We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very very disappointing and could have been avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So very very disappointing and could have been avoided”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

So very very disappointing. With just 48 hours notice before our arrival we were advised there were to be no evening meals (this is a retreat miles from anywhere), on arrival shown to our room and that was it, no tour, no introductions, during our 5 night stay bed linen not changed, room dusty, bathroom tiles coming away from wall, they say a business is exposed when something unexpected happens - 9 months to plan a birth should not cause such massive disruptions to paying guests. We would advise thinking twice before booking as guests do not take priority and it was their poor planning to blame. Nothing more than a sorry and a shrug of the shoulders were offered - beware the amateurs at work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henryq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabernet-franc-37, Owner at Loire Valley Retreat, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for having taken the time to provide feedback through Trip Advisor today. We were very disappointed to read your review, and can only apologize for having left you feeling that customer satisfaction was not our top priority. It is a shame that you didn’t share this feedback with us, when asked on departure, if you had enjoyed your stay. My maternity leave had, in fact, been very well planned in advance, with our chef on board six weeks before the expected arrival of our third child to ensure a smooth handover between my tenure running the kitchen and his. Unfortunately, as you know, he had to leave us without notice for personal reasons two days before you arrived. As you were also advised in advance, our baby was due imminently and was in fact born in a local hospital about an hour before your arrival at our guesthouse. Far from the ‘shrug of the shoulders’ you suggest, we undertook to manage the situation as best we could, with my mother there to show you in, and my husband offering to make restaurant reservations and shuttle guests in our car the 7km to Chinon and back each evening (an offer which you didn’t in fact take up). We also offered guests full use of the kitchen until the chef was replaced, which appeared to suit you as you chose to eat fresh local market produce on the terrace some evenings whilst sharing wine and conversation with the other guests. For other readers of this review, please note that our new chef, Richard, is on board for the remainder of the 2011 summer season until the end of my maternity leave. Regarding the housekeeping issues you have raised, I wish you had felt able to have a word with my husband or housekeeper whilst you were here, giving us the opportunity to rectify those issues (the housekeeper works 6 days each week and attended to your room each working day of your stay). Again, I can only apologize for the unavoidable disruption to our usual service, for which I did apologize verbally while you were with us. Thank you again for having taken the time to review Loire Valley Retreat.

Kindest regards, Charlotte Field
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Loire Valley Retreat is, hands down, the best place I have ever stayed on vacation. It is not one of those generic sprawling, "five-star-luxury" complexes where you become lost and anonymous along with all the other "guests"--a number on a room key; It is a magical, intimate place that exudes charm and grace and a real sense of connection (with people and history). It is run by a real family (Charlotte, Jarome, and their two beautiful boys) that lives on the premises and makes you feel as if you are part of the family. People talk with each other, become friends--connect. Marcus, the chef, is an absolute gem--preparing incredible gourmet meals that still had the family touch. The grounds, the views of the French countryside beneath pastel blue skies, the physical appointments are all incredible, but the thing that makes this place is the intangible heart and magic and sense of connection that fills every corner of the Loire Valley Retreat. I will be back. And soon I hope

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I discovered the Loire Valley retreat on TA. We read the reviews and had developed a mental picture of what to expect. We arrived around 1800 and were met in the court yard by Jerome followed shortly by Charlotte. They were a wonderful couple and the perfect host. Immediately we felt as if we were visiting old friends.
Because of our long drive on the first day we elected to eat dinner on site. The food was excellent. The wine suggested by Jerome was the perfect complement to our meal. At this point I must make mention of Marcus. He is the chef at the Loire Valley Retreat and he is very good at his job. After our first meal we decided to have our remaining dinners on location.
As for our rooms they were clean and all of the amenities were there. The bathrooms were some of the biggest we have came across in Europe. That was a big plus for my wife. The only thing I could possibly bring up as an issue would be lack of wi-fi. However there is a computer in the main build for the guest’s to use. Also, Jerome stated he is looking into options to extend the connectivity to the other buildings. All of that said we never tried to use the internet and we were happy to be away from it for a few days.
As I write this I’m already looking for a date that we can return. The venue is far better than we could have hoped for and we look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Park, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Chateau de Charge for four nights in April then went to Paris and Amiens. Our stay at the Loire Valley Retreat was definitely the highlight of our holiday.

After an incredibly long flight from Australia, train, then hire car journey to Jerome and Charlotte's, we were exhausted. It was so wonderful to have Charlotte's beautiful meal, Jerome's lovely fire (and wine) and the large, comfortable bed to fall into. My luggage had been 'misplaced' by the airline for 2 days so Charlotte kindly washed and ironed my only clothes.

The Chateau is so peaceful and quiet, even with other visitors coming and going, and is situated in such beautiful countryside. Exploring the Chateau itself was an adventure! We stayed in La Boulangerie which was perfect for two people. Beautiful bathroom, large, comfortable bed. Loved it!

Charlotte and Jerome prepared lovely meals when required with perfect wine selection and breakfast was a favourite, keeping us going all morning. Meeting other travellers over dinner was so much a part of the great experience.

Thank you again Jerome and Charlotte, we only wish we had stayed much longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

If you are looking for a great place to stay with a family in the Loire Valley, this small, family run chateau is THE place! The outstanding welcome by the Fields family (Jerome, Charlotte, Louis, and Sam) made it a very special visit for ourselves and grandchildren. The kids were captivated by the chateau, had a great room, enjoyed the meals, and played with Louis, the Fields kindergartner. He and our kindergartner hit it off nicely. We especially enjoyed the fact that there is a seperate dinner hour for kids, with (grand)parents eating later. The wonderful wine cellar stocked by the very knowledgeable Jerome of Loire Valley wines made it extra special. The meals were relaxed, of excellent quality, and enjoyed with the other guests.
The Fields have done a remarkable job restoring this 1400's chateau and making it a very comfortable stop along the way. The history is remarkable, the hospitality great, and is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After a couple of days in Rouen and Disneyland, we got to Chateau de Charge, staying in a huge suite with our children (5 and 3) in an adjoining 3-bedded room. Hosts Jerome and Charlotte have got things just right. The standard of the rooms is first rate, their relationship with guests is spot-on and, for us, the family focus made this the best holiday we've ever had. Our children loved playing boules with 6-7 other children from around the globe, swimming in the pool, mealtimes with other children and playing in the huge courtyard.
Whilst the website and this review mention the family focus, children are not obligatory! In fact, this is also be a great place for couples.
In terms of the local area, there's lots to do. Chateau de Chinon, Chateau de Rivau, Abbaye de Fontevrault, troglodyte stuff and Chinon wine (Jerome's Chateau Yvonne - exceptional) are all within a 20 minute drive. We also loved the Zoo de Doue - stunning for layout (old limestone quarry) and proximity to the animals.
My wife says she never goes back to places but we will be booking the same week next year at Chateau de Charge. Thanks to Jerome and Charlotte for creating such a wonderful place.
Rob, Fiona, Isobel and Eloise Sheppard

Room Tip: New gite is simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borisandpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Sometimes you get lucky...very lucky. We'd been looking for a "base" in the Loire Valley which was reasonably central to a number of the major tourist attractions when some friends recommended Chateau de Charge. It's a fabulous old three storey farmhouse (I think the owners told us they have records dating back to 1427) set in beautiful countryside about 5 minutes' drive from Chinon.

The buildings have a fairytale feel about them...huge stone walls with steep slate roofs...even a few turrets with spires in the corners....and the whole place set in a big, walled courtyard. Our hosts Charlotte and Jerome Field have spent the last four years lavishing attention on wonderfully comfortable bedrooms with all the right touches, luxurious ensuite bathrooms, a splendidly-stocked winery which doubles as the breakfast room -- even a heated pool set in rolling grounds.

We spent five glorious days ranging out each day exploring the chateaux of the Loire including those of d'Azay le Rideau, Villandry, Langeais, Chenonceau and Usse, all within easy reach of Chinon. But thanks to a number of suggestions from Charlotte and Jerome we discovered the ancient cities of Loches and Richelieu, drove along the River Vienne to its confluence with the Loire River where the lovely old town of Candes St Martin and the Chateau Montsoreau are located, visited the riverside city of Saumur....every one of them just brilliant and places we'd have never seen without some guidance from our lovely hosts.

And at the end of each day we'd sit down over a glass or two of the region's excellent wines, tuck into some truly memorable four-course dinners, and enjoy the conversation with our hosts and other guests. There's a remarkably friendly feeling about Chateau de Charge where they've got the balance just right....great accommodation, great location, and great owners who enjoy what they're doing.

So do yourself a favour. Check it out on the web and make a booking. Like us, you'll be very glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timandjan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
277 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
910 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing