We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have hoped for a better place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We arrived in the late evening greeted by wine and a delicious meal, and that set the standard for the rest of the stay. Charlotte and Jerome were lovely and welcoming hosts. The only real problem is that we are unlikely to see the rest of the country now, as we want to go back to this B&B every time we have an opportunity to go to France.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

Really enjoyed staying in this lovely farm house. Hosts were wonderful and cooked a super meal. Could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Hatter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Our family of three stayed here for three nights during the first part of May. The other TA reviews are spot on...this place is incredible! We liked all of the 4 places we stayed during our two week trip to northern France, but this was our favorite, by far. In fact, we all agreed it was one of our favorite places we have ever stayed.

Jerome and Charlotte did an awesome job remodeling their chateau. They retained the history, character, and charm of the 600-year-old structure while updating the interiors to be both comfortable and luxurious.

We stayed in the Chatelain suit which is comprised of two bedrooms and a bathroom. The rooms were large and spacious, the furnishings tasteful, and the linens luxurious. The circular bathroom is actually located in a tower that is attached to the building! It even had an espresso machine that we used every morning before breakfast. Oh...and before I forget, the breakfasts were the best and most substantial of any of the places we stayed during our trip. In addition to the usual pastries, bread, yogurt and cereal, they included eggs and an assortment of cold meats (protein!).

Jerome and Charlotte could not have been nicer or more helpful. They guided us as we planned our two days of chateaux touring and wine tasting in and around the town of Chinon. They are such a sweet couple and family. We absolutely fell in love with them, their home, and the area.

Charlotte, with the help of Marcus, cooked dinner for us all three nights. The meals were all delicious. Each night they served a four course, fixed price meal for 22 euros. Based on our subsequent restaurant experiences in Paris, we thought this fixed price was very reasonable. We also liked the convenience of staying on the property after long days of touring the countryside. The only slight downside is that they prepare the same meal for all the diners (But, Charlotte discussed the menus with us, just to make sure we liked what she had planned). They were also quick to recommend restaurants in Chinon for those who would like to dine out. Also, they offer about 30 of their favorite local Loire Valley wines at very reasonable prices - much better quality and less expensive than what we purchased at restaurants during our trip.

During our 2 and 1/2 days at the Loire valley retreat, we toured chateaux in Saumur, Chinon, Azay le Rideau, and Langeais, and the gardens at Villandry. We also visited a winery for a tasting that Jerome recommended in the nearby village of Turquant, which was great fun. However, one of the things we enjoyed the most was just driving the back roads of the area, winding our way through the beautiful countryside and picturesque villages.

As Charlotte might say, it was a "smashing" good time for all!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a most beautiful, huge and newly remodeled bedroom. A log fire, nespresso machine, I-pod player, tea and coffee tray, fridge, complimentary bottles of water, luxury bathrobes and toiletries, uber comfortable bed all add up to a luxurious hotel experience.
The owners clearly are very focused on customer satisfaction and run their hotel in an enthusiastic and professional manner. We were very impressed with every aspect of the Loire Valley Retreat and we have no hesitation in recommending this place to all looking for a luxurious and welcoming stay in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Every element of this Chateau has been well thought and planned from Proprietors Charlotte and Jerome. Their no expense approach to remodeling their 15th century chateau has paid off and the results are stunning. Our room on the top floor of the main building was spacious and had a separate bedroom replete with toys for our 2 y/o to indulge in. The bathrooms are updated elegantly and stocked with L'Occitane toiletries and Nespresso machines were also a nice touch for in-room amenities.
Throughout our stay, Jerome and Charlotte were extremely welcoming and we were fascinated with Jerome's stories of the local area and the history of the chateau. Both ran the B&B seamlessly (even with two young children) and was a wealth of knowledge for places for lunch and visit. Charlotte's cooking is phenomenal best described as "comfort" food and we thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals (and asked for recipes :) as well) Although we were initially concerned that main attractions like Chambord and Chenonceau were a bit further out, we couldn't have made a better decision as we found delightful towns like Chinon and Samur which we were able to visit on market day. This place is truly crème de la crème of B&Bs!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the impeccably decorated rooms for a long weekend in a beautiful, relaxing environment. Charlotte and Jerome were wonderful hosts – Charlotte cooking delicious food, Jerome teaching us all about the local wines, and both bending over backwards to ensure our stay was a good one. The nearby town of Chinon is picturesque and inviting, with Les Annees 30 (a restaurant recommended by Charlotte and Jerome, and The Lonely Planet) providing a superb authentic French meal.

The Loire Valley Retreat is equally suited to a romantic weekend or a family holiday. I can’t recommend this place enough – the prices provide extremely good value for the experience you will have.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Amazing location, great food, brilliant local wine at great prices.... relaxing and we made new friends thanks to the communal dinner. Great!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cormaclinehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
922 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
291 reviews
16.2 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imago
Imago
#1 of 2 in La Roche-Clermault
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: £195 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing