We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is great ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is great ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

I can only say good things about Chargé (and the owners/hosts Charlotte and Jerome) - which is pretty unusual for me since I am quite critical when I stay in hotels. The fact i am even writing a review on it speaks for itself (yeah, normally i'd only bother doing that if the place was really really bad, but this place is great and deserves a positive review).

If you are sick and tired of paying decent money for supposedly luxury accommodation only to find it isn't luxurious at all but still expensive then you should try this place. Everything is as it should be and more. I really can't fault the place.

The accommodation in the family suite is perfect. The rooms are very well presented, very spacious, clean, and very comfortable (and have complimentary tea and coffee facilities - espresso machine in the room, nice touch). The bathroom was spotless, and not a sign of mould or anything that shouldn't be there. And as for my number one worry when i check into a hotel, well the bed were very comfortable. In fact, part of the reason why we chose Chargé was because I had read on here that they have memory foam beds. Perfect nights sleep. I'd say the rooms are better than they come over in photos on this site. The rooms are quiet too which is essential, and provide a great view of sunset/sunrise (very large windows). Oh and there's even a heap of toys in the second bedroom for the kids to play with on the floor in there, which allowed us a little peace and quiet to relax on the sofa in the main room.

If I had to pick a criticism, well, maybe the TV could be a little bigger, but personally, we don't go on holiday to watch TV, so for me thats a non-issue.

The hosts are very friendly, "normal" people (you can really come across some freaks when you stay in some of these types of places!). Charlotte's cooking is great, and Jerome is a wealth of knowledge on the area and history of the chateau and was more than willing to assist in helping us get the most out of the 4 days we were there.

As i said, this place is great, and it's in a charming part of the Loire Valley. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellans_Apprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

We booked ourselves for 2 nights at the Loire Valley Retreat. Their website does not give much away but when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised! The chateaux lived up to our expectation of a rustic chateau in the Loire country side. The building itself is over 500 years old and has plenty of character. Location wise, despite being only 5km from Chinon, it felt absolutely in the middle of nowhere which we liked and we almost did not find it with our Tom Tom (our maps are 7 years out of date). We did feel a sense of achievement when we found the place!

The owners Charlotte and Jerome are very hospitable hosts and they immediately made us feel at home and showed us around the chateau. We stayed at the old bakery 'La Boulangerie' which had been turned into a two storey cottage, with living spaces and a big fire place on the ground floor and the bedroom and separate bathroom on the first floor. The interior had been modernised but the features are well preserved. The bed was comfortable and we liked the fact that duvets were provided, rather than blankets and sheets which one often finds in hotels. Due to location, the chateau is dead quiet in the evening and we slept very well. Jerome is also very knowledgeable on the local wines and he has stock of some in the Chateau which he sells at a decent price.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there. In many ways, thanks to the hospitality of Jerome and Charlotte, who make every effort to talk to their guests and make them feel welcomed, it felt like staying at a friend's place. We'd definitely go back there should we visit the Loire Valley again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EconomyDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

The room was very nice, clean, big, smart
we had a warm welcome
everything was nice, we will go back in there in summer

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrineparis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We have just got back from a week at Chateau de Charge with our 2 children (aged 4 and 1). We had a wonderful time mostly because of the hospitality of the owners, Charlotte and Jerome and their 2 children. We had to take our youngest child to A&E in the middle of the night and Charlotte came with me to translate and drive and I will always be grateful for her help. Despite the drama, this was one of our best stays in France for some time. The chateau is beautiful and you get all the luxury of staying at a top hotel with the freedom of self-catering. A guest kitchen is so helpful when travelling with small children who just want fish fingers but it is also nice to have the option of not cooking and Charlotte is a wonderful cook. The wines that Jerome stocks are excellent and we even brought some back with us. The setting just outside Chinon is beautiful, the rooms are smart, tasteful and very spacious, the swimming pool is lovely and the whole trip was just superb. I cannot recommend Charge highly enough and we will definitely return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at Chateau de Charge just before Christmas, as a stopover between London and South West France. Found it by chance, and we were more than pleasantly surprised.

Jerome and Charlotte were wonderful hosts, and they have immaculate taste and have finished their property beatifully and to a high standard. Having lived in North America for many years, me and my family have high expectations, particularly when it comes to bathrooms. Many B&Bs or smaller hotels in Europe leave little to be desired, but Chateau de Charge makes you feel like you are a queen in spacial accomodation, memory foam mattresses, high quality fittings and decor, and modern technology. Jerome hosted a wine tasting for us, which was excellent and a very memorable experience, and Charlotte prepared a light supper for us with locally sourced cheeses which were delicious. Breakfast the next morning was generous and with lots of choice.

In short, I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for the real French experience - but with modern day standards. It would also make a very romantic wedding venue! I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalletFlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I cannot begin to say how wonderful the Loire Valley Retreat is. Not only is it located in an absolutely beautiful region of France, the hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel at home. The chateau and the rooms are furnished down to every perfect detail for your comfort and pleasure. I felt like I could stay there forever! They even provide the best toiletries and coffees in your room, and the rooms are spotless clean.
The hosts, Jerome and Charlotte , and their children, make you feel like a member of the family. They were very informative on the area and the history of the chateau itself. Jerome took special care to answer my 11 year son's never ending questions from the history of France, to wine making. He even took him to search for treasure with the metal detector. Jerome and Charlotte have worked hard to make their retreat an extra special place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

I traveled to the Loire Valley for business, but I had the luxury of being able to take in some sights as well. If that is your situation, you can't go wrong with Chateau de Charge. It is off the beaten track, so you get to experience the region known as the "Garden of France" in its raw form. I went for a week in February, so the trees were bare and the grape vines had been pruned down to their gnarly stumps to revitalize for the coming growing season. However, while jogging through the open fields surrounding the Chateau in the early morning, I could strongly sense the history, pride, and romanticism of the region. The property itself, built in late 17th century, shows its majestic age and character on the exterior, while the inside has been beautifully remodeled and updated. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, and they provide everything that the modern traveler has come to expect. Jerome and Charlotte do an excellent job of hosting and of providing an experience tailored to their guests. Being ex-marketing and finance professionals, they can converse business or worldly matters over a nice glass of wine with anybody. At the same time, as parents of two sweet boys, they know the true meaning of "family friendly" and have clearly woven those values into the fabric of their B&B and home. I can't wait to bring my wife and daughter on my next trip. Chateau de Charge is a rare find about which I only have positive things to say --- and it is not bad that it is in the heart of one of France's most beautiful and prominent wine producing regions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subtleties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing