We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Plantagenet(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
331
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatsmall childrenloire valleywine tastingwonderful hostswonderful winela tourperfect balanceswimming poollocal areafamily holidayselection of local winesfantastic weekself cateringspent a weekfrench countrysidebeautiful surroundings
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We found is very refreshing to find quality accommodation in the Loire Valley that was very family friendly. The owners have small children and this place caters for families beautifully with play equipment, cubby houses, animals to feed, drawing at dinner time, earlier dinner for kiddies if needed, baby monitors, toys in the family rooms, dvds etc. We had a wonderful time and were sorry we could only stay the one night. The chateau, rooms and grounds are stunning. We got the family room with the separate kids room which was no problem. Rooms were huge and decorated to a high standard with fires and also a mini bar fridge. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on (with the exception of my own!). We had dinner at the Chateau and it was very enjoyable fresh and to a high standard. Breakfast was excellent too. Excellent choice of wines to purchase and enjoy.
I have nothing bad to say about the place and the setting in the middle of the county fields is also stunning. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

After our trip at La Cimentelle in Avallon, we spent a lovely time here at the Loire valley retreat.
Beautiful setting. The B&B was gorgeous, rooms tidy and clean. The service was high standard.
We felt as if we were at friends home. Lovely stay. The Loire Valley is stunning. Lots to see and discover. It is a must. Thank you for all your attention.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PPZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband, son (age 3) and daughter (age 1) stayed with Jerome and Charlotte in June 2012 and I have to say we had a lovely time. Charlotte and Jerome are very accomodating. We stayed in a family room which was absolutely huge! The children had their own room adjoining ours, again tons of space. There was lots to keep our kids busy each day: toys galore (my son loved building lego on the terrace outside the breakfast area) a great playground and a lovely and safe pool. The food was very nice and Jerome has an excellent wine list and is happy to recommend wine for any occasion. We felt very much part of the family, enjoying the family dinners with the children outside. It was possibly the best family holiday one could hope for....lets face it travelling with toddlers is never easy! we spent quite a bit of time at the chateau, venturing out for mini day trips in the morning and relaxing outside while our little one napped upstairs (baby monitor outside!).
All in all, a very pleasant stay and also reasonably priced. I rarely write a review on tripadvisor (last time was 2008 I think) but have traveled quite a bit. Nowhere is perfect but Loire Valley Retreat comes fairly close.
Thank you Charlotte and Jerome (and your great kids! and Phillipe the chef) for a great vacation and hope that all is well with the baby!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We (8 of us) love to travel a little off the beaten path. Just 10 minutes outside of Chinon, we found this fabulous Chateau. Renovated beautifully with modern baths, but old charm preserved in the bedrooms and throughout the living space. Easy access to all the sites in the Western Loire Valley. No need to search for a restaurant, the meals were excellent, we only planned to dine on site one evening but immediately booked our second. As we visited in late October, we were the only guests, so we had the dining room to ourselves, our hostess and private chef who gave us outstanding options for our 4 course meals Excellent wine cellar with a great selection of moderately priced Loire Valley wines, so if you don't get to all the vineyards, you can have great tastings in the Chateau. Regrettably, our stay was only two nights - we should have booked a week. Charlotte was an exceptional hostess. Don't miss this gem. This was the best lodging, dining and wine we had during or 10 day tour through Loire, Normandy and Bruges.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are oversized, modern facilities The upstairs suite is plenty of space for a family of 4 or with 2 separate sleeping areas.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loring F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked a 3 night stay on the last leg of our 2 week tour of France. Charlotte and Jerome are excellent hosts - Jerome is especially personable and knowledgeable. Nothing is too much trouble for him.

We stayed in the "Boulangerie" which was ideal as it was a little away from the rest of the Chateau and offered more privacy. The meals were delightful - only one downside was that there were 3 other couples with children and mealtimes tended to be a little noisy - not the romantic escape we had planned for. Unfortunately the stated separate meal times for children did not occur on the 3 nights we were there which detracted from the overall romance of the occasion. I understand the complexity of offering different sittings, however we feel it should not be stated if it not going to be delivered. - a minor blip on an otherwise pleasant stay.

First impressions count and the location is very rural and a car is essential. 20 -30 minutes max away from the major chateaus and castles. Unfortunately due to the season, (early October) our bedroom and bathroom were full of flies. The first 30 minutes were spent ridding them. Maybe it was because we arrived 1 hour early but again- not the best first impression.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabernet-franc-37, Owner at Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend Loire Valley Retreat to a fellow traveller. I just wanted to clarify for readers that we are usually quite rigid about offering a childrens' tea sitting at 6pm and adults dinner at 8pm, especially during the school summer holidays when there are up to three families in residence. On the occasion you visited in October, however, a family with an older child (and two younger ones) had specifically asked if their children could eat with their parents. Had we realised that you were disturbed by the children we would have reacted immediately, and hope you will accept our apologies for falling short of the atmosphere we strive to provide. Kindest regards, Charlotte & Jerome Field

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews