We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

During our 15 day exploration of France and Italy, the Loire Valley Retreat was by far our most absolute favorite place. The Chateau Charge itself is not to be believed: gorgeous, yet restrained; a mirage in a sea of wheat and poppy fields, yet oh so real. Refined and elegant, yet down-to-earth and comforting. Charlotte and Jerome are first-class hosts and inn-keepers, attending to all our needs and wants. They are so friendly and generous, we feel as if we made friends, not acquaintances. Our room in the main chateau, the family suite Le Grenier à Sel, was so tasteful, so comfortable, and so grand. The complementary mini-fridge was restocked every day, as was our the assortment of in-room espressos and teas, as well as the scrumptious L'Occitane en Provence toiletries in the luxury bathroom. Robes and slippers included, as well as a heated towel rank, deep bathtub, and over-sized shower. Breakfast in the dining room is generous and more than filling: pain au chocolat, croissants, eggs, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, lox, nutellas, jellies, and more. We ate all three nights at the Chateau, under the careful and exquisite culinary skills of Chef Franc. We loved being able to explore the Tourraine and Loire Valley countryside all day, but come home at the end of the day, only needing to freshen up for dinner at 8 pm right at the Chateau. Perfect. Chinon itself is a most lovely medieval town with an incredible fortress to explore. You are perfectly situated to explore the famous (and not so famous) chateaux of the Loire Valley right from Chinon.

I would go back in a heartbeat: it was the highlight of our grand, fairy tale European adventure. Dreams really do come true: Thank you Charlotte and Jerome from the bottom of my heart!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Loire Valley Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We would like to thank Charlotte and Jerome for a wonderful stay at Chateau de Charge at the end of this June.
Getting there was easy having been given excellent directions from Chinon. The Chateau is wonderfully rural, the wildlife is excellent, especially the owls but it is still within very easy reach of Chinon, a town with a chateau, a beautiful river,market,shops etc.
Our accommodation the Boulangerie was to a very high specification in all aspects, thoroughly clean, spacious, charming, what more could you want !
The breakfast was excellent. The evening meal was also extremely good, with lots of helpfull
advice about the possible choice of wine, we ate at the chateau every night but one on our stay. As a result of the atmosphere we soon made friends with the other guests, offering tips to each other about the possible places to visit etc.
There are lots to offer for all ages quiet corners in the garden, a spotless outdoor swimming pool, play areas and equipment for children and a guest lounge.
The area is an excellent centre for visiting the Loire, Vienne and Cher valleys. On this visit to France we especially enjoyed the magnificent gardens at Villandry and Leonardo de Vinci's house at Amboise, but the list of places to visit for all ages is huge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was the perfect place to spend a few days in the beautiful French countryside after busy Paris. Our two teenage children enjoyed the experience as much as we did. A gorgeous chateau, good food, swimming pool and all of this close to the beautiful little town of Chinon (which of course has its very own fort!). There is so much to see in this stunning area and we loved our time here. Charlotte and Jerome were welcoming and helpful and made us feel right at home too. Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiedowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Loire Valley Retreat surpassed our expectations on our first sight of it.
My husband, sister (from Canada) and I spent a week at this unique chateau in June. We were in the two bedroom cottage which was huge with excellent self- catering facilities - although we chose to have dinner in the dining room on three evenings. On the other evenings, we went to lovely restaurants recommended by Charlotte and Jerome who were the most helpful and attentive hosts. They were always happy to advise us on places to visit - chateaux, gardens, wineries restaurants etc. and to ensure that we had everything we needed to make the most of our trip to this stunning part of the world.
For breakfast, there was always a plentiful and varied choice of cereals, bread, pastries and fruit as well as boiled eggs for anyone who wanted them. Dinner was Chef's choice and booking was made in the morning when the Menu was displayed for that evening. It was excellent value for money and a good selection of wine was available at reasonable prices.
The swimming pool is lovely, the garden is pretty and the whole property is a credit to Charlotte and Jerome who have made such an effort to establish it as a home from home for their guests - adults and children alike.
We liked it all so much that we have recommended it to family and friends and we would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage is very spacious with high ceilings throughout. The bedrooms and en-suite ba...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mybill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We originally stayed here two years ago when our son was only 4 months old. This trip has been just as enjoyable. We very quickly settled in the newly renovated Gite, La Tour and Charlotte and Jerome made us feel very welcomed. I love how child friendly this place is. The weather was perfect and we made full use of their massive back yard and swimming pool! Our son Alex had a great time and this was evident by how well he slept each night! Breakfast is provided daily and dinner 6 days a week. Having dinner served on site (with a fabulous selection of wines) meant that we could enjoy our meal and wine without worrying about arranging a baby sitter etc.
As we were staying in one of the two self catered gites, we were able to prepare and cook meals for the kids. (there is a daily dinner service for kids too, but as we have two fussy eaters cooking for them was the better option for us)

Highly recommend this place and we hope to return in a couple years.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in july with our 3 kids and thouroughly enjoyed it. Everything was great. The accommodations were clean, modern, and really well equipped. The mini fridge stocked with soda and water in the rooms is a lovely touch. The bathrooms were luxurious, and the beds extremely comfortable. The curtains supplied "blackout" conditions allowing us (and importantly, the kids) sleep late in the morning. We loved the breakfast every morning. We really felt taken care of. The first night, driving in to the courtyard in the bright sunshine and seeing the tables set for alfresco dining was a special moment! The dinners were great, and the one night that the chef was off, Chinon was only a few miles up the road. Charlotte and Jeremy could not be nicer, and so helpful. Our kids loved the freeedom to roam the grounds, the pool, the trampoline, and of course, the animals. I have nothing bad to say about this place except I wish we had had a week here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadnottakenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Where you stay can make or break your holiday & we so proved this by choosing Chateau de Charge. We based ourselves here for 17 days whilst we explored the Loire Valley & if there was a better way to say " perfect choice" I would. In organizing our holiday I exchanged many emails with Charlotte who always responded promptly, professionally but in a friendly relaxed manner. So when we arrived it was like catching up with an old friend. Our first sighting of the property was simply 'jaw dropping' & it remained that way for our whole stay. We had a car & a list of places to go or things to do, all of which we did but always with assistance from Charlotte. We stayed in La Chambre du Vigneron with a Nespresso machine & complimentary soft drinks.The bedroom & ensuite must have been three times the size of our hotel in Paris! We loved it! This B & B is paradise, the creation of Jerome & Charlotte who ensure that the ambience is peaceful, relaxed & quiet. The breakfast offered provides for all tastes & satisfaction. Dinner is offered 6 nights a week, chef Franc does a superb presentation four course meal & has a wonderful warm personality to go with it. The Chateau also has an excellent selection of local wines with Jerome only too happy to advise ... based on personal experience ... try Chateau Yvonne. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it is information on sites to see, printing out driving directions & simply being genuinely interested in how you spent your day. Jerome & Charlotte are what makes Chateau de Charge the perfect holiday decision. Whilst you're there make sure you do a wine tour with Alain & of course Charlotte or Jerome will arrange it. Well worth it.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JudMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
505 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
916 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
414 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
#1 of 1 in Descartes
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: £191 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing