We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not fault this place”
Review of Hotel la Roseraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could not fault this place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The rooms were large and comfortable and had everything we needed and had a bit of rustic charm thrown in for good measure. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Dinner was amazing quality and the wine selection was good. The only downside is the cost of eating and drinking here as it is a bit steep but definitely worth it for a special occasion.

This hotel is dog friendly and have rooms available on the ground floor.

Try the night walk at Chateau de Chenonceaux - it is truly amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    155
    76
    17
    10
See reviews for
145
336
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with my daughter. Thought we might have dinner till we saw the prices and the amount of discarded fat cut off other diners' meals. The room was decorated with a unique pinky-red matching wallpaper-bed linen combo that looked dreadful (but that's just personal taste, isn't it?). We were in an upstairs 'courtyard' of four rooms with a table and chairs set out presumably to encourage the guests to smoke outside each others' rooms and this certainly made this area a bit too noisy for comfort. It wasn't a bad hotel but it was hardly charming and again the lack of wifi (offered but not working) is unforgivable in this day and age. The over-complicated room lock baffled me. The receptionist in the evening could have done with a little more charm but the lady at checkout was very friendly. Shan't be returning soon, though. Sixth best of the eight hotels we stayed in on our holiday.

Room Tip: A room in the main building and not the annexe would probably be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill1312Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Sabine, Thierry and their staff are all warm and friendly and helped to make our stay feel special. The garden was very pretty and ideal for relaxing after visiting the local towns and Chateaux. The chateau at Chenonceau sited across the river is charming especially with the floodlights in the evening and we spent a couple of days in Amboise. The hotel has a lot of character and despite its age everything was kept spotless. With pretty features in our rooms, the charming garden and the helpful staff, we definitely hope to go back to the hotel. We ate in the hotel most nights and the menu had sufficient choice for good variety during our week there: the fish dishes, in particular, were excellent and the waiting staff attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Probably the best hotel in Chenonceaux, rooms are nice although without WiFi scarcely usable in the reception. The restaurant can be much improved as far as the menus and mainly the service is concerned. Very little flexibility and a handling of customers as if the were unwelcomed guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I reserved our stay here 6 months before the trip and had forgot why I chose it. Greatly surprised by the charming comfort of the accommodation, the quiet garden, the excellent patio dinner, the roomy bedroom and bathroom. Best of all it was a brief stroll to the Chateau de Chenonceau where we had a romantic night promenade complete with music and lighting (don't miss it!). Small villiage, some choice in dining but Amboise is close by and worth going out to for the evening. It advertises free wifi but it is only in the hall-like lobby and did not work well, or really at all for me, but heck, who needs it on a romantic getaway?

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room over the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We ended up having car problems in Paris and it took us 6 hours to get on the road. We contacted the Hotel because we were not going to make it in by the 6 - 9 o'clock check in. It was a miserable experience for us and when I called the hotel (after getting a wifi connection at McDonalds) the language barrier was to difficult to communicate the problem. We did finally make it at 11pm but the doors were locked and we had no way to contact the owner. Unfortunately we had to find somewhere else to stay and the area is quite small. Of course we were charged for the room which I would expect. I was mostly disappointed not to be able to stay because it looked like a nice place in a quaint town. The reason I am posting is to alert people that that many of these B&Bs have a small window to check in and if there is a problem you won't have the benefits of a staff that is available at most hours. Personally I will book a B&B over a regular hotel. A local Ibis was kind enough to call around and secure the last room at the Novitel in Amboise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank AltaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks Nest, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel la Roseraie was the second hotel we stayed at during a week long walking tour of the region. The first hotel had been pretty terrible, so we expected the worst. What a pleasant surprise it was to step into this one. It's street façade doesn't give away how nice it is inside. The staff were friendly and our first floor room was spacious and light, with a sitting room adjoining the bedroom and bathroom. The furnishings and décor were pretty and its windows overlooked the attractive terrace. It was hot when we stayed, so we were delighted to learn that there was a pool, which we made use of.

As we were there on a Tuesday, the hotel restaurant was closed and we were directed to the restaurant opposite. There, the atmosphere was good but the meal wasn't great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 95097779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais Chenonceaux
Le Relais Chenonceaux
#3 of 5 in Chenonceaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
#4 of 5 in Chenonceaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Roseraie

Property: Hotel la Roseraie
Address: 7 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Roseraie 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roseraie, this authentic 18th century hotel, located a few minutes from Chenonceau Castle. To assure you a most restful stay our rooms are individually decorated to provide the perfect mix of traditional country charm and contemporary comfort. Air conditioning, non-smoking, swimming pool (season), garden, terrace and privat car parking. Sabine and Thierry will be very pleased to welcome you and assist you to discover the Loire Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roseraie Hotel
La Roseraie Chenonceaux
Hotel La Roseraie Chenonceaux, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing