We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would return to Chateau de Charge in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We would return to Chateau de Charge in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was the perfect place to spend a few days in the beautiful French countryside after busy Paris. Our two teenage children enjoyed the experience as much as we did. A gorgeous chateau, good food, swimming pool and all of this close to the beautiful little town of Chinon (which of course has its very own fort!). There is so much to see in this stunning area and we loved our time here. Charlotte and Jerome were welcoming and helpful and made us feel right at home too. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiedowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Loire Valley Retreat surpassed our expectations on our first sight of it.
My husband, sister (from Canada) and I spent a week at this unique chateau in June. We were in the two bedroom cottage which was huge with excellent self- catering facilities - although we chose to have dinner in the dining room on three evenings. On the other evenings, we went to lovely restaurants recommended by Charlotte and Jerome who were the most helpful and attentive hosts. They were always happy to advise us on places to visit - chateaux, gardens, wineries restaurants etc. and to ensure that we had everything we needed to make the most of our trip to this stunning part of the world.
For breakfast, there was always a plentiful and varied choice of cereals, bread, pastries and fruit as well as boiled eggs for anyone who wanted them. Dinner was Chef's choice and booking was made in the morning when the Menu was displayed for that evening. It was excellent value for money and a good selection of wine was available at reasonable prices.
The swimming pool is lovely, the garden is pretty and the whole property is a credit to Charlotte and Jerome who have made such an effort to establish it as a home from home for their guests - adults and children alike.
We liked it all so much that we have recommended it to family and friends and we would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage is very spacious with high ceilings throughout. The bedrooms and en-suite ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mybill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We originally stayed here two years ago when our son was only 4 months old. This trip has been just as enjoyable. We very quickly settled in the newly renovated Gite, La Tour and Charlotte and Jerome made us feel very welcomed. I love how child friendly this place is. The weather was perfect and we made full use of their massive back yard and swimming pool! Our son Alex had a great time and this was evident by how well he slept each night! Breakfast is provided daily and dinner 6 days a week. Having dinner served on site (with a fabulous selection of wines) meant that we could enjoy our meal and wine without worrying about arranging a baby sitter etc.
As we were staying in one of the two self catered gites, we were able to prepare and cook meals for the kids. (there is a daily dinner service for kids too, but as we have two fussy eaters cooking for them was the better option for us)

Highly recommend this place and we hope to return in a couple years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in july with our 3 kids and thouroughly enjoyed it. Everything was great. The accommodations were clean, modern, and really well equipped. The mini fridge stocked with soda and water in the rooms is a lovely touch. The bathrooms were luxurious, and the beds extremely comfortable. The curtains supplied "blackout" conditions allowing us (and importantly, the kids) sleep late in the morning. We loved the breakfast every morning. We really felt taken care of. The first night, driving in to the courtyard in the bright sunshine and seeing the tables set for alfresco dining was a special moment! The dinners were great, and the one night that the chef was off, Chinon was only a few miles up the road. Charlotte and Jeremy could not be nicer, and so helpful. Our kids loved the freeedom to roam the grounds, the pool, the trampoline, and of course, the animals. I have nothing bad to say about this place except I wish we had had a week here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadnottakenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Where you stay can make or break your holiday & we so proved this by choosing Chateau de Charge. We based ourselves here for 17 days whilst we explored the Loire Valley & if there was a better way to say " perfect choice" I would. In organizing our holiday I exchanged many emails with Charlotte who always responded promptly, professionally but in a friendly relaxed manner. So when we arrived it was like catching up with an old friend. Our first sighting of the property was simply 'jaw dropping' & it remained that way for our whole stay. We had a car & a list of places to go or things to do, all of which we did but always with assistance from Charlotte. We stayed in La Chambre du Vigneron with a Nespresso machine & complimentary soft drinks.The bedroom & ensuite must have been three times the size of our hotel in Paris! We loved it! This B & B is paradise, the creation of Jerome & Charlotte who ensure that the ambience is peaceful, relaxed & quiet. The breakfast offered provides for all tastes & satisfaction. Dinner is offered 6 nights a week, chef Franc does a superb presentation four course meal & has a wonderful warm personality to go with it. The Chateau also has an excellent selection of local wines with Jerome only too happy to advise ... based on personal experience ... try Chateau Yvonne. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it is information on sites to see, printing out driving directions & simply being genuinely interested in how you spent your day. Jerome & Charlotte are what makes Chateau de Charge the perfect holiday decision. Whilst you're there make sure you do a wine tour with Alain & of course Charlotte or Jerome will arrange it. Well worth it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a great place to stay to explore the Loire Valley. It was wonderful to come back to the most comfortable bed for trip and the most fantastic shower. The family room we had had beautiful views and I loved the sitting area. The cool drinks in the fridge was such a welcome treat. The breakfast was similar each day very basic but good. The dinners for good not great but the time together with all the guests and hosts and sitting and having a glass of wine was wonderful. Very comfortable, very beautiful, a great place to stay, and our kids just loved it too!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Noelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed from june 30th to july 3rd. We had a short but sweet stay. Charlotte and Jeremy were welcoming, sociable and kind. The rooms were beautiful and the big bath enhanced the already relaxing feel of the chateau. The food for dinner is highly recommended - the jolly chef makes fantastic 3 course meals with fresh ingredients each night. Overall, our stay was fantastic and I hope my parents, sister and I will b back - maybe someday i will b back with my own family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmoo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing