We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe come Brasserie in centre of Chinon”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Ranked #25 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe come Brasserie in centre of Chinon”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We ate here for lunch having arrived slightly late but unlike some places in France there was no problem ordering food. We both had their "gourmet salads" which were very well prepared, interesting and actually quite substantial.

The environment is very pleasant with a cafe/bar area and a slightly more formal dining area.

All in all a nice place to stop for lunch an/or a coffee or glass of something.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    132
    67
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay lunch”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We ordered the lunch formule. 14.5 euros for 3 courses, all decent. Portions were generous for France. Wine was a little expensive.

The location is good, near the stairs to the fortress and overlooking the fountain in the main square.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming cafe central Chinon”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is a great little cafe set downtown Chinon in Place Général de Gaulle, next to the courthouse. It is ideally situated if you want to take the stairs and or elevator down from the Chinon castle to have a great lunch in the square. Service was fast and friendly. Kids were able to be entertained and we enjoyed a wonderful relaxing lunch. Nothing special about the menu, very typical French cafe, however, it was presented well and consistently good, so If you are in the area to see the castle take the extra time to try this cafe.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dansksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice interior”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We ate here in 2010. Very nice staff, we were a large group and all had one menu but main course turned out to be something I was allergic to. Staff never hesitated to give me something else.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great setting, good food!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My family and I ate here in mid-October of 2012 and had a great lunch. The weather had just turned a little chilly, but it was still nice enough to sit out in the square. It's a great place to people-watch and hang out for an extended period of time. The food was good, and the service was about the norm for France. As for food, they have quite an assortment of salads, meat dishes and of course - the usual preset menu. We had one vegetarian in the group (me), and finding food was not a problem. I highly recommend this place for hanging out and having a coffee or beer and spending a lazy afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing