We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite place in the Loire”

Chateau de Chenonceau
Book In Advance
More Info
US$195.76*
and up
Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting...
More Info
US$191.02*
and up
Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris including Chambord, Cheverny and...
More Info
US$414.07*
and up
Small-Group Tour from Paris to Loire Valley by TGV with Lunch at a Family...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful country villa surrounded by a moat and inspired by the Italian Renaissance.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
890 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A favorite place in the Loire”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have been to Chenonceau many times over the past 30 years. It is such a beautiful setting. Walking down the dirt road toward the chateau and river is delightful. They also have a nice simple cafe. Although there is a very nice restaurant located across the street from the entrance to the chateau. The best time to visit (in my opinion) is fall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,501
    1,139
    158
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've always wanted to see this chateau and I was not disappointed. We were there for most of the day. It's beautiful from every angle, and there is a nice story to it as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful chateau with lots to see, we just used the leaflet that you get when you pay and it had plenty of information in it on every room of the chateau. The gardens are also lovely with some amazing views of the chateau and the river. There's a huge car park that is free which is also very handy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank callitalullaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Very beautiful chateau”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Amboise about 13 km away. We wanted to hire bikes while we were in the Loire valley. We decided to hire them and cycle to Chenonceau.
You are on the road cycling to Chenonceau but these roads are generally quiet. There were a few hills too but I found it to be an enjoyable cycle.
It took us just over an hour to get from Amboise to Chenonceau. You can't bring the bikes into the main park so we left them at the main gate.
There is a lovely tree lined avenue leading up to the chateau. When you come out in front of the chateau, there is a cafe to the right with seats inside and out. We stopped here before going to visit the chateau. The cafe does hot dishes as well as quiches and salads, which is what we had. The cafe is not well laid out and is confusing for visitors. They should look at fixing this. The quiche and salads were delicious.
The chateau is stunning.its rightly famous because of it's setting, straddling the river in the beautiful grounds.
Inside it's very grand and beautiful. The rooms are lovely. One thing I noticed was the gorgeous huge flower arrangements in many of the rooms. These were a great touch and really added to the experience.
Chenonceau is a must visit chateau to my mind. It's truly stunning and really worth a visit- on a bike if you like!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Dreamy,beauty!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Without a doubt Chateau de Chenonceau is one of the most stunning pieces of architecture in the world,and must be visited at least once in a lifetime. The gardens,the galleries,and ultimately the chateau itself are picture perfect and will leave you feeling very emotional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Chenonceau also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Chenonceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing