We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie Gargantua
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming, good location”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nice big room, really friendly staff . Limited parking and unfortunately restaurant closed so couldn't try that although it looked good.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rsrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    64
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in Aug. Overall it was okay - nothing to rave about. The room we got was huge but quite run down (not in the historical sense either). The paint on the doors was scraped off, the ceilings were cracked and peeling, the curtains had stains on them and the bath had no curtain so showering was quite the chore if you didn't want to get water all over the bathroom. The deco was a bit bizarre and tacky. The receptionist was very nice and location was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_Ottawa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a deluxe room for 81 euros, simple rooms with a good amount of space. We went with our baby and the cot was in good condition. We ate in the garden resturant which was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We agree 100% with all those who recommend this 'hotel de charme'. One tiny little detail: the bed (mattress) felt to warm (muggy, sweaty) due to some kind of cover.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGargantua, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Gargantua, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Ladies and gentlemen,

All the team of the hostellerie Gargantua joins me to thank you for your opinions. Quite your opinions motivating us to continue our efforts and returning the team proud of the accomplished work.
Your remarks are very important, so allowing us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertforshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel is a beautiful old house in the centre of the old town. The room was old, large and quaint. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant attached to the hotel is very good value. My only negative comment, and this was partially my fault for not taking down the directions on the website, is that the hotel parking is VERY difficult to find and is in fact behind the hotel on the Rue Beaurepaire.

I would recommend this hotel for couples looking to spend a night in chateau style without the accompanying price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Exactly the type of hotel you want for a weekend get-away. Tranquil and still with 5 min walking distance to centre of Chinon. Many good restaurants nearby.
Hotel atmosphere was very laid back and personel service-minded. Hotel is charming and creates the perfect environment with Chinon castle as neighbour.
We stayed two nights in two different (due to late booking) Superior rooms. Both rooms had a nice view, clean and spacious. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Danes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I've never stayed in a medieval building before. I loved it! My room, the Touquedillon, is not marketed as a room with a view, and rightly so, but you actually can get a glimpse of the Vienne between the buildings across the square--enough for me! When I threw open the window in the morning, I was also greeted with the sight of energetic swallows swooping and diving through the air around the pretty little church to my right. The room was pristinely clean and there were plenty of electrical outlets for me to recharge all the devices we seem to travel with in the modern age. The decor was simple but charming. When I looked waaaay up high I did notice a few holes in the wall, but I don't think I would have even looked up there if I weren't carefully evaluating the room to review it. I didn't think it detracted from the place in any way.

Please don't be a jerk like me and show up at 10:00 p.m. I had somehow failed to notice that the reception here closes at 9:00 p.m. (8:00 on weeknights). The hostess was kind enough to wait for me and I was very grateful.

I think staying in Chinon is preferable to just visiting it during the day--it's one of those tourist towns that's at its prettiest late at night and in the very early morning, when the daytrippers have left or not yet arrived again. I'd definitely stay another night in Chinon, and I'd do it here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToujoursFlaneuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
124 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#6 of 15 in Chinon
268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Gargantua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Gargantua

Property: Hostellerie Gargantua
Address: 73 rue Haute Saint Maurice, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Gargantua 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most picturesque road in the heart of Old Chinon and at the foot of the Chinon catsle the Hostellerie Gargantua has taken residence in the former Bailiwicks Palace dating back to the XVth Century which is renowned for having heard the famous plea given by the father of the French author François Rabelais.Situated 1 kilometre from the Chinon train station, and at walking distance from the town center. You may discover the historrical town on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Hostellerie Gargantua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Gargantua Chinon, France - Loire Valley
Hostellerie Gargantua Hotel Chinon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing