We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed in Hotel Diderot in September, 2013 with my husband and we had an amazing time at the hotel. The hotel is spotless clean and the rooms are great.
The owners and staff are extremely helpful and kind and we love every moment spent in their company.
The spectacular breakfast made of local products, specially the extensive types of jam produced in the hotel, will be in my memory forever.
The Chinon city is small and delightful, with lots of great restaurrants.

Room Tip: Try to taste as much types of jam as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarsillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Olá e obrigado por seu comentário ! I I prefer to continue in english to thank you again for your stay and to tell you that we are very pleased to know that you still remember our little hotel even after several months.
That is a good reward for all our staff and for us of course !
We have made more jams since your stay, so, if you want to try more, you know what you have to do !! Brasil is not so far !!! say hello to your beautiful country ! thanks again and take care.
Françoise, Martine and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed only one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. That really should be all you have to say about a hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated with antique furniture yet the in suite bathroom was modern. The room had windows looking out onto the parking lot/garden area and facing into town. Free wifi was apprecicated. We took breakfast, which is an additional cost to the room, but we felt it was worth the cost. Yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, and all the bread and homemade jams you could ever want. You will not leave hungry. It's all served in an inviting breakfast room that is French country that the La Madeleine restaurants in the US strive for. Could have stayed all day chatting with the two sisters. Just loved it! Finally, the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Oh la la !! thank you very much for this comment.... we really appreciate it ! we hope that you enjoyed your stay in le Mont Saint Michel and in Paris without spending too much money !!!
Have a nice moment in Germany and do not forget to say hello to Texas for us when you will back there ! we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again and take care !
Kind regards
Françoise, Martine and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Hotel Diderot is charming; beautifully decorated with comfortable beds, plenty of light and a spacious bathroom, all very well maintained. As others have noted, the owners and staff are welcoming and extremely helpful. I would say that it is amongst my top five favorite hotels. Breakfast is delicious. Good restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosicommun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Chère Madame, Monsieur,
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice testimony. We are touched by your kindness, and we thank you for your confidence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Chinon, to taste the other 8 dozen jams and more local product !
Thanks again !
Françoise, Martine and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here with friends in October. Both of our rooms were gorgeous - just what you'd want in a French country hotel. Our friends were downstairs and they had French doors leading out to a garden area with a table and chairs - quite private. We were upstairs and our room overlooked the beautiful grade area. Our bathroom was modern and impeccably clean. The bedroom was very country style and also clean. The bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was sensational. There mustve been a choice of at least 20 different homemade jams every morning. The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. I would return to this gorgeous medieval town even just to stay in this wonderful hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itchee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Bonjour and thank you very much for your report.
Of course we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Diderot few months ago. The fact that you keep good memories of our place is the most important for us and we will continue to work hard to welcome people from all over the world !
Hopefully we will be back to Chinon in the future and we will see you again !
Kind regards from France
Françoise, Martine et Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My memories of time recently spent at the Hotel Diderot are those of a warm embrace from an old friend. Beginning each day sitting by the fireplace enjoying freshly made bread and jams. And the lively conversation with our hosts who provided excellent advice of historic locations and restaurants open off season. The lovely accommodations which warmly welcomed me upon my return and the nightly aperitif in the hotel common rooms before walking a few blocks into town for dinner. Memories which will certainly hasten my return to the charming Hotel Diderot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tink48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Bonjour from France and thank you so much for your report.
We must let you know that we also enjoyed your visit and all the good moments spent together !
We are glad to know that you loved your cosy romantic room.
Please don't forget to say hello to Minnie, Mickey, Donald and all the rest of the Disney family for us!
We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Take care.
Kind regards
Françoise, Martine et Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I thought it would be difficult to live up to the many great reviews we read before arriving for our two day stay. If anything, they might be understated. My wife and I and our adult daughter took a short 2 day trip from Paris to visit the Loire valley for the first time. We stayed in room 5, a very nice double with separate bath and toilet facilities. Our daughter stayed next door in room 7, a tiny but very cozy single. The rates, reduced 20% for off season, were way below the quality received.

We were hosted by Francoise and Martine, sisters who never seem to stop smiling or trying to help. Unfortunately their brother was having some health problems so we did not meet him; however we certainly enjoyed the homemade jams he produces each year.

I cannot recommend this place any higher. If you have the chance-GO! We will be back

Bob, Judy, and Amy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGT6416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Bonjour dear nice family,
We also keep an excellent memory of your stay with us. We remember your kindness and your smiles. Thank you so much for this. We hope that you had a very nice stay in Paris and that you enjoyed the sales ! We look forward to seeing you again in the future and please take care.
Kind regards,
Françoise, Martine and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Diderot over Christmas and it was a lovely cozy place during the quiet season. The rooms were charming and full of character, but immaculate with modern bathrooms and great wifi. Of course, the breakfasts were amazing, with the tons of delicious jams and breads served in front of a lovely fire. Everyone there was so nice and helpful, with tips for the area and a smile every time you walked by. Definitely the place to stay in the area, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisL1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Gérant at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Bonjour from sunny France and thank you very much for taking the time to send a such nice report.
All the words that you use really touch us. It is so easy to be smiling with people like you : you enjoy our service, our welcoming and also our breakfast and that is the most important.
We will continue to work like that, to continue to delight nice people like you !
We look forward to welcoming you again and share good moment with you.
All the best,
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing