We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Chateau de Charge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Return to Chateau de Charge.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We originally stayed here two years ago when our son was only 4 months old. This trip has been just as enjoyable. We very quickly settled in the newly renovated Gite, La Tour and Charlotte and Jerome made us feel very welcomed. I love how child friendly this place is. The weather was perfect and we made full use of their massive back yard and swimming pool! Our son Alex had a great time and this was evident by how well he slept each night! Breakfast is provided daily and dinner 6 days a week. Having dinner served on site (with a fabulous selection of wines) meant that we could enjoy our meal and wine without worrying about arranging a baby sitter etc.
As we were staying in one of the two self catered gites, we were able to prepare and cook meals for the kids. (there is a daily dinner service for kids too, but as we have two fussy eaters cooking for them was the better option for us)

Highly recommend this place and we hope to return in a couple years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
163
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in july with our 3 kids and thouroughly enjoyed it. Everything was great. The accommodations were clean, modern, and really well equipped. The mini fridge stocked with soda and water in the rooms is a lovely touch. The bathrooms were luxurious, and the beds extremely comfortable. The curtains supplied "blackout" conditions allowing us (and importantly, the kids) sleep late in the morning. We loved the breakfast every morning. We really felt taken care of. The first night, driving in to the courtyard in the bright sunshine and seeing the tables set for alfresco dining was a special moment! The dinners were great, and the one night that the chef was off, Chinon was only a few miles up the road. Charlotte and Jeremy could not be nicer, and so helpful. Our kids loved the freeedom to roam the grounds, the pool, the trampoline, and of course, the animals. I have nothing bad to say about this place except I wish we had had a week here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadnottakenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Where you stay can make or break your holiday & we so proved this by choosing Chateau de Charge. We based ourselves here for 17 days whilst we explored the Loire Valley & if there was a better way to say " perfect choice" I would. In organizing our holiday I exchanged many emails with Charlotte who always responded promptly, professionally but in a friendly relaxed manner. So when we arrived it was like catching up with an old friend. Our first sighting of the property was simply 'jaw dropping' & it remained that way for our whole stay. We had a car & a list of places to go or things to do, all of which we did but always with assistance from Charlotte. We stayed in La Chambre du Vigneron with a Nespresso machine & complimentary soft drinks.The bedroom & ensuite must have been three times the size of our hotel in Paris! We loved it! This B & B is paradise, the creation of Jerome & Charlotte who ensure that the ambience is peaceful, relaxed & quiet. The breakfast offered provides for all tastes & satisfaction. Dinner is offered 6 nights a week, chef Franc does a superb presentation four course meal & has a wonderful warm personality to go with it. The Chateau also has an excellent selection of local wines with Jerome only too happy to advise ... based on personal experience ... try Chateau Yvonne. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it is information on sites to see, printing out driving directions & simply being genuinely interested in how you spent your day. Jerome & Charlotte are what makes Chateau de Charge the perfect holiday decision. Whilst you're there make sure you do a wine tour with Alain & of course Charlotte or Jerome will arrange it. Well worth it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a great place to stay to explore the Loire Valley. It was wonderful to come back to the most comfortable bed for trip and the most fantastic shower. The family room we had had beautiful views and I loved the sitting area. The cool drinks in the fridge was such a welcome treat. The breakfast was similar each day very basic but good. The dinners for good not great but the time together with all the guests and hosts and sitting and having a glass of wine was wonderful. Very comfortable, very beautiful, a great place to stay, and our kids just loved it too!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Noelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed from june 30th to july 3rd. We had a short but sweet stay. Charlotte and Jeremy were welcoming, sociable and kind. The rooms were beautiful and the big bath enhanced the already relaxing feel of the chateau. The food for dinner is highly recommended - the jolly chef makes fantastic 3 course meals with fresh ingredients each night. Overall, our stay was fantastic and I hope my parents, sister and I will b back - maybe someday i will b back with my own family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmoo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Loire Valley retreat is worth all the praise heaped on it in the preceding reviews and it's status as best B&B of the region since 2011 is well earned.

Lovely, remote and peaceful setting, tastefully decorated interior in balance with modern taste and the exigencies of an ancient bâtisse.

We stayed for dinner and invited family and guests - which was not a problem. Regarding the food: in all honesty (and we are well-seasoned business travellers, so the comment may not be fair), the food was under-par. The evening was however enchanting and a delight thanks to Jerome's willingness to share his passion for all things wine and viticulture.

Not having young children of our own, the retreat is too family-oriented. That there are children't play areas in the entrance courtyard as you drive in (and almost everywhere else on the property) is not to my taste, but It is not intrusive and is well compensated for by the overall experience.

Jerome - you are an outstanding host and the Loire Valley Retreat, for us, in many ways earned it's stars because of you.

Room Tip: It's a chateau, so the rooms are all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacsw81ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our time in the Loire Valley was magical on so many levels. But top on the list was the enchanting stay at the Loire Valley Retreat. We appreciated Jerome lighting the fireplace, Charlotte's patience with our frantic calls from the road and Chef Franc's incredible gourmand dinner - it was great to dine in the kitchen! The Armangnac bottle we finished at the end of dinner that night is on our kitchen table - with a candle - so we can remember his amazing meal and company.

Our accommodations were perfect. Charlotte's recommendations on places of interest in the Loire Valley was invaluable. We just loved it all!

We couldn't have found a more perfect retreat for our first visit to France and the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99TimH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
275 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
910 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing