We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in the Valley!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best in the Valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I cannot begin to say how wonderful the Loire Valley Retreat is. Not only is it located in an absolutely beautiful region of France, the hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel at home. The chateau and the rooms are furnished down to every perfect detail for your comfort and pleasure. I felt like I could stay there forever! They even provide the best toiletries and coffees in your room, and the rooms are spotless clean.
The hosts, Jerome and Charlotte , and their children, make you feel like a member of the family. They were very informative on the area and the history of the chateau itself. Jerome took special care to answer my 11 year son's never ending questions from the history of France, to wine making. He even took him to search for treasure with the metal detector. Jerome and Charlotte have worked hard to make their retreat an extra special place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

I traveled to the Loire Valley for business, but I had the luxury of being able to take in some sights as well. If that is your situation, you can't go wrong with Chateau de Charge. It is off the beaten track, so you get to experience the region known as the "Garden of France" in its raw form. I went for a week in February, so the trees were bare and the grape vines had been pruned down to their gnarly stumps to revitalize for the coming growing season. However, while jogging through the open fields surrounding the Chateau in the early morning, I could strongly sense the history, pride, and romanticism of the region. The property itself, built in late 17th century, shows its majestic age and character on the exterior, while the inside has been beautifully remodeled and updated. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, and they provide everything that the modern traveler has come to expect. Jerome and Charlotte do an excellent job of hosting and of providing an experience tailored to their guests. Being ex-marketing and finance professionals, they can converse business or worldly matters over a nice glass of wine with anybody. At the same time, as parents of two sweet boys, they know the true meaning of "family friendly" and have clearly woven those values into the fabric of their B&B and home. I can't wait to bring my wife and daughter on my next trip. Chateau de Charge is a rare find about which I only have positive things to say --- and it is not bad that it is in the heart of one of France's most beautiful and prominent wine producing regions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subtleties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed in Loire Valley Retreat to attend the Loire Valley wine expo. Jerome and Charlotte made me feel at home, great service, ample and luxurious accommodations and lovely food. And what I can say about Jerome's knowledge of wine, he was very helpful to point me out to the right wineries and producers. I will definitely come back soon with my wife to enjoy this treat!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvsketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

I can't say enough good things about this place. Firstly Jerome and Charlotte were amazing. We really felt welcome.. as if guests in their home rather than a hotel. the Chateaux is finished to an excellent standard. They have really thought of everything... and particularly the small things that count. Ie.. memory mattresses, L'Octcianne products, huge big baths.. and rain showers.. which one to pick! There are even ipod chargers in the rooms!!
That said, Jerome did a wine tasting for us in the evening.. we REALLY enjoyed that. Lighthearted and fun.. but really really interesting as well. Not too ponchy.. it just all felt really relaxed.

We stayed here after a long trip from London and couldn't have made a better find. Really wish we had stayed longer. This would be the perfect place to come and stay for one night... a couple or a couple of weeks. We could even envision a small wedding being held here. It would be magical.

We wish you all the very best and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

Chateau de Charge is a magnificent escape from Paris. It fulfilled all my dreams of staying at a chateau in the Loire Valley. We stayed in the Grenier à Sel room which overlooked the courtyard. The details and restoration of the room and the chateau are exquisite. The entire chateau was impeccably clean and the owners Jerome, Charlotte & Co. were very pleasant and helpful. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and referred us to an excellent english speaking wine tour guide, Alain. The stay and trip were perfect and I couldn't have asked for anything more. I highly recommend Chateau de Charge to anyone looking for an amazing experience in Chinon and the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkfishsurfdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam NL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Spent 2 nights with our 7 month old boy on our way to Biarrtiz for Christmas and enjoyed every minute of it, so much so that we made a point of staying another night on the way back through. Jerome and Charlotte are amazing hosts, made us feel right at home and were gracious in every way. They provided endless information and booked us dinner at a great little restaurant in nearby Chinon and a babysitter for while we were out. The chateau and it's rooms have been renovated to the highest standard while maintaining the look and feel of the original construction. Staying in winter and during a cold snap, the woodstove, (recently installed in all the rooms) added a cosy feel to our room. Overall, it was a memorable experience and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

We spent two night at this Loire Valley's hidden gem and just loved it! We stayed in a very spacious family room with main bedroom/living room and another room with 2 single beds. We travelled with a toddler and we were provided with a travel cot, changing mat and a box full of toys. The decoration was made with a lot of taste, there was lots of attention to details in terms of the room facilities. The food was good (there is no restaurant at such but the owners will prepare you a meal if you request in advance), we enjoyed the pool and our daughter the little playground. The owners organized us a wine tasting session, helped with taxi and restaurant reservations.

I would go back any time and really recommend this place for those tired of staying in pricy boutique hotels unable to meet your expectations and who are looking for a more authentic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing