We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great salads and pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jeanne de France

Jeanne de France
Ranked #47 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Cuisines: Italian, French, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great salads and pizza”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place was packed on a Monday evening. My husband had a pizza and said it was one of the best ever. Th e crust was very thin and crisp. I had a salad with smoked salmon and very fresh greens. We both enjoyed our meals. The carafe of wine was just okay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BJenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    57
    24
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Terrible to find a restaurant open on Monday night in Chinon. We found this restaurant,were warmly welcomed and our attempts at speaking the language appreciated. There was a good choice on the menu,the salmon was good. The restaurant was very busy but we had efficient service and enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Open when others are not.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had some difficulty in finding somewhere open and that could deal with a vegetarian. Jeanne de France offered what was needed but we felt at first it was too modern for Chinon. However we were well greeted and attended. The food and wine were good and not too expensive. Service was very quick and I still wonder how they do it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londononno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The pizza was OK, not the best I've had but certainly not the worst. The service was terrible, however. Very slow to acknowledge our arrival and set the table up.Left a menu without asking if we wanted a drink. When the pizzas came out we were not offered oil, which I asked for. Waiter disappeared never to be seen again. Left with the choice of making a fuss or eating a cold pizza! Chose to eat pizza without chili oil which was disappointing especially as other tables seemed to get oil as a matter of course.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimWatts954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lively pizzeria”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Good home made pizzas, salads etc. Pleasant staff. Open later than other restaurants in Chinon. Good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chimaera45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jeanne de France also viewed

 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Jeanne de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing