We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and friendly welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Municipal de l'Ile Auger
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had not pre-booked this site before arriving but had a lovely welcome with a very relaxed attitude which is what you want on a touring holiday. We were able to pick our pitch, get set up and chill with no pressures. Site located within 5-10 minute walk to main centre which is full of various localised shops, cafés and pretty buildings. We found there were plenty of facilities on the site and excellent for a municipal site. Would definitely recommend to anyone heading this way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Camping Municipal de l'Ile Auger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times over the last years, we decided to stop en route north this year as it has always been so nice. This time the campsite feels tired, the facilities are not as clean as they were and the welcome not as friendly! We enjoyed watching the campsite evolve the bureau moving, the reception also being home to the manager and his family and new showers etc being put in place over the years. Sadly the upward trend appears to have reversed. Tried to register and pay and was turned away three times as there are more important things to be done. We won't be returning :(

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank snic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have been visiting this site now for more than 25 years and can't get enough of it. The campsite, whilst only a municipal site is excellent, nice and clean and very friendly. We use this site as a stopover for a couple of nights on our journey through France in the summer, and most years go back in early September and stay there for another week or 10 days. Chinon is a beautiful town, lively and with loads of character, beautiful chateau and steeped in history. Good base for travelling round the area. Looking forward to this years visits, the first one is 10 days in May - can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret195002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I loved the location of this campsite, it couldn't have been better. The view of the Chateau was incredible and it was even better with the fireworks. We stayed during the annual medieval festival and it was a wonderful experience as the centre of town is transformed into a medieval bazaar with stalls selling local crafts and produce, local wines and beers and specialty foods. The atmosphere was amazing and everyone was so friendly and in very good spirits. The night ended with a breathtaking fireworks show on the river and hundreds of people lined the streets, and we watched from our campsite with the added backdrop of the illuminated chateau. It's a rally affordable site that caters for all, it wasn't particularly peaceful in our spot but that was mainly because we turned up without booking and camped at the side of the site nearest to the bridge into town. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in town which is a great place to walk around and look at the architecture. We loved it so much we would live there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShuH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a large grassy site beside the river, near the bridge. It is easy walking distance to the town for shops and restaurants. The facilities are very clean and in good working order. It would have got five stars except for the midges that prevented us sitting out at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WaltononThamesGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a fantastic camp site right on the side of the river.It is only a short walk into the lovely old town of Chinon.Also very easy to visit the fortifications of Richard the lionheart.I didnt know that this town had so much history related to england.
The camp site was very clean and excellant toilets and washing up places.
Also a great place to visit the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank annemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We visited this campsite on our way through France. We only intended to stay 1 night but stayed 2 instead. The campsite is beautifully positiioned on the banks of the river Vienne looking towards the town with a huge fortress on the hill. It is grassy with plenty of trees and lots of room. The ground is flat and there are little sanitary facilities spaced here and there with the main showers and washing facilities near to the entrance (not far to walk). It is very well run, friendly and clean..

There is not a shop on the site but there is a boulangerie at the end of the road (100 yards) and it is just a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the town where there is a well-stocked Carrefour Cite in the main square. You can put your ice-packs in the campsite freezer for 60 cents.

Visit the local wine caves under the castle for the most delicious wine (M Plouzeau) reasonably priced. The town itself is very pretty and you can go for boat trips along the river or hire a kayak. The area around it very attractive and it is on the Loire cycling route. Great value for money at about 17 Euros a night for 2 people, 1 tent and 1 car.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dinesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
2.1 mi away
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Hotel Au Sans Souci
#4 of 15 in Chinon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#6 of 15 in Chinon
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Municipal de l'Ile Auger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Municipal de l'Ile Auger

Address: quai Danton, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Number of rooms: 275
Also Known As:
Camping Municipal De l`Ile Auger Hotel Chinon
Camping Municipal De L'Ile Auger Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing