We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of La Roseraie

La Roseraie
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Chenonceaux
Price range: US$37 - US$148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at La Roserie as well as dined at their restaurant - you can easily reserve a table by email beforehand. The food and service were great. They didn't open up the terrace the night we went but we had a window seat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    66
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pity about the service”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Food very good quality but on the night we were there the service wasn't brilliant. Seemed understaffed. Wine list a bit on the expensive side to say this is a wine region. Would have expected a wider price range.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We decided to eat here after looking at the menu which seemed reasonable. We have never had such a bad meal in France! I had some lamb which came with a mint jelly the colour of which I have never witnessed before. It was a luminous, radioactive green. I ventured a tiny taste and it was like a really strong minty chewing gum. My husband's came with what was supposed to be a savoury clafoutis. I think we could have bounced these several times before they collapsed. The wine was over-priced and the whole meal cost a lot more than you would normally pay for an average meal in France. As the waitress cleared away we pointed out that it did not taste very nice... she did not display any signs of surprise or apology.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leena60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not go there unless you want a chewy and hard ribeye steak, terrible service and eating in an overheated room.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We wish we had read all the comments before going there for a meal. The service was rushed and was impersonal, waiter and waitress were just not interested other than "getting the process done" as previously commented by someone else. The ribeye beef was the worst quality we have had. It looked nicely cooked but it was extremely tough to chew. we told the waiter when he came to collect the plates (as we couldn't get his attention), he shrugged his shoulders and said sorry. The creme brûlée was nothing to shout about. We asked if tea or coffee was included when both waiters said says without listening to the question properly, we were then charged €4.50 each for hot water and a Lipton tea bag which is day light robbery! The room was hot and not ventilated. Needless to say we left extremely unhappy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This review is an odd one as there is a review the same week and reacting to the same menu (Steak) that was not so good. My wife got the fixed menu and I ordered a wonderful salad and the steak (and added the Bernaise sauce). we found the wait staff helpful, the wine reasonable, and the steak excellent. It is across the street from a pricier place and this was a welcome change which we would gladly visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Roseraie also viewed

Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing