We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You did not have to ask for anything all was anticipated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You did not have to ask for anything all was anticipated”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four years ago and loved everything about it. This was reinforced this year. The weather was mixed but it didn't matter the welcome and atmosphere was hospitable and warm. One day was particularly cool and wet and we returned earlier than usual but Jerome had anticipated this for his guests and had lit a lovely log fire in the sitting room. This couple make their guests feel like valued members of the family. Great place and well worth its rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anncourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We enjoyed our 5 nights in the Boulangerie. Wonderful accommodations. Both the breakfasts and the dinners were excellent. Jerome has a wide selection of local wine and will provide good guidance. We also enjoyed our wine tour with Alain.
The Chinon area is a very good location for touring the west part of the Loire valley.
A big thank you to Charlotte and Jerome for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We LOVED this hotel. A very romantic, French feel. The meals and wine were first class and what you would expect from something of this standard. The rooms were a great size, and I loved the French style. Jerome couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and we will come back, time and time again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Chateau Charge in La Roche Clermault. Our accommodations were very spacious with a comfortable sitting area and a large and modern bathroom. Our hosts, Charlotte and Gerome, were friendly and charming and very helpful with tips on market days in local villages and best routes for getting around the area. Breakfast choices are substantial and the dinners, if you chose to dine at the Chateau, are very well prepared by the staff chef. Gerome has a wide selection of locally produced wines - if you like Cabernet Franc or Savenniere you've come to the right place. The Chateau is in the country where one can "hear" the quite. Although it is a bit off the beaten path, which is a huge plus for us, getting around to local villages and the famous chateau of the area is not a problem. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Thank goodness for Trip Advisor... how could one find places like this quaint B&B without the help of the internet. This place deserves it's number one ranking along with all the praises it has been receiving.

I have been to Paris many times but have never ventured too far away from the city. Upon receiving an e-mail citing the 10 best B&B's in the world and this being the closest to Paris I decided to see what all the fuss was about. My sister joined me on this advenrure and we were not dissapointed.

The owners, Jerome and Charlotte gave us plenty of info to help us navigate our way and given the many options of how to get there we decided renting a car would give us the most freedom. That is certainly the best way to visit this area as it is quite remote .
I checked with trip advisor before renting a vehicle and was suggested to go with Europcar... everything was great but I declined the 111 Euro insurance they offered for the three day rental, whcih would cover any damage.
With 20 kilometers left to return the car in Paris, a small stone hit the windsheild and cracked it... an unfortunate event to cap a near perfect trip. The 800 Euro deposit I left was pretty much used up with that accident. I plan to file a claim with my credit card, but it would have been extra peace of mind had I just taken the insurance.
Also... don't leave your passports there like we did.... put a reminder in your cell phone on the day you are leaving to make sure you have them. These rooms are like homes, there are no safety boxes.

You could leave them with the owners... don't put them in the drawers like we did... 3- 4 hour drive, you do not want to go back for them.
We felt terrible having to bother Jerome and Charlotte with our mistake but they were so helpful, Jerome sent the passports the next morning Fed Ex and we were able to fly out two days later. Naturally it came along with added expense but stuff happens! 2 days extra in Paris wasn't too bad.
There isn't much more that I can say about this place that hasn't already been said. The landscape is breathtaking, the retreat is so rich with history... we found carved dates from the 18th century in our room... I thought they bought the stone and put it in there but Charlotte reminded me how old the building was, there were dates even further back that were etched in the walls in many areas of the building.
When we arrived the place was beaming with life, adorable children running about the grounds, animals, hens, sheep, goat, donkey all having a great time. Adults enjoying the labor of the amazing chef, who prepares dinner to your liking... we felt like royalty.
Thank you Jerome and Charlotte for sharing your masterpiece... you have provided memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We came back at Loire Valley Retreat for the second time, for a romantic weekend, and had a beautiful stay once again.
The place and the bedrooms are amazing - very big and furnished with a lot of taste, mixing authentic and modern-, great and caring service of the hosts Jerome and Charlotte, at any time of the day (late arrival).
Our dining experience : On our first stay we had really enjoyed the concept of "hosting dinner" and were a bit disappointed that this time the tables were split up like in a restaurant... the food was less good than last time as well. Great wine.
The breakfast is very good, with much choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank moruemasquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We recently had 3 wonderful nights staying in the old bake house. Our hosts Jerome and Charlotte certainly know how to look after their guests and were always available. We also enjoyed our evening meals cooked by chef and accompanied by a local bottle of wine available from jerome's cellar.
Also did the wine tour with Alan and would recommend this if you have the opportunity.
The location is out of town but close to all chateau and gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing