore, a disappointing trend of travel in France. I think this was the only hotel of about 5 we stayed in where breakfast was part of the room price. Thank you Bouef Couronne!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you want something in the centre of Chartres, where you can eat and see the Cathedral across the square, then this is it. We stayed just one night on our way south through France. The secure parking nearby is good - stop behind the hotel and nip in to get the directions and code. The welcome was friendly and the staff were all great - English was not really a problem. As others have mentioned the lift is tiny, but does what it is supposed to. We had room 18 which is small, but clean and tidy. The shower, had we have been less agile, might have been difficult to access, but was fine for us. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good; the staff helpfully guided us through what was on offer. If we came to Chartres again, we would stay here again for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandSueNewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed overnight in Chartres (to visit the amazing cathedral) and spent a comfortable night at Hotel du Boeuf Couronne. We had a double and though the room was on the smallish side, it had big swing out windows and another small window in the bathroom. All made it more airy. There was a bit of noise from tour buses idling outside the window but we were on the 3rd floor so not as loud for us as for our friends on the 2nd floor. Overall a good deal and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the cross street if you care about noise. If you'd rather have more air go for the corner.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VannaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews