We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it and would highly recommend”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed with with partner for a couple of nights at the Loire Valley Retreat - we could have easily spent a fortnight here. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and to a high standard, there is lots to do in the area and the unexpected highlight for us was the evening menus and wines available. I would highly recommend a stay here and thank the family for their excellent hospitalility - we were sad to leave the excellent accommodation, great food and wine and great company.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Chateau de Charge for a week in June and loved every minute of our stay. Charlotte and Jerome were very accomodating, the food and wine was amazing and the living facilities were perfect. We stayed in the little cottage which was nice and private. It was such a picturesque setting, not too close to the town but not too far either. A fantastic base for visiting the numberous vinyards and chateaus around the area and Jerome and Charlotte were always on hand to recommend were to go and what to see if we wanted their advise. Have already recommended this picturesque and tranquil place to our friends and will definately be back in the future

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahmcm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I stayed with Charlotte, Jerome, and their two boys for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and couldn't have had a better time. We stayed at 4 different places throughout our time in France, and Loire Valley Retreat was hands-down our favorite. We felt thoroughly spoiled during our stay and are eternally grateful to TripAdvisor reviewers for directing us there! If you're looking for luxurious accommodations, terrific food, and idyllic surroundings, this is your place!

We ended up staying one night in La Chambre du Vigneron and three nights in La Boulangerie because neither room was available for all four nights of our stay. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because we were able to experience not one but TWO beautiful rooms! Both rooms were tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, and stocked with various amenities. The beds were absolutely heavenly and the bathrooms are modern and extremely spacious (especially the one in La Chambre du Vigneron). Charlotte and Jerome have basically made the guest rooms as comfortable as 5-star hotel rooms while retaining all of the charm of an old chateau.

As several people have already mentioned, dinners are prepared by chef Marcus, and boy, does he know how to cook! After having dinner there the first night, we promptly decided there was no point in going anywhere else for dinner. The food is top-notch, the price per person is extremely reasonable, and there's something to be said for walking just a few steps from the dining room to bed! And don't worry that you'll be served the same thing every night - you won't be! You will also be stuffed by the time you've finished all 4 courses.

Charlotte and Jerome are lovely people and really made us feel welcome. They gave us some great suggestions about where to sightsee, and we definitely explored some places we wouldn't have known about otherwise. We really got the feeling that they genuinely cared about our experience in the Loire.

We know we'll be back; Loire Valley Retreat is too special to experience only once. Thank you, Charlotte, Jerome, Marcus, and boys! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

So very very disappointing. With just 48 hours notice before our arrival we were advised there were to be no evening meals (this is a retreat miles from anywhere), on arrival shown to our room and that was it, no tour, no introductions, during our 5 night stay bed linen not changed, room dusty, bathroom tiles coming away from wall, they say a business is exposed when something unexpected happens - 9 months to plan a birth should not cause such massive disruptions to paying guests. We would advise thinking twice before booking as guests do not take priority and it was their poor planning to blame. Nothing more than a sorry and a shrug of the shoulders were offered - beware the amateurs at work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henryq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabernet-franc-37, Owner at Loire Valley Retreat, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for having taken the time to provide feedback through Trip Advisor today. We were very disappointed to read your review, and can only apologize for having left you feeling that customer satisfaction was not our top priority. It is a shame that you didn’t share this feedback with us, when asked on departure, if you had enjoyed your stay. My maternity leave had, in fact, been very well planned in advance, with our chef on board six weeks before the expected arrival of our third child to ensure a smooth handover between my tenure running the kitchen and his. Unfortunately, as you know, he had to leave us without notice for personal reasons two days before you arrived. As you were also advised in advance, our baby was due imminently and was in fact born in a local hospital about an hour before your arrival at our guesthouse. Far from the ‘shrug of the shoulders’ you suggest, we undertook to manage the situation as best we could, with my mother there to show you in, and my husband offering to make restaurant reservations and shuttle guests in our car the 7km to Chinon and back each evening (an offer which you didn’t in fact take up). We also offered guests full use of the kitchen until the chef was replaced, which appeared to suit you as you chose to eat fresh local market produce on the terrace some evenings whilst sharing wine and conversation with the other guests. For other readers of this review, please note that our new chef, Richard, is on board for the remainder of the 2011 summer season until the end of my maternity leave. Regarding the housekeeping issues you have raised, I wish you had felt able to have a word with my husband or housekeeper whilst you were here, giving us the opportunity to rectify those issues (the housekeeper works 6 days each week and attended to your room each working day of your stay). Again, I can only apologize for the unavoidable disruption to our usual service, for which I did apologize verbally while you were with us. Thank you again for having taken the time to review Loire Valley Retreat.

Kindest regards, Charlotte Field
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Loire Valley Retreat is, hands down, the best place I have ever stayed on vacation. It is not one of those generic sprawling, "five-star-luxury" complexes where you become lost and anonymous along with all the other "guests"--a number on a room key; It is a magical, intimate place that exudes charm and grace and a real sense of connection (with people and history). It is run by a real family (Charlotte, Jarome, and their two beautiful boys) that lives on the premises and makes you feel as if you are part of the family. People talk with each other, become friends--connect. Marcus, the chef, is an absolute gem--preparing incredible gourmet meals that still had the family touch. The grounds, the views of the French countryside beneath pastel blue skies, the physical appointments are all incredible, but the thing that makes this place is the intangible heart and magic and sense of connection that fills every corner of the Loire Valley Retreat. I will be back. And soon I hope

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I discovered the Loire Valley retreat on TA. We read the reviews and had developed a mental picture of what to expect. We arrived around 1800 and were met in the court yard by Jerome followed shortly by Charlotte. They were a wonderful couple and the perfect host. Immediately we felt as if we were visiting old friends.
Because of our long drive on the first day we elected to eat dinner on site. The food was excellent. The wine suggested by Jerome was the perfect complement to our meal. At this point I must make mention of Marcus. He is the chef at the Loire Valley Retreat and he is very good at his job. After our first meal we decided to have our remaining dinners on location.
As for our rooms they were clean and all of the amenities were there. The bathrooms were some of the biggest we have came across in Europe. That was a big plus for my wife. The only thing I could possibly bring up as an issue would be lack of wi-fi. However there is a computer in the main build for the guest’s to use. Also, Jerome stated he is looking into options to extend the connectivity to the other buildings. All of that said we never tried to use the internet and we were happy to be away from it for a few days.
As I write this I’m already looking for a date that we can return. The venue is far better than we could have hoped for and we look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Park, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Chateau de Charge for four nights in April then went to Paris and Amiens. Our stay at the Loire Valley Retreat was definitely the highlight of our holiday.

After an incredibly long flight from Australia, train, then hire car journey to Jerome and Charlotte's, we were exhausted. It was so wonderful to have Charlotte's beautiful meal, Jerome's lovely fire (and wine) and the large, comfortable bed to fall into. My luggage had been 'misplaced' by the airline for 2 days so Charlotte kindly washed and ironed my only clothes.

The Chateau is so peaceful and quiet, even with other visitors coming and going, and is situated in such beautiful countryside. Exploring the Chateau itself was an adventure! We stayed in La Boulangerie which was perfect for two people. Beautiful bathroom, large, comfortable bed. Loved it!

Charlotte and Jerome prepared lovely meals when required with perfect wine selection and breakfast was a favourite, keeping us going all morning. Meeting other travellers over dinner was so much a part of the great experience.

Thank you again Jerome and Charlotte, we only wish we had stayed much longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
475 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
880 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
171 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing