We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$241
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Chinon)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Agnes Sorel(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
La Boule d'Or(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
330
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatsmall childrenloire valleywine tastingwonderful hostswonderful winela tourperfect balanceswimming poollocal areafamily holidayselection of local winesfantastic weekself cateringspent a weekfrench countrysidebeautiful surroundings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed here with our five month old daughter last summer and it was the perfect trip for us. Everything we needed was provided: cot for our daughter, baby monitor, a kitchen that was open to guests with microwave for sterilising and pureeing food. The owners also very kindly offered to listen to our baby monitor a couple of times so that we could go out for dinner on our own and had an excellent babysitter to hand when they couldn't do it themselves. Our room was incredible value for money - really huge with a bathroom almost as big as our flat in London and had been decorated to keep the true atmosphere of a Chateau. An excellent breakfast was provided every day in the kitchen off the main Chateau courtyard for us to help ourselves to and eat at tables in the courtyard enjoying the view of the Chateau in the morning sun, bliss! It was also a lovely way to get chatting to the other guests.
The hosts, Jerome and Charlotte, could not have been more helpful with advice on the region and the best places to visit and eat. We particularly loved the local creperie down the road with its gorgeous little garden, perfect with a not so quiet baby. The town of Chinon is not far away with its beautiful river and lovely restaurants and shops. Jerome and Charlotte also recommend which market to go to every day on the black board in the kitchen. You never run out of day trips as it is in a fantastic location for so many beautiful Loire Chateaus. All in all a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Loire valley retreat was absolutly perfect. It had everything my boyfriend and i were looking for during our holiday in France. Quiet location, stunning views of the countryside, fantastic accomodation (we stayed in the boulangerie section) and great home made food.

Charlotte and Jerome were the perfect hosts providing invaluable local knowledge plus great insight into the local wines and vineyards.

We look forward to visiting again soon!!

All the best in your future developments of an amazing chateau!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinningpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We genuinely enjoyed our stay with Charlotte & Jerome. They were informative in all ways needed, and Jerome went out of his way to help direct us to the various destinations we wanted to visit in the Loire Valley...chateau, restaurants, farmers markets.....even to printing out MapQuest directions at times. Charlotte provided delicious dinner when requested by noon, and Jerome always made a lovely selection of Chinon wines available. We had good times sitting and conversing on the terrace with other guests and with Jerome and Charlotte, as well. We stayed in the Boulangerie (the former bakery at the chateau), which was recently remodeled, private, roomy and totally charming. We had fairly hot weather during the initial part of our stay, and although the upstairs bedroom was a bit warm, we were provided with a fan which helped a lot. We had such a good time at Chateau de Charge, we would certainly stay there again should we return to the Chinon area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I spent part of our Honeymoon at the Chateau de Charge this past week. Jerome and Charlotte make you feel like welcome family instantly, but you may be too busy admiring the tastefully restored, crazy-old Chateau to realize your good luck at being their guests. The food is excellent-Charlotte is a great cook, and Jerome's love and knowledge of local wines, which you can buy at cost, is worth the trip alone. We stayed in the Grenoble a Sel room, which is larger than many apartments I've lived in and features a beautiful fireplace and lovely soaking tub. The Chateau is very family and kid friendly, but as non-kid owners, we never heard any kid noise. And several were in residence. The Restaurant Les Annees Trentes in Chinon was exceptional and deliciously old-world. We plan to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotteerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We can’t say enough about our stay at Chateau de Charge. It was one of the highlights of our trip to France. As soon as you arrive, you feel as if you’ve been wrapped in a warm blanket and you just want to stay there forever. Sitting by the fireplace, sipping a glass of wine from Jerome’s wonderful wine collection, enjoying a wonderful home cooked meal by Charlotte, exploring the grounds of this wonderful chateau or just watching the kids of other guests play games in the courtyard, are just some of the wonderful experiences at Chateau de Charge. We stayed in the La Boulangerie which is a very cozy two-floor suite with a very comfortable bed, plush bath robes and a great fireplace. They’ve thought of all the details to make this a special place. It’s a perfect place to relax and enjoy the Loire Valley. We enjoyed having our dinners with the other guests and especially enjoyed Jerome’s wine tasting session. They are truly amazing hosts and have done a wonderful job at making you feel at home and welcome in their beautiful chateau. Don’t waste any more time searching for the perfect place because this is it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews