We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostellerie Gargantua
Nearby Hotels
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
100
74
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
74
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget placefour posteradjacent restaurantspacious roomcentury buildingno elevatorcroissantslovely terraceantique furniturestay there againcouple of nightsthe rivercharactercastlefrancefrenchhistory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have never written a review but honestly feel the need to warm people not to stay here. It was creepy! Although Olivier and the other staff member there were friendly, we never saw another guest there the whole time we stayed. It is dark and damp and feels it's age (1520) without much upkeep. When we first walked in there were at least 20 flies on the windows.... mildew, dampness, I could go on. But the thing that really did us in was that the night we returned to the hotel at 9:30 pm and we found we were locked out. The manager decided that since no one came to his restaurant for dinner that night he would just go home (off-site). I turned on international calling and called the number for the hotel and it just rang in the dark lobby. I went to a neighboring pub and they had no idea what to do so they called police who said they could do nothing. There was a code on a business card given for the door in case we returned after 10 pm but since everything in Chinon closes at about 8 or 9 we didn't take the card and code and we returned at 9 or 930. It was scary and infuriating and although we eventually got in, there must be safety concerns that no one is on-site and even the police can't get in if there is an emergency. Please do yourself a favor and enjoy a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Txamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGargantua, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Gargantua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Madam Amber S.,

How made you to go into the hotel ? Very easy, you were able to join me without any difficulty. Why don't you say it ? ( A transfer of call on the mobile phone of the owner is activated from the closure of the reception ).
Indeed, we give an access code to the hotel to all our customers. What allows our customers can go at any time of the night into the establishment.
I also allows me, Madam, to remind you that reception desk close at 9:00 pm, like that is specified on our web site and by display in the hotel reception.
Concerning flies in your rooms, I wonder that you made no remark during your stay and I saw you every day.
Concerning your possible call to the police services, I indicate that the same police services related to me no incident and spoke to me on no informations about you.
Concerning the security of the establishment, that this is for the French and European standards dating 2011 ( the last ). For information, I receive a warning message for a power cut, for the slightest suspect smoke, etc...
You stayed nights of October 21st and 22nd in the hotel. The night of October 21st : five of our seven rooms were book. The night of October 22nd : 4 of our seven rooms were book.
I would finish this " answer of the direction " by reminding you that defamation is a reprehensible act.
Best regards,
Olivier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a special place to stay. As previous reviewers have highlighted - not luxurious or overly smart and not for the less mobile. However, if looking for an atmospheric, historic hotel in the centre of Chinon this is ideal.

The owners were welcoming and helpful, the room spacious and comfortable and the price for the room was very reasonable even for the larger room.

Seen previous comments on the breakfast, some of which I can understand. The owners could either up the cost of the room and include breakfast, or up the quality of some of the items. Though the bread goods were delicious!

Would happily recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

That was a great family experience, in this historic hotel in the very center of Chinon. Do not expect an outstanding standard of comfort (average bathroom and no air conditionning) but we loved the authenticity of the building at least of the XV century. We had a nice bedroom for 4 (the Pantagruel room) with a little adjacent room in the tower.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerome p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Hostellerie Gargantua is one of the most atmospheric hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to France. Its positives are a great location in the middle of Chinon, a picturesque building and large rooms (particularly the Grangousier Room). The downsides are that there are no lifts and thus luggage has to be carried up the spiral staircase, the breakfast is limited considering the cost charged and the WiFi will only work in the public areas. The WiFi issue is due to the thick stone walls reducing the strength of the signal, which suggests additional stations should be installed. Nonetheless the Gargantua is a cost-effective, comfortable base to explore Chinon and the beautiful Loire Valley. The hotel has 3 car spaces in the square at the rear for guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hostellerie Gargantua is very well situated, on one of Chinon’s picturesque old streets, near the chateau, and within easy reach of many restaurants, shops and cafes. Turrets, a stone spiral staircase, tapestries and paintings give the hotel plenty of character, and the bedrooms are pleasant too. Our children had a standard twin bedded room, which was absolutely fine, although our ‘superior room’ was larger and more elegant, with a little sitting area in the turret and a four poster bed. Although this is not a smart hotel with masses of amenities (no lift or air conditioning), it still seemed very good value given its location, character – and efficient friendly service. We ate in the bistro restaurant the second night, and enjoyed the regional dishes and very good local wine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews