We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a very easy hotel to recommend if you are visiting Chateau Chenonceaux. It is situated in the tiny village with many good restaurants nearby. The rooms are beautifully renovated and appointed to a high quality. The beds are very comfortable and the ambience very country. The rooms are large and very clean. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    156
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
169
462
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in 2011 and our 2013 visit was just as good. Email communication before our arrival was good, and we had two beautiful ground floor rooms, as I'd requested. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant (once is not enough). Staff is welcoming and professional, and the ambience is very comfortable. And the location near the Chateau of Chenonceau can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City,MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I adore Auberge du Bon Laboureur and the the village of Chenonceaux.
We had a fantastic dinner in their restaurant,walked back to our lovely ground floor suite with it's very private little terrace .We sipped champagne on this charming and very french private terrace before our dinner. In the morning a delicious breakfast tray was delivered to our room by a very lovely women and we enjoyed it in the separate lounge . Just perfection. The bath was not as great as I anticipated and the bathroom lacked good lighting.

My husband and I feel head over heels for the Loire Valley and Chenonceaux. We drove here in our rental car ,about 3 hrs.from our rental home in le perche in Normandy.We will return as we travel whenever we can and enjoy exploring France. This is on our"must return" and favorites while in France. Can't wait to return and stay for @ least three to four days.WE here in late October and the weather was sheer perfection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torridtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is not the most luxurious of 4* places, decoration does not appear to be the owners' #1 obsession, and I am not sure the restaurant deserves its Michelin rating, but we really enjoyed the charm, the atmosphere and the general impression of being in a house where time runs smoothly.
The rooms are spread throughout multiple buildings, and you may need to cross a courtyard or even a street to reach yours from reception. Our suite was spacious, clean, well furnished, and very quiet. The layout of bathrooms could have been optimized, but cleanliness and amenities were fine. On the downside, access to the room was through a very narrow staircase, which could have been unsuitable for old people or very young children.
Breakfast came as a buffet with a reasonably large choice of ingredients, and would have been perfect with a little more effort on presentation and some products' quality (eg fruit juices, that came in their plastic bottle straight from a supermarket).
For dinner, the restaurant offered several fixed-price menus or "a la carte", all based on the same short-selection of dishes, which remained unchanged during our stay. We found the simplest recipes to be quite good, whereas those involving more complex mixes of flavors or seasonings were less accurately executed. The wine list was good and reasonably priced.
The best point was the staff's very welcoming behavior, from the receptionist who greeted us on arrival, and then gave us very personalized tips about points of interest in the region, to the flexibility shown in anticipating our desires for the children's meals.
Note that the hotel's location in the Loire Valley is convenient, and that it has a closed car park.
All in all, we enjoyed this stay and recommend the place to all travelers looking for a simple but comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanzot-Pignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

After 6 nights at Waldorf Trianon Palace in Versaille the Good Labourer was a great improvement in all aspects, food, comfort and staff, they were oustanding in everyway. The room was decorated to make you fell at home it was very clever. Great for our four nights. We ate 3 of the 4 nights there as there was no better option. The waiters were great guiding me to some wonderful wine selections at a reasonable price. Value, Value Value.
A great French experience in a wonderful area full of life. The only hotel I have ever stayed where they made the bed while you were at breakfast.
My first choice for 2013 (47 nights in hotels).
I hope they remember us as our memory will always be strong.

Room Tip: Choose teh 1 beadroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thelongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This lovely small hotel in a restored 17th century coach house was an absolute delight. The room was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was spacious and with high quality bath products supplied. The reception area includes a delightful sitting room. I would have liked to sit there for a whole day because of the ambience and interesting reading material. There was good parking on the property.The staff were very helpful. The dinner was absolutely superb. Just what I dreamed good French food would be like. Vive la France!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

In Oct. 2011, my wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time. We were glad to return again this Oct. for an overnight bed-dinner-breakfast on our way South from CDG Airport. The journey takes about 3 hours ------ manageable even after a transatlantic flight. In my 2011 report, I praised its old world charm and its modern conveniences as well as the attractive packages it has on offer. I also described the comforts of our room. The one we had on this occasion was even better, being on the ground floor instead of up a flight of steps, and it was distinctly larger with an entry corridor, a separate bathroom and WC, and a cosy area that was almost a study. The breakfast, as on the earlier occasion, was remarkable and easily our best in France once again.The 1-star Michelin restaurant lived up to its reputation, although we preferred our previous meal. However, whereas the previous dinner was priced at 48 euros, this was only one euro more: remarkable in an era during which prices elsewhere in the French restaurant industry have risen at least 10%.
The amuse bouche was not a huge success, but the rest was flawless, with a choice of two for each course. We deliberately differed so that we could taste the lot: STARTERS: 1. Terrine of ox-tail and veal, with lentil salad and a bowl of consomme with vermicelli ( almost a meal in itself). 2. Mushroom cream soup with dried fruit salad and dried beef ( again, really a soup and starter combined). MAINS: 1. Shoulder of veal confite with seasonal vegetables ( a gloriously generous collection). 2. Large shrimp with pureed potatoes and emulsion of wild mushrooms.
DESSERTS: 1. Dacquoise praline with nut-chocolate ice cream. 2. Gratine of pineapple, pomelos and orange, with sorbet. As long as we are able to drive in France, this will continue to be one of our most favoured destinations

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
6.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
16.9 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
6.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
18.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Property: Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Address: 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing