We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transcending curtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

On a family vacation in France in June 2012 we stayed for three nights at the Loire Valley Retreat. After five hours of driving from Paris, when the GPS was showing a few kilometers to our destination we started getting the feeling of being lost. We were zipping through wheat fields that seemed taller than the car at that time of the year. Gorgeous colors, there's something almost hypnotic in how the wheat dances in a light breeze, if you allow yourself to go with its flow. While we did not get lost on the road, once at the chateau we did get lost in Charlotte and Jerome's hospitality. It is bottomless. The chateau has an idyllic location, surrounded almost as far as the eyes can see by crop fields. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with a large master bedroom, a separate bedroom for kids and, amazingly, the bathroom is in one of the towers of the chateau. Superb conditions and amenities. Our five years old son made fast friends with host's kids with whom he played in the chateau's sizable courtyard. He often talks about them and about the chateau's chef, who seems to have made quite an impression on him. Needless to say that the chef made an impression on us too. Taste is a given and presentation is an art form in Phillip's cooking. Let Jerome help you pair it all with a local wine and you are in for an enchanting dinner. The ambiance created by the hosts makes the chateau ideal to unwind yourself. It worked perfectly for our whole family. These days it is more or less standard to run into courteous, thoughtful hosts. Charlotte and Jerome exude them effortlessly, and if you are wondering how transcending courtesy looks like, just pay them a visit. We'd love to go back for more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Loire Valley Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Jerome and Charlotte have the perfect approach..... they make you feel at home at their GORGEOUS chateau and offer options for indulgence (wine tours, massage, and bike tours), yet totally exude a laid back attitude and let you get on with your holiday. They are welcoming, charming and fun and we enjoyed getting to know them as a couple and to learn about the history of the region. My husband and I and our two daughters (ages 2 and 8) had a marvelous time over our 10 day stay and no two days were the same. This region of France is beautiful with so much to explore and see. The girls especially liked meeting and playing with other children in the courtyard, feeding the chickens, playing "football" with all the little guests, swimming in the pool and exploring the extensive grounds. The toy boxes supplied in the room were a thoughtful bonus as were the changing pad and small foot stool for our toddler. We picked strawberries by the pool and the children even had a collective movie night with the children in the room next store. Each morning either Charlotte or Jerome would chat with us at breakfast to see if we needed any assistance in planning our day. Our freshly prepared meals by chef Philipe were a French culinary delight and much accommodation was made for my sesame and nut allergy. Children's tea at 6PM was a "hit" with the girls as they were presented with child-friendly, yet healthy food (children's shepherd's pie with duck, kids pizza party) with a yummy "pudding" at the end of every meal. The room was tastefully decorated with comfy beds and linens, a wonderful Nespresso machine which we used often, complimentary still and sparkling water replenished daily, and an in-room mini fridge which was a treasure for storing local chèvre and fresh berries for an afternoon snack. Really I cannot say enough positives about our experience there as we will definitely recommend it to our American friends living in Den Haag and beyond. Thank you Charlotte and Jerome for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 450Kelley_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

ummm just what you need after a long day of driving ...LUXURY and wonderful smile , followed by a wonderful evening meal served by a local chef your choice of wines . very peaceful setting in a great area to explore , booking was made very easy and cant think of a single thing id change . we highly recommend , wish we had time to stay longer .. thanks for all your help and see you next time ...RIch and Angie SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardSyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Loire Valley Retreat for three nights during late April 2012. We are a married young(ish!) couple from South Australia. We were very much looking forward to our stay here and it surely did not disappoint! We stayed in a stunning, large room with lots of lovely bonuses - huge free standing bath, Nespresso coffee machine with pods and much more. We had a lovely three course dinner in-house one night which was really good too. Great owners - English and French husband and wife who handled everything with ease - despite one of the kids having chicken pox while we were there! Highly recommend and would love to come back one day... ps We also highly recommend doing a driving trip around the Loire Valley - very economical way to see a lot of lovely sites at your own pace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After travelling to London and Paris with 2 small children we were looking forward to our stop in this 'typical french chateau'. What we found was an oasis for family relaxation in a 5 star, yet not 'precious', environment. This place is like coming home but with a cleaner, chef and much nicer furniture than your own! We felt completely relaxed from the moment we arrived. Charlotte and Jerome are lovely hosts and behave in a very calm 'nothing is too much trouble' sort of way. Our children thought they had arrived in heaven, or their french version of it anyway! Toys were everywhere and happily shared by the hosts children. A sandpit and play ground were eyed with delight when first seen. The box of random toy and book assortment in our room just topped off a lovely welcome to the chateau and my son could barely be dragged to dinner the first night. And the food..... Well for kids it was fantastic. Fish fingers, crepes, vegies, icecream, spagetti.... all the normal kid type stuff but in a healthy home way, not a greasy, over/under cooked, high priced, chip ridden restaurant way........ and for the adults.... well I just about would travel to france again just to eat there. We ate both nights at the chateau and don't regret not going out at all! Because it is a set menu I found myself eating things I wouldn't normally order and loving them! Just go with the flow and see what happens. Your belly will thank you! and the price is very reasonable......!
I would also say this is a great place for those without kids. The accomodation is truly lovely and nice touches such as complementary drinks in the room, books, dvds and seperate lounge facilities (although also in room) make this place a romantic and quiet place to venture to.
there is a nice atmosphere of inclusion but no feeling of 'compulsory attendence' so it is easy to meet and talk with others and yet plenty of space to keep to yourself if inclined.

There are plenty of castles and local entertainment such as vineyards close to the castle if you want to venture out or just hang out and soak up the country atmosphere in 'your own' slice of french heaven. We visited 2 castles with the kids while there and they had a ball. We had visited other castles before we got to the chateau and as such used the rest of our time there as 'down time' to catch our breath before moving onward in our 4.5 week holiday from australia.
Our biggest regret from our time at the chateau was leaving. We so wished we could have extended out stay but unfortunately had commitements ahead that could not be changed. Next time we will stay for a week and not 2 nights!! We also met some lovely english friends while we were there and maybe we will all meet there again next year. who knows!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a family room with a seperate kids room. It was great to have the space. It was in th...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our group of eight took three rooms and the boulangerie in June. It was like staying with friends who happened to own a chateau (with a gourmet chef). Jerome and Charlotte were such excellent hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and their laid back, friendly approach and almost casual manner belied what must be a lot of hard work behind the scenes to ensure that standards are kept high and guests feel relaxed. It really works and I would love to return for more of the same. There is so much to do and see in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the chateau itself are amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is amazing! Very spacious and comfortable rooms. The food and wine are wonderful, but even better hosts! Charlotte and Jerome were very gracious....just lovely people! Great place for families too! We came as a couple, but we'll be coming back with our children.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank armeniagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
506 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
917 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
289 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
#1 of 1 in Descartes
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: £192 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing