We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Annees 30

Les Annees 30
Reserve with
Les Annees 30 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

They kept our table for one hour. We arrived late as we had a very busy day driving around the Loire Valley. Anyway, they welcomed us very warmly which was a relief after feeling bad for being that late. The food was extremely well prepared and presented, very nice flavours, one of the best meats we had in France, perfect timing and reasonably priced (actually the second cheapest Michelin star we've had after the dim sum restaurant in Hong Kong)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    147
    27
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
249 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Magnificent food in Old Chinon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We ate here both nights that we stayed in Chinon. The first night, we enjoyed the menu, with foie gras, beef, cheese, the best chocolate mousse EVER and a bottle of Chinon red wine. On Sunday, we were welcomed back, and tried the fish. My wife had the maigre and I tried thr St. Pierre. Both were magnificent, as was the bottle of Cremant de Loire sparking wine. Karine Charles welcomes you, and her husband is in the kitchen making wonderful food. I try to find the best restaurants wherever I go, and this was among the best ever. For the prce, about 100 euros for two, it is an amazing value. You would pay twice or more for inferior food in Paris or NYC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't Fault this Amazing Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booking is a must and well worth the effort! The staff are very welcoming and helpful plus the food is absolute top quality. The restaurant is a little 2 level house and the dining rooms are warm and cosy. We tried the rabbit terrine with grapefruit mouse and ginger sorbet which seems unusual but the flavours were sensational. For main, the duck with cherry reduction and poached pear was to die for! We also tried the ris de veau which was very tasty. For dessert, both the chocolate 3 ways and the lemon tart were orgasmic!

Needless to say, if we lived in Chinon this would be our local!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our best meal in two weeks of Michelin France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Enchante! Elegant. Well presented tables eclipsed by the food. Some minor glitches - the fish quenelles had a few ice crystals in them- beautiful special warm room- romantic fireplace - as close to a Michelin star as you can get - go before the prices skyrocket and the English take over.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank musashiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A 3 Michelin forks restaurant, set in an old house, enchanting and cosy ambience, fast service, beautifully presented food.

Good quality ingredients, nice food however some combinations were too overwhelming to my taste and did not go well together, but that is pure personal taste. The starter of rabbit consisted of several components including a very powerful flavoured “mustard ice cream” and “grapefruit froth” which I disliked tremendously. The duck mains was nice and the combination of flavours worked better for our palates. The dessert, Mille Feuille, was divine.

We had much nicer meals in France (and the UK too), so this was not mind blowing, it was interesting, and all in all we enjoyed it being different and it was a generally a nice dining experience.

Not too pricy (several menu prices choices), not cheap either.

Many of the restaurants in Chinon are apparently shut Sundays and Mondays, however this one was open.

Last point: I would have expected the owners to put just a little bit of effort, given the amount of tourism from UK, into having a proper menu translated into English. We REALLY struggled with the menu (I speak French but this was too "arty farty") and eventually, after 20 minutes of frustration, I asked if there is an English menu (which they had not offered us from the start). They had one, but it did not include all the menu options and it was in "Friglish"; at least gave us a bit more of idea about the dishes and what to chose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Annees 30 also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Les Annees 30? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing