We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$110
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Boule d'Or(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Agnes Sorel(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$191
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
330
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatsmall childrenloire valleywine tastingwonderful hostswonderful winela tourperfect balanceswimming poollocal areafamily holidayselection of local winesfantastic weekself cateringspent a weekfrench countrysidebeautiful surroundings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Better late than never...
We had an absolutely marvelous time with Jerome and Charlotte during our stay two years ago this month. The bathroom was larger than the bedroom we had in Paris. The food, wine, and setting were all perfect. We will return and recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I spent three days here at the end of April and we enjoyed every minute. Charlotte and Jerome are very friendly and go far above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. This location is within a nice distance to the many chateaus in the Loire Valley, as well as several smaller towns that we enjoyed visiting. The Retreat also has sheep, a donkey, a goat, chickens, a dog, and a cat, that were very fun to visit with. We hope to return some day soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philo_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I spent three amazing nights here, and it wasn't enough! Being honeymooners, we where given the cottage, which is separate to the main buildings. The accommodation, set in a 1400s chateau is impeccably renovated. Hats off to Charlotte to Jerome! Everything from the size and comfort from our bed (memory foam, king) to the bathroom fit for a king. The decore is tasteful, with touches of the old building still evident - not losing any if its charm. The Hospitality: your hosts Charlotte and Jerome are absolutely lovely, and so are their 4 adorable kids. From my very first email to Charlotte when booking right up until checking out, the process was seamless, easy and above all - friendly. The food - if you decide to stay here - and please do! Make sure you stay in for dinner. Franc will cool you up a French storm you won't be able to get anywhere else. My hubby and I where lucky enough to be the only guests on the premises for 2 of our nights and where treated to dinner at the chefs table. Wine matche with the help of Jerome. Bliss! Lastly - a personalised wine tour from Alain Caillemer du Ferrage is a must! It was one of the high lights of our 5 week European holiday. French wine is amazing, and to be shown around selected vineyards and cellar doors in Chinon is a real treat. If I could give chateau de charge 10 out of 10 I would. 5 doesn't seem to be enough for this exsquisit establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissacunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Loire Valley Retreat in mid April. We chose it due to its reviews and the location near the historical chateaus. Unlike most of Europe, the bedroom and bath were very spacious. The hosts, Jerome and Charlotte have renovated a historical chateau by adding modern conveniences, yet keeping the charm and warmth of the years gone by.
We highly recommend scheduling dinners at the chateau. The food and wine suggestions were excellent and dining with the other guests was a delight. The Chateau is in the middle of farmland, so a GPS would be helpful. Be sure and try to local Goat Cheese. Bravo Charlotte and Jerome!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagunachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Charlotte and Jerome demonstrate at the Loire Valley retreat how an Anglo-French alliance can work well! We enjoyed our two days and would have liked to have stayed longer, in our lovely room, in a most investing chateau, surrounded by the French countryside. We had delicious food prepared by a chef ,and wine skill fully chosen by Charlotte, with Jerome explaining the effort that goes into getting to the table. We enjoyed strolls in the countryside each evening to see the crops and observe the wildlife, particularly enjoying the birdsong. Charlotte has a lot of local knowledge and suggested we visit the Chateau at Villandry locally, which was fascinating. We would be happy to return.Charlotte and Jerome demonstrate at the Loire Valley retreat how an Anglo-French alliance can work well! We enjoyed our two days and would have liked to have stayed longer, in our lovely room, in a most investing chateau, surrounded by the French countryside. We had delicious food prepared by a chef ,and wine skill fully chosen by Charlotte, with Jerome explaining the effort that goes into getting to the table. We enjoyed strolls in the countryside each evening to see the crops and observe the wildlife, particularly enjoying the birdsong. Charlotte has a lot of local knowledge and suggested we visit the Chateau at Villandry locally, which was fascinating. We would be happy to return.Charlotte and Jerome demonstrate at the Loire Valley retreat how an Anglo-French alliance can work well! We enjoyed our two days and would have liked to have stayed longer, in our lovely room, in a most investing chateau, surrounded by the French countryside. We had delicious food prepared by a chef ,and wine skill fully chosen by Charlotte, with Jerome explaining the effort that goes into getting to the table. We enjoyed strolls in the countryside each evening to see the crops and observe the wildlife, particularly enjoying the birdsong. Charlotte has a lot of local knowledge and suggested we visit the Chateau at Villandry locally, which was fascinating. We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Book early - very popular B&B
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews