We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment!!! Unprofessional staff !!!”
Review of Hostel du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel du Roy
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Central Argentina, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment!!! Unprofessional staff !!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were expecting a simple hotel , but it actually was a lot sadder than in the photos . It was around the corner from Chenonceau which was great but there are much nicer hotels for almost the same price in the same area . We booked to stay for 4 nights and we were driving from Normandy and due to some personal issues couldn't arrive before 10pm , we phoned the hotel saying that we will be late but we are coming , we got a flat NO, that it's not their problem they will close at 10pm and we can only get in the next day.So we were forced to pay the night in the other place . We didn't like the place on arrival and wanted to leave the next day ( the booking.com arrangement was cancellation price for one night , which was already paid for the first night ). The woman told us to cancel the booking and wait until the morning to see if she can give us back the money for the other 2 nights that we didn't want to stay ) we spoke to booking.com that night and they told us that legally they can charge us only one night and not the whole stay and anyway the arrangement was to pay in cash at the end of the stay. In the morning she gave as a receipt charged for the whole stay dating before we even appeared at the hotel saying that it was the policy of the hotel. When we tried to explain to her that actually it's not according to booking.com with whom we made our reservation she turned hysterical and said that she's not going to talk to us and left. We heard her laughing and talking bad about us with the other staff in French !!! At the end the booking.com made her return our money but the experience was a negative one.The main problem was that she charged us before we even arrived for the whole stay and when we went to cancel she acted like no money has been charged yet and we can sort it out in the morning we were ment to pay in cash ( for the 2 days , not all 4).So she lied to us knowing the money was charged in advance for all 4 nights (which wasn't the rules on booking ) and was hoping to get away with that !!! Very sneaky and totally unprofessional !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarioandKsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    33
    35
    36
    36
See reviews for
45
66
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

what can you say about the Hostel du Roy? very pretty from the outside, you park around the back of the Hostel and walk along the high street for about fifty yards with your cases.after booking in with the surly "Madame" on the reception,we then discovered we were staying in the annexe whose decoration can only be described as shabby rather than chic, rather than the hostel itself, however the bed was comfortable and the linen spotless The shower didnt really work the hose was split, no shower curtain meant the water was all over the floor and the supposed tea and coffee making facilities were a kettle with a broken lid,and two expresso cups, teabags were 60c each!!,we couldnt get onto the wireless internet either,the walls are paper thin you can hear everything going on. Glad we only stayed one night!!! in our opinion overpriced plus you have no option but to eat in the expensive restaurants in the hamlet of chenonceaux.Better to stay in nearby Amboise only 15 mins from the Chateau.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Contrary to previous reviews we found the staff here to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was perfectly comfortable although the bathroom was not quite perfect and a little more attention would be advisable. The restaurant was very pleasant and nicely decorated and although the dinner was not cordon bleu it was perfectly adequate. The hotel is very conveniently located, very close to the station and to the chateau. It has ample parking, dogs are very welcome and there is a large safe area for dogs to exercise.
The review by "Marianne C" is disgusting. Perhaps she would do better in another occupation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

As a French tour-guide this is my duty to tell in the language most people would understand that the food served to the groups of tourists I take there (always booked by an agency abroad) is s*** . It makes me so ashamed of my own country! The place is awful, the staff is dull and impolite. The owners are only there to make money: last time I went there the bread was not fresh and limited by 1 piece per dish, the soup was a mix of left-overs from god knows when, the potatoes still frozen when served and the chicken tasted funny (at least the tiny bits I was given). The piece of cake was small but tasted OK. At the end of the meal the staff was surprised that we finished so quickly. No wonder.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chenonceaux hotels

Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were booked here by our tour organisers and we were a bit dissapointed that the rooms were basic and tiny. It was clean and the staff were the hotel's redemption - they were charming pleasant and helpful. The charges are modest so you get what you pay for. The food was fine - good quality simple fayre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterSolsticeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent 2 nights here and found nothing to complain about. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and good location. The food in the restaurant is OK - nothing to write home about but reasonable. If you want better fair there are other places in the village to choose from. All in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

maybe it was the time of year, mid february but this hotel was a big big disappointment. mostly it was food/restaurant related but this impacted so much on the whole place that i could not recommend it despite the fact that the room was reasonably comfortable and clean and the price was fairly cheap. [i assume that in the height of the season it would not be quite so inexpensive].
food was diabolical and came with tinned vegetables - yes! potatoes and green beans from a tin and my husband ordered the gambas - inedible at any price. following this we thought we would have a coffee and retire. this too was a mistake the double espresso appeared to be 2 spoonfuls of instant coffee! trade descriptions should pay them a visit.
a continental breakfast, you would assume cannot be difficult. Well the coffee [instant from the night before] was in an urn and tasted burnt, the orange juice, if that was what it was, was highly watered down and the bread meagre. we had to leave and find breakfast elsewhere.
we did try to complain but the only member of staff was a young lad who could not locate anyone else for us to complain to.
stay away from this hotel - there were plenty of others in town.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Relais Chenonceaux
Le Relais Chenonceaux
#3 of 5 in Chenonceaux
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
#4 of 5 in Chenonceaux
63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel du Roy

Property: Hostel du Roy
Address: 9 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel du Roy 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, center on the Chenonceaux Town. French & local restaurant private parking : free pet : free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Du Roy Chenonceaux, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing