We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bonne France - CLOSED

La Bonne France
Price range: US$12 - US$43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Poitou Charentes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were looking for somewhere welcoming and warm, after walking through the rain-sodden (yet still charming) streets of Chinon. The restaurant is pretty, the owner attentive and friendly. We chose from the day's lunch menu, but were not keen on the dessert option, so he kindly offered us something else, at no additional charge. The food was well presented and very tasty, the service good and the wine most enjoyable. We will definitely return. I have no idea what the evening service is like, but certainly, for lunch, we feel we found a little gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Third visit to this place and again perfect,nice ambiance,good service
but most of all brilliant food.Some how the chief conjures up beautiful
sauces to compliment great dishes.
Would not hesitate in recommending.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Revisited”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We dined here last year on our way back from the south. Its a little restaurant tucked away in a quiet spot away from the main hustle and bustle which we enjoy. The menu is small but the food was excellent. The salmon and avocado starter was a good size and very tasty. I had the duck for main, opted for medium cooked. It was lovely moist and very tender. The dessert of a selection of ice cream was huge with 4 scoops of various flavours with fresh fruit and a little sauce. All this for 24.59€ which was value for money. The local wine is good a good end to our holiday :) the service was very good and very friendly

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good traditional meal in a local restaurant”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had the pleasure of dining in Chinon at La Bonne France. The menu included traditional french food, prepared simply and well. The restaurant has outdoor seating in addition to their dining room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLParisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A bit disapointed”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was expecting more considering the price you pay, I ordered fillet steak medium rare.it was more like blue and my knife would not cut through it due to being such a poor cut, and had to be replaced which is fine and was a lot better but I came to dine with my wife and not to watch her eat her meal then her watch me to eat mine, starters and deserts only average, service good and attentive, for 78 euro's I have had a lot better and wished I had eaten somewhere else

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bonne France also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing